Few questions about building Headphone cable(3.5 to 4.4 or XLR)
Feb 4, 2022 at 6:48 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 56

OCC7N

Headphoneus Supremus
Hi

I am very new to building headphone cables. I am planning on practice on cheap parts first, but there are somethings I need to learn before I just solder the parts.

1. To simply understand balanced cable, is that it has a ground, which eliminates unwanted noise, right?

2. For this ground wire to take effect, the headphone also needs to support this, it needs to be a balanced headphone?
- If the headphone is unbalanced, the balaced cable won´t help prevent the noise?

Which cable to purchase:
I am a bit confused about the y splitter part of the cable. I should google/youtube this(I will)

To start with I don´t want to braid, so I am trying to understand which cables I need and what the best practice is to split the cable and fit it correctly in the y splitter.

Any help or advice is appreciated :)

Feb 5, 2022 at 1:40 PM Post #2 of 56
From my understanding "balanced" headphone cables are very poorly named, as they are not balanced in the same way as the "balanced audio cables" that would connect to an amp's inputs. When you search for balanced cables this is the type of cable you find info about: https://www.aviom.com/blog/balanced-vs-unbalanced/
The link above describes that type of balancing much better than I can, but what's important is that is not what's happening in "balanced" headphone cables. They are in fact much simpler;
Basically the ground wire is separate for each driver all the way back to the amp, when for an unbalanced cable the ground wire is shared between each side.
3 pole 3.5mm or 1/4" jack for unbalanced (separate + for each driver but shared GND).
4pole 2.5mm, 4.4mm (5 pole connector used for some reason) jacks or 4 pin XLR connector for balanced (separate + and - for each driver).

Any headphones that use a removable, split cable can very easily be made balanced with just a new cable.