Etymotic Research ER6i
Sep 21, 2010 at 5:19 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 11

theoandtheb

100+ Head-Fier
Hey everyone, I'm relatively new here but I'm looking for some advice on getting myself some new headphones. I'm looking for something slightly above average as opposed to just sticking with the generic buds given out along with popular mp3 products.

- I'd prefer to spend in the area of $100 but I'd be willing to spend up to $150 if necessary.
- I would be using them almost exclusively with my Zune so I'm not really looking for any amps at this time.
- Though I'm not a huge audiophile, I have some experience in mixing music and do enjoy high quality in listening to music.
- In terms of musical tastes, I listen to stuff on the more acoustic side, a bit of jazz, all the way up to heavier rock/lighter metal and everything in between...not to much really heavy stuff or r&b/rap though.

I've been looking at the Etymotic Research ER6i's for awhile and I'm wondering if anyone has any experience with Etymotic Research and possibly even the ER6i's themselves. Amazon is selling them for around $70. If the reviews I've read there are to be trusted, it seems like the only significant thing to worry about is the small diameter of the wires. I wouldn't be doing any exercise with them but I don't want to have to worry about them fraying or getting damaged from general use. Of course the actual sound quality is the most important so again, if anyone has experience with these or at least the brand, that would be greatly appreciated!

Of course if anyone has a different opinion, I'm willing to consider whatever. Thanks!

Sep 21, 2010 at 6:30 PM Post #2 of 11