DX220 A new view to your music. * Latest Firmware: 1.15.233 Local * Link for User Guide 1st Page. AMP9 Now available! And DC01.
post-15086732
Post #7,051 of 11,054

marcusd

Founder and Reviewer at Headfonics
Joined
Aug 10, 2010
Messages
510
Reaction score
651
Joined
Aug 10, 2010
Posts
510
Likes
651
Website
headfonics.com
That is sad, since I was planning to get iFi Micro iDSD as external dac/amp
I don't know why it connects Q5 but not ifi Micro?

Is there setting for this purpose, or it is just plug and play?
You can always use the line in instead of OTG (3.5mm input at the front). I have a feeling the DAC inside the DX220 might be superior to the old micro anyhow and the DX220 can natively decode MQA.

Is it the BL version or older silver version?

For the R6 Pro and N6ii its plug and play.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15086736
Post #7,052 of 11,054

behemothkat

Head-Fier
Joined
May 8, 2019
Messages
67
Reaction score
12
Location
Budapest, Hungary
Joined
May 8, 2019
Location
Budapest, Hungary
Posts
67
Likes
12
i'm struggling to find a usb-c to usb-c for MAC non of them recognise them as a DAC.

I ordered an amazon basics 3.1 Gen 2 usb-c cable bit it doesn't work

can anybody recommend one please ?
Me too. Tried three different one, no one worked. Paul noted but I understood didn’t forward to investigate.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15086743
Post #7,053 of 11,054

MaxD

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 7, 2012
Messages
265
Reaction score
188
Joined
May 7, 2012
Posts
265
Likes
188
why usb-c I find it increasing seem like getting a device to connect is like lottery
I have 3 cables and not a single one works, why can't they can't by build these to spec I don't understand. Makes me hate USB-C very frustrating experience at least standard USB 2.0 just worked :frowning2:
Hey man, I just did some testing to see if I can see what your issue is, Here is a thing, I have 6 USB C cables of varying quality and all of them work perfectly from a USB C 3.1. however when I use thunderbolt 3 ports it fails.

Im using a DELL XPS 13 to test with. I have also tried the USB C 3.1 and 3.0 ports on my desktop with no issue. One of the cables is the 10cm Amazon basics cable which is the worst quality I have.

I dont have any Apple stuff but could it be an issue with thunderbolt ?

Just tried a dodgy usb 2 to USB C converter cable from Ikea and that works too. I can only get it to fail on thunderbolt 3.

Happy to try stuff out if I can help. I have a lot of IT kit here to play with.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: behemothkat
post-15086747
Post #7,054 of 11,054

gto88

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 11, 2014
Messages
908
Reaction score
155
Joined
Dec 11, 2014
Posts
908
Likes
155
You can always use the line in instead of OTG (3.5mm input at the front). I have a feeling the DAC inside the DX220 might be superior to the old micro anyhow and the DX220 can natively decode MQA.
Is it the BL version or older silver version?
For the R6 Pro and N6ii its plug and play.
Yeah, you have the point about DX220 DAC.
I can just save the money, then.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15086760
Post #7,055 of 11,054

behemothkat

Head-Fier
Joined
May 8, 2019
Messages
67
Reaction score
12
Location
Budapest, Hungary
Joined
May 8, 2019
Location
Budapest, Hungary
Posts
67
Likes
12
Have you tried a different port and a different computer? I am trying to figure this out. We have multiple computers here and 2 Mac computers (Android File Transfer installed). They work but I admit that USB C cables are more touchy than the USB cable connections that were previously used. Some USB C cables will work great and some seem to have more of a connection problem.
Hi Paul,
Remember, that was my problem as well.
I have MBP touch bar with 4 usb-c ports, my wife was MacBook 12 with single usb-c port, I have for gaming Asus Zephyrus GX501 with single usb-c. I didn’t find combination (cable+laptop) to get them work. Unfortunately :frowning2:

With regular usb-a to usb-c (through hub on MacBooks) works like a charm..
 
     Share This Post       
post-15086766
Post #7,056 of 11,054

behemothkat

Head-Fier
Joined
May 8, 2019
Messages
67
Reaction score
12
Location
Budapest, Hungary
Joined
May 8, 2019
Location
Budapest, Hungary
Posts
67
Likes
12
Hey man, I just did some testing to see if I can see what your issue is, Here is a thing, I have 6 USB C cables of varying quality and all of them work perfectly from a USB C 3.1. however when I use thunderbolt 3 ports it fails.

Im using a DELL XPS 13 to test with. I have also tried the USB C 3.1 and 3.0 ports on my desktop with no issue. One of the cables is the 10cm Amazon basics cable which is the worst quality I have.

I dont have any Apple stuff but could it be an issue with thunderbolt ?

Just tried a dodgy usb 2 to USB C converter cable from Ikea and that works too. I can only get it to fail on thunderbolt 3.

Happy to try stuff out if I can help. I have a lot of IT kit here to play with.
Good point, I never thought from TB3 perspective. @Paul - iBasso can your team investigate if TB3 specs may make any malfunction?

PS: just checked Asus Zephyrus specs, it’s port also TB3..
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-15086785
Post #7,057 of 11,054

BiggieBig

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 29, 2018
Messages
260
Reaction score
109
Location
London
Joined
Jun 29, 2018
Location
London
Posts
260
Likes
109
I had this issue too.
I had to re-installed dac driver a few times, and finally I got it work somehow.

Here are a few hints that I think could help:

1. turn DX220 to dac mode & connect to laptop
2. install driver
I think this is important.
PC will ask to reboot to complete the installation, then it will say you
need to unplug and reconnect your DX220 to have it work.

Now that I have DAC mode working, I could not figure out
how to connect dx220 as USB storage.
In non-dac mode, my pc complain that the usb device is unknown
(port reset failed)??
Thanks please for MAC no driver necessary
I have tried different ports and I have two MAC books same on both
 
     Share This Post       
post-15086797
Post #7,058 of 11,054

BiggieBig

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 29, 2018
Messages
260
Reaction score
109
Location
London
Joined
Jun 29, 2018
Location
London
Posts
260
Likes
109
Hey man, I just did some testing to see if I can see what your issue is, Here is a thing, I have 6 USB C cables of varying quality and all of them work perfectly from a USB C 3.1. however when I use thunderbolt 3 ports it fails.

Im using a DELL XPS 13 to test with. I have also tried the USB C 3.1 and 3.0 ports on my desktop with no issue. One of the cables is the 10cm Amazon basics cable which is the worst quality I have.

I dont have any Apple stuff but could it be an issue with thunderbolt ?

Just tried a dodgy usb 2 to USB C converter cable from Ikea and that works too. I can only get it to fail on thunderbolt 3.

Happy to try stuff out if I can help. I have a lot of IT kit here to play with.
Good point about thunderbolt when it does connect it's normal (USB-C to usb-B) with a (USB-B to usb-C) in-between . May be I should try a different adaptor.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15086840
Post #7,059 of 11,054

MaxD

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 7, 2012
Messages
265
Reaction score
188
Joined
May 7, 2012
Posts
265
Likes
188
A few more tests later and it looks like I cant drive it from any other device but a PC USBc 3.0/1. Tried three andi phones an AK70 MkII and a fiio X5, but all my PC's with USB C 3.* work no problem. Interestingly though all those devices turn up as storage if you are in DAP mode.
I did the same test with FIIO Q5, Dragonfly red and X5 and they all work as daps off the other devices. evan the thunderbolt 3 ports with a converter.

My takeaway. the DX220 needs a fair bit of power from the USB port and Thunderbolt is not working for me as a USB C port for the DX220.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15086866
Post #7,060 of 11,054
Joined
Jan 7, 2015
Messages
2,113
Reaction score
2,502
Location
ShenZhen, China
Joined
Jan 7, 2015
Location
ShenZhen, China
Posts
2,113
Likes
2,502
Website
www.ibasso.com
Please also try short USB C cables. For some reason, they often connect better.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15086902
Post #7,061 of 11,054

gto88

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 11, 2014
Messages
908
Reaction score
155
Joined
Dec 11, 2014
Posts
908
Likes
155
Please also try short USB C cables. For some reason, they often connect better.
This is true.
When I was struggling to have DAC mode with different cable and port.
The first success connection was with fIIo BTR3 short and think cable, and after that
iBasso's cable work too. Can't explain it.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15086928
Post #7,062 of 11,054

gto88

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 11, 2014
Messages
908
Reaction score
155
Joined
Dec 11, 2014
Posts
908
Likes
155
Couldn't have youTube app work without google play service.
No sure how the update firmware tweak affect the latest firmware?
But, At least amazon music is working.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15087256
Post #7,064 of 11,054

zephyrstar

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 19, 2018
Messages
168
Reaction score
85
Location
PA
Joined
May 19, 2018
Location
PA
Posts
168
Likes
85
Also move from AMP8W to AMP9 :D

Can AMP9 drive Z1R properly? It seems that Z1R is kinda power-hungry according to some Headfi-ers.
I am using AMP 9 with my Sony MDR-Z1R and it drives them great. I had it on high gain around 80 in Mango OS and it was rocking!!!
 
     Share This Post       
post-15087284
Post #7,065 of 11,054

gannjunior

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 4, 2014
Messages
226
Reaction score
55
Location
Italy
Joined
Apr 4, 2014
Location
Italy
Posts
226
Likes
55
Hi @Paul - iBasso
any bug in the ibasso website for DC01? It says me 999 usd

Tnks
ciao
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 14, Guests: 15)

Top