Difference between closed and open headphone
May 14, 2009 at 6:15 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 17

gameboy115

Headphoneus Supremus
Hey guys, I am a newbie for full size / portable headpone, I am pretty much IEM guys back then. Now I wanna to know more about full size headphone.

A fundamental question, what is main difference between open and closed headphone?
beyersmile.png

May 14, 2009 at 6:34 AM Post #3 of 17
Quote:

Originally Posted by nullstring /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Search button broken?
http://www.head-fi.org/forums/f4/open-vs-closed-420809/

No need to be mean, were all here to help.

As a rule of thumb, Closed style will be geared toward sound isolation (not letting noise bleed out the phones). And Open style is geared for an ideally more broad sound stage and for when sound isolation isn't key (there will be some bleeding with these kind.)

Also, generally the low-frequency spectrum seems to favor closed style can's more then open kind(resonance).

May 14, 2009 at 6:43 AM Post #4 of 17
Closed headphones have a closed, or sealed, cup. Open headphones are open behind the driver.

Closed headphones will keep you from hearing outside sounds and also keep people around you from hearing your headphones - you'll see this referred to as "leaking."

It might sound like closed is best, but you have to remember that a driver produces sound from both sides, not just the one pointing at your ear. A sealed cup will have reflections, resonances and other shortcomings. Some closed headphones deal with those issues very well, but you're always going to have to compromise somewhere if you're going to be closed.

On the other hand, open headphones don't have these problems. Back waves just go out to the side - they don't reflect or cause problems. Because of that, you can get much better fidelity from an open headphone. At least I think so, but I'm sure someone will weigh in on the other side.

Hope that helps and welcome to Head-Fi!
smily_headphones1.gif