Comparing the Custom TF10 and Universal TF10. You're not gonna like this...
Mar 9, 2010 at 6:09 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 65

mistertomlinson

100+ Head-Fier
So, I was one of those dirtbags that bought a bunch of $99 TF10s when they were on sale last year to resale them at a profit (what can I say... I've been saving for a new car for 2 years now). One pair was reserved for my brother at cost, who just paid me for them. So, I can finally give a fair, A/B comparison between the two using his universal pair and my remolded pair.

I owned a pair of TF10s long before this and considered it the best IEM I had ever tried and eventually got it remolded by UM. Now, we all know UM knows what they're doing as their craftsmanship is easily the best. But I eventually discontinued it's use in favor of my Mages. The remold was just too sibilant and I could no longer stand it. At first, I had thought my ears had just gotten accustomed to the Mages' sound signature and I had now began noticing the TF10's weaknesses (I had my Mages tuned a little different, with a little more bass than their default configuration).

Unfortunately, I just gave the universal version a spin and I can easily say it's 100 times better than my remold. I don't want anyone to assume I'm suggesting my hearing is so superior that I notice even the slightest difference between the two... the difference is NIGHT AND DAY! I could let a child listen to them, if it were possible to share a pair of customs, and they would hear a huge difference. They are NOTHING alike. Not the sound signature... the highs... the bass... nothing. The sibilance now produced by the remolds is honestly UNBAREABLE! It's almost as if they forgot to use a filter in the high frequency soundtube.