CHORD ELECTRONICS DAVE
post-15448689
Post #14,011 of 14,627

gnomen

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 28, 2015
Messages
197
Reaction score
93
Joined
Jun 28, 2015
Posts
197
Likes
93
did you try feeding straight into the Dave and alternatively feeding your whole electrics hub?
Actually, I had not thought of doing that. I use an Isotek distribution board for the whole hifi setup and connected to it so all devices would benefit. Let me think about how to re-arrange connections so that only the Chord DAC is using the Syncro. BTW I opted for HMS+TT2 as preferable to a Dave for now, but who knows what the future will hold? :blush:
 
     Share This Post       
post-15448737
Post #14,012 of 14,627

jonstatt

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 5, 2012
Messages
791
Reaction score
207
Joined
Oct 5, 2012
Posts
791
Likes
207
Following Dave's post a little while back, I borrowed an EVO 3 SYNCRO UNI to insert in my power supply. It is specifically aimed at removing stray DC offset current from the public supply. On initial listening I have to say it does make quite a difference, in pretty much the way Dave described in his post. I don't think it is a complete power cleaner - removing RFI/EMI for example - but 'focus' is a good word for what it does do.
What is the likelihood of DC on the mains in the UK?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15448780
Post #14,013 of 14,627

hmartin

Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 29, 2016
Messages
89
Reaction score
30
Location
Sweden
Joined
Aug 29, 2016
Location
Sweden
Posts
89
Likes
30
I think the common understanding is that dc like rfi is more and more likely due to new devices and led lampes etc. But I don’t know for sure.

Perhaps @Rob Watts could comment on if Dave is sensitive to dc, my main experience is that power transformers tend to sound more if there is dc, but Dave psu does not have a big transformer.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15448781
Post #14,014 of 14,627

DaveRedRef-III

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 24, 2015
Messages
660
Reaction score
252
Location
UK
Joined
Sep 24, 2015
Location
UK
Posts
660
Likes
252
From what I understand it is pretty common
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Lucky87
post-15448855
Post #14,015 of 14,627

Triode User

Member of the Trade: WAVE High Fidelity
Joined
Feb 5, 2017
Messages
3,049
Reaction score
2,325
Location
Leics, UK
Joined
Feb 5, 2017
Location
Leics, UK
Posts
3,049
Likes
2,325
I think the common understanding is that dc like rfi is more and more likely due to new devices and led lampes etc. But I don’t know for sure.

Perhaps @Rob Watts could comment on if Dave is sensitive to dc, my main experience is that power transformers tend to sound more if there is dc, but Dave psu does not have a big transformer.
It will be interesting to see about this and I await to see if RW has any thoughts. One might anticipate that the medical grade smps in the Dave power supply should not be particularly worried by this issue and should be stable, low noise and unaffected by dc offset on the mains.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15451838
Post #14,018 of 14,627

jonstatt

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 5, 2012
Messages
791
Reaction score
207
Joined
Oct 5, 2012
Posts
791
Likes
207
So I am also running the DAVE + HMS combo but i'm having the issues with drop outs and slight popping noise when using Dual BNC connections. I know this is quite a common issue. I've tried switching the BNC 1 + 2 on the DAVE to 3 + 4 but I still seem to have the dropouts on both sets of BNC on the DAVE. Using the stock BNC cables that came with the m scaler. (Btw does BNC 1 on the HMS connect to the 3 or 4 on the DAVE? I have tried both BNC 1 (HMS) to BNC 3/4 (DAVE) and BNC 2 (HMS) to 3/4 (DAVE)) and either way the drop out / pop noises issues still occur regardless).

With the HMS upsample rate in low (red), medium (green), and high (purple) the issue is gone as well. It only occurs when in max upsample mode (white) which in turns activates the D BNC input on DAVE side. I believe the dropouts and pop noises only come when DBNC input on DAVE is activated.

I have read that for some people it worked when switching to BNC 3+4 on DAVE, and I believe Rob confirmed that older DAVE's and newer DAVE's are the exact same in design and changing DAVE's in hopes for a newer/older built DAVE shouldn't fix the issue.

Edit: Ok now the popping sounds and drop outs occur both when using USB AND optical input into the HMS.. on both sets of BNC on the DAVE... its much worse when BNC 1+2 on DAVE

Edit 2: Ok I've tried to move the HMS further away from my source ~2 meters away, on BNC 3+4 on DAVE there is still the popping/crackling noise and drop outs (still un-listenable and unacceptable). BNC 1+2 on DAVE still is unable to be used... full drop outs and enormous amounts of crackling.

Thanks for your time!
It sounds like your DAVE needs to go back for a modification. Apparently some Dave's need this.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15451875
Post #14,019 of 14,627

Triode User

Member of the Trade: WAVE High Fidelity
Joined
Feb 5, 2017
Messages
3,049
Reaction score
2,325
Location
Leics, UK
Joined
Feb 5, 2017
Location
Leics, UK
Posts
3,049
Likes
2,325
So I am also running the DAVE + HMS combo but i'm having the issues with drop outs and slight popping noise when using Dual BNC connections. I know this is quite a common issue. I've tried switching the BNC 1 + 2 on the DAVE to 3 + 4 but I still seem to have the dropouts on both sets of BNC on the DAVE. Using the stock BNC cables that came with the m scaler. (Btw does BNC 1 on the HMS connect to the 3 or 4 on the DAVE? I have tried both BNC 1 (HMS) to BNC 3/4 (DAVE) and BNC 2 (HMS) to 3/4 (DAVE)) and either way the drop out / pop noises issues still occur regardless).

With the HMS upsample rate in low (red), medium (green), and high (purple) the issue is gone as well. It only occurs when in max upsample mode (white) which in turns activates the D BNC input on DAVE side. I believe the dropouts and pop noises only come when DBNC input on DAVE is activated.

I have read that for some people it worked when switching to BNC 3+4 on DAVE, and I believe Rob confirmed that older DAVE's and newer DAVE's are the exact same in design and changing DAVE's in hopes for a newer/older built DAVE shouldn't fix the issue.

Edit: Ok now the popping sounds and drop outs occur both when using USB AND optical input into the HMS.. on both sets of BNC on the DAVE... its much worse when BNC 1+2 on DAVE

Edit 2: Ok I've tried to move the HMS further away from my source ~2 meters away, on BNC 3+4 on DAVE there is still the popping/crackling noise and drop outs (still un-listenable and unacceptable). BNC 1+2 on DAVE still is unable to be used... full drop outs and enormous amounts of crackling.

Thanks for your time!
I have had a Dave since they were first introduced and I NEVER had any drop outs ever. Well not until a couple of days ago when I got quite a few and was rather concerned. Luckily I realised that I had been swopping stuff around and had accidentally put dave near to a power supply for a different piece of equipment. I moved the power supply and all was returned to 'no drop out' stability.

It is worth checking if you have anything else near to Dave or near to any cables connected to Dave.

If that doesn't work then as others have said, a return to Chord might be required for adjustment.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-15454903
Post #14,020 of 14,627

tunes

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 26, 2008
Messages
1,313
Reaction score
183
Location
New York
Joined
Jan 26, 2008
Location
New York
Posts
1,313
Likes
183
I finally got the YouTube app on the IBASSO DX 220 DAP device that I use as a portable music file transport via optical out and YES it it can output the audio stream and be up-scaled by my CHORD DAVE/HMS. The only problem is that lip synch is way off making watching the music video annoying. Does anyone have a fix for the synch problem? I think this sort of thing happens with some digital TV monitors and a delay needs to be dialed into the video signal.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-15456480
Post #14,021 of 14,627

DaveRedRef-III

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 24, 2015
Messages
660
Reaction score
252
Location
UK
Joined
Sep 24, 2015
Location
UK
Posts
660
Likes
252
I've recently changed my USB cable feeding the M Scaler/Dave combo. Never ceases to amaze me how a USB cable can change the sound of a system.

I previously used the Danacable TruStream USB. What the new FTA Callisto 0.8 mtr USB brings to my system is the following:
Improved Timbre/Tone, More believable and natural dynamics, more weight in the lower mids, more weight in the lower bass (almost like I have added a very subtle subwoofer to the mix), improved flow and musicality, much more natural high's (less edgy particularly when using Synergistic Research HFT's on my speakers), Less shouty sound, more organic and natural presentation ................ I guess more like real music.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Aslshark
post-15457178
Post #14,023 of 14,627

DaveRedRef-III

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 24, 2015
Messages
660
Reaction score
252
Location
UK
Joined
Sep 24, 2015
Location
UK
Posts
660
Likes
252
I think you need to have it looked at.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15457513
Post #14,024 of 14,627

iDesign

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 12, 2004
Messages
1,009
Reaction score
276
Joined
Aug 12, 2004
Posts
1,009
Likes
276
So I am also running the DAVE + HMS combo but i'm having the issues with drop outs and slight popping noise when using Dual BNC connections. I know this is quite a common issue. I've tried switching the BNC 1 + 2 on the DAVE to 3 + 4 but I still seem to have the dropouts on both sets of BNC on the DAVE. Using the stock BNC cables that came with the m scaler. (Btw does BNC 1 on the HMS connect to the 3 or 4 on the DAVE? I have tried both BNC 1 (HMS) to BNC 3/4 (DAVE) and BNC 2 (HMS) to 3/4 (DAVE)) and either way the drop out / pop noises issues still occur regardless).

With the HMS upsample rate in low (red), medium (green), and high (purple) the issue is gone as well. It only occurs when in max upsample mode (white) which in turns activates the D BNC input on DAVE side. I believe the dropouts and pop noises only come when DBNC input on DAVE is activated.

I have read that for some people it worked when switching to BNC 3+4 on DAVE, and I believe Rob confirmed that older DAVE's and newer DAVE's are the exact same in design and changing DAVE's in hopes for a newer/older built DAVE shouldn't fix the issue.

Edit: Ok now the popping sounds and drop outs occur both when using USB AND optical input into the HMS.. on both sets of BNC on the DAVE... its much worse when BNC 1+2 on DAVE

Edit 2: Ok I've tried to move the HMS further away from my source ~2 meters away, on BNC 3+4 on DAVE there is still the popping/crackling noise and drop outs (still un-listenable and unacceptable). BNC 1+2 on DAVE still is unable to be used... full drop outs and enormous amounts of crackling.

Thanks for your time!
Contact Chord, I'm sure they will assist you. And once its working, you will have one of the finest DACs available. I rediscovered new tracks like I have never heard before tonight and I looked over at my DAVE+Blu Mk 2 and smiled-- you will soon too. Thank you for connecting me with the music, @Rob Watts.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: musickid
post-15457651
Post #14,025 of 14,627

F208Frank

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 19, 2019
Messages
568
Reaction score
254
Location
New York
Joined
Feb 19, 2019
Location
New York
Posts
568
Likes
254
What are the main differences between having HMS with the DAVE and without?
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 2, Guests: 6)

Top