Beyerdynamic 880DT 600ohn Premiums paired with ASUS Essence STX - some questions
Jul 29, 2012 at 9:19 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 6

timmymagic07

New Head-Fier
Hello,

I am a relative newbie when it comes to headphones, other than previously having owned some Sennheiser DH580s which I have since misplaced, although to my shame only ever paired with on board sound. 

After some reading up on various threads on this site, I opted for the 880DTs 600ohn with an ASUS Essence STX card, with truly terrific results. I have been astounded having received them yesterday at the sound quality and difference to my previous setup, listening to Superstition (FLAC) for example, sounds so much better it is unreal. I generally use them for music, movies, games, so an all rounder really. 

At this early stage though, I do have a few questions I was hoping someone might be able to help with, particularly around setup and trying to get the best out of them.

Firstly - I have noticed that when playing certain songs (in FLAC format), the sound can sometimes cut out and become distorted and this appears to happen randomly. I.e. it doesn't happen at the exact same time of the song, it just cuts out at random intervals. Is this due to a lack of power? 

Leading on - from reading around it would appear I am going to need to get a decent amp in order to get the best out of these things, but I am also reluctant to spend too much cash, especially as this combo has already cost me in excess of £300.. I am really looking for bang for buck when it comes to the amp, I would be willing to spend around £150 if there is a need, but at the same time I really want to avoid spending too much. I read something about tube amps from Chine on ebay, is this worth a look? To be completely honest, I really know so little that any advice/pointing in the right direction would be very useful.