Best amp for hd 650 under $500
Oct 18, 2010 at 9:12 PM Post #2 of 22
im new to this world and don,t know much but i do know that my headphone amp the 'ibasso mamba d4'' is pritty good against
''Lehmann Audio Black Cube'' which is about 660 pounds so i think its pritty good not as clear as the cube but it can deffaintly power the hd 650s and is in your budget.

its a great little amp and doesn,t colour the sound and keeps all the detail.

i have this setup and i love it!

hope that helps
smile_phones.gif

Oct 18, 2010 at 11:58 PM Post #4 of 22

Quote:
im new to this world and don,t know much but i do know that my headphone amp the 'ibasso mamba d4'' is pritty good against
''Lehmann Audio Black Cube'' which is about 660 pounds so i think its pritty good not as clear as the cube but it can deffaintly power the hd 650s and is in your budget.

its a great little amp and doesn,t colour the sound and keeps all the detail.

i have this setup and i love it!

hope that helps
smile_phones.gif

Though the iBasso D4 is a great little amp, it is not in the same league is top home equipment. If you want a decent transportable rig, then you may want to consider the D4, otherwise stick with true home equipment.

Oct 19, 2010 at 12:01 AM Post #5 of 22
I have to put my vote in for the Yulong D100. I have this set-up, and comparing it against most of the stuff I have heard, it performs extremely. Keep in mind, though the D100 is only $450, shipping is another $40-$50. See here:

http://www.head-fi.org/products/yulong-d100/reviews#4045

That about sums up my experience.

Oct 19, 2010 at 12:10 AM Post #6 of 22
Maybe a Matrix-M Stage?  It's about half your budget and it sounds great.  It would leave you enough for a dac too.!
smile_phones.gif

Oct 19, 2010 at 5:56 PM Post #8 of 22

Quote:
Maybe a Matrix-M Stage?  It's about half your budget and it sounds great.  It would leave you enough for a dac too.!
smile_phones.gif