Beginning the Audiofine Journey
Jan 14, 2020 at 5:21 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 4

Audiophool101

New Head-Fier
I am really new to this. Decent sounding music. I`ve always enjoyed music, but never really thought about those kbps and formats and file sizes and DACs and god awful expensive headphones until relatively recently. Always enjoyed music, just didn`t have any contact with high end stuff. Hence audiophool. Not audiophile, very far from that league, but just looking for an audiofine experience. Hence starting a journey.

Please don`t laugh at my current setup: LG V20 and Senns HD58x. I know its not the hottest stuff ever, but I`m really enjoying the sound and beginning the journey. And for around 250 bucks in total it was a steal. Oh, and flacs do make a difference. I know its a phone, but its ESS Sabre quad dac is alright (for entry level audiophool probably) and it drives the headphones at midvolume loud enough already.

Taking the headphones out of the box and pressing play is now a sort of ritual of rediscovering music: taking those ol` Floyds for another spin and finding out there actually were more sounds to those songs all along! That whisper sounds different now?! Darn his voice is so close to my ear, its like Gilmour is in front of me?! Wow, I was deaf for so long!

The whole point of this is to ask where do I go from here? What to upgrade/buy next?
To put this in some context, I mostly listen to prog(-ish) and prog metal, some alternative rock and jazz and classical. I don`t really want to spend more than 500 bucks. Its a hobby, not a wife.

So what should I buy?

Some naive shopping list candidates:
SMSL M500 should be futureproof in terms of DAC; reviews mention AMP to not be top tier but should be good enough for 300 Ohms easily. That Ess 9038 Pro looks juicy though.