Advice for an amateur ??
Jun 9, 2010 at 7:56 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 17

killer401

New Head-Fier
so i was checking out some reviews n stuff and landed on this website. I found that people here are really respectful compared to other websites so i'm posting my question here..

i'm a total newby when it comes to headphones ... i've broken tons of earphones while listening to my ipod and thats why now i've decided to buy a headphone.. 

i'm gonna listen to rock mainly .. some classic rock .. maybe some pop sometimes .. so good base is not a big preference for me .. also i'm looking for something with good durability and ofcourse style .. i was looking for some funky stuff but i guess they become too expensive when it comes to quality and style ..

i was looking at some arial7 tanks and choppers .. so far i found mixed reviews for them ..i'm not so sure about them now .. but yeah they've got some goood style there ... should i buy em ??

any other good pair of headphones you guys know .. that would be good for me .. my budget is $100 ....

and i live in toronto, so if by any chance, anyone knows any good shops where i can find headphones in GTA then please lemme know .. like in downtown or something .. (i know there are some around there)

thnx a tonn guys ..

Jun 9, 2010 at 8:00 PM Post #2 of 17
Questions:
Do you wear them outdoors? If yes, look for iems or closed headphones. If no, look for open headphones or iems.
Many people , when they come up with a $100 budget, people suggest Grados SR-60,80 or Allessandro MS1. As you start to invest in to head-fi and read more posts, you will most likely incur more damages to your wallet over time. What I would suggest, is to as someone from GTA and see if they know shops around that allows you to try out headphones. 

If you do intend to stick to strictly your budget, I really think you should leave this site after you find your $100 headphones.
Good luck with everything

Jun 9, 2010 at 8:09 PM Post #3 of 17