1st step to a computer setup
Jun 23, 2006 at 2:38 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 54

razer

500+ Head-Fier
Hey guys, I've decided to get a computer setup. First of all, is getting a soundcard and then going into a DAC (like the benchmark DAC-1) then to headphone amp and to my headphone enough for a setup that's more than decent enough? With songs ripped using EAC and played back through foobar2000, plus a quiet hard disc, what more do I have to look out for? I have heard of people suggestion the RME soundcards as well as EMU cards... I guess I'll probably need to find one with an optical out.

I'am sort of like a total noob at this source stuff so some spoonfeeding would help. I've read through tons of stuff and decided that a computer setup would at the end be the most suitable for me because I'am in front of my comp most of the time and listen to music from my comp. So the question is, what soundcard should I be starting off with ? There's like the EMU's, Turtlebeach,M-Audio, and RME....And other than the benchmark DAC-1, are there any cheaper alternatives that offer similar if not performance close to that? Not counting the DAC,amp,interconnects, my budget for a soundcard would be around $500.

Jun 23, 2006 at 2:41 PM Post #2 of 54
Also, how should I tackle problems of jittering? I read that the RME soundcards as well as the DAC-1 have functions to minimise/eliminate them??

Jun 23, 2006 at 2:56 PM Post #3 of 54
You want to get a good quality power supply, Seasonic, Antec, etc.

Quiet CPU, Video card, case fans also.

As far as soundcard and DAC go, you need something that can do a good digital transport, RME, EMU, M-Audio all good brands to go with. Depends what extra features you want, you can also look at creative x-fi cards.