1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice
  1. Animagus
    ItsFit Fusion - Wowza!
    Written by Animagus
    Published Jan 14, 2020
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Exceptionally good build quality
    - Sound quality - Open, rich, dynamic, energetic and exciting sound
    - Shell customization designs
    - Good integration of the magnetostatic driver
    Cons - Lack of variety/options in stock ear tips necessary for snug fit.
    - I personally love the treble but treble sensitive people should tread with caution since appreciation will depend on preferences and threshold of treble sensitivity.
    My background - I am a professional musician, producer and audio engineer with experience in the performing, recording and pro-audio industry. I test products on a technical and musical level and try to write reviews as simple as possible from a music fan's perspective.

    Genre preferences - I majorly listen to rock, acoustic, pop and metal and occasionally listen to EDM songs which are doing the rounds on the radio and charts.

    Disclaimer -
    I would like to thank ItsFit for sending me the Fusion to test and review. I am not affiliated with the company or any of its sellers and write this review with an unbiased opinion regardless of how the review turns out.

    Links – ItsFit Website | Fusion ($950)

    Fusion can be ordered as universals or customs. Itsfit offers numerous shell and faceplate customization options where imagination is the limit.

    1.jpeg 2.jpeg

    Genre preferences - I majorly listen to rock, acoustic, pop, metal, and occasionally popular EDM songs.

    About Itsfit - ItsFit is a Vietnamese company, who have been re-shelling IEMs for the last 3 years and only recently launched two of their own IEMs, R3 and Fusion. In my opinion, ItsFit is a brand to watch out for as they have good R&D experience, interesting tech in their IEMs and some of the most attractive shell designs I have come across. They regularly receive high praise for their re-shelling and recently Fusion has been making waves too.

    Main Photo.jpeg

    Technical Specifications -
    • Configuration – 1 Magnetostatic (Treble) | 2 BAs (Mids) | 1 DD (Bass)
    • Freq. Response: 4Hz – 40kHz
    • Sensitivity: 98 dB/mW @ 1kHz
    • Impedance: 13.1Ω @ 1kHz
    • Isolation: -26dB
    Included in the box - ItsFit packaging is minimalistic but cool, as they focus on the things that are important; stuff that you’ll actually use.
    • In-ear monitors
    • 2-pin cable
    • 2 sets of ML ear tips
    • Hard case
    • Carrying pouch
    • Cleaning cloth
    • Cleaning tool
    • Handwritten welcome cards
    • Warranty card
    Packaging 1.jpeg Packaging 2.jpeg

    Build Quality - ItsFit IEMs have fantastic build quality, period! They also have some of the most interesting and attractive shells designs in the industry that I’ve come across. Fusion has three vents which look like grip holes in bowling balls. IMO, it is a very interesting design for dynamic driver venting. It not only serves its purpose but also looks very cool!

    It is made out of resin and has very cool nozzles that are transparent and different from the shell color. They kinda look like a different part that is glued to the main shell but I don’t know if that is the case or not because it is very well integrated. As you would expect from a company that solely provided a re-shelling service for a few years, the shells have absolutely no bubbles or residue glue visible. The shell customization I requested for Fusion came out perfect! You can see for yourself how good it looks in my pictures. They came out equally great!

    Kien Fusion 2.jpg
    Picture Courtesy - Kien @ ItsFit

    Cable – Fusion comes with a silver-plated copper cable which feels and looks very good. It has nice looking and very solidly build connectors and jack. I love the grey-ish color they have. Cable has a nice braid and very little microphonics. Though I’d love to see an UP-OCC kinda cable included with Fusion, I actually have no problems with the stock cable.

    Hardcase – The included case is similar to what comes with 64 Audio IEMs. I personally like these cases since I’ve been using them for a lot of years.

    Packaging 3.jpeg

    Fit and Comfort - Fusion's shells are semi-custom shape and are small enough to fit most ears. But the fit and comfort completely depends on the choice of ear tips. What makes ear tips difficult to choose is that Fusion's sound signature is a bit tip dependent and changes with snugness of fit. So you gotcha mix and match and see which ear tips sound the best and which provide the best fit. The ItsFit semi-custom universal shells aren’t as ergonomic as the ones from Fearless or BGVP as the latter work pretty well with multiple types of ear tips. In my case the nozzle needs longer ear tips for a snug fit. Though if you choose the right ear tips, ItsFit shell can fit as snugly as the ones from the other two companies. So choosing the optimum ear tips is important. Sadly, ItsFit do not provide a variety of ear tip options in the package. So, having a collection of different kinds of ear tips will help.

    Here are some ear tip options that I settled on.

    Fusion Eartips 1.jpeg
    Snuggest Fit
    Fusion Eartips 3.jpeg
    Best Sound

    Noise Isolation - The ear tips that provided the snuggest fit of course had the best isolation too and the isolation was as good as it can get for a universal shell. Though Fusion’s noise isolation is slightly less because of its vented design.

    Sound Analysis – Fusion has a nice quirky fun tuning which makes songs that you’ve been hearing for a while suddenly become livelier, more energetic and fun. Fusion being a tri-brid has 3 different kinds of drivers and each driver pitches its own character in a very nice way. It is highly resolving, open sounding and dynamic, which makes it highly addictive. I funnily think that it is the best sounding IEM in my collection for Karnivool’s Sound Awake album, which is one of my favourite progressive rock albums. It is as if Fusion was tailor made for that album. Haha.

    Let’s dig in deeper to know more…

    Note – Fusion's sound signature changes slightly with different ear tips and fit. It shines exceptionally with some. So, I suggest you tip roll and experiment as the sound can vary between bright to balanced to slightly warm depending on your choice of ear tips. I’ve used wide bore softer silicone ear tips for the sound analysis.

    Kien Fusion 1.jpg
    Picture Courtesy - Kien @ ItsFit

    Bass – Sub-bass has very good extension down low and in fact has more presence than mid-bass. I had gotten so accustomed to mid-bass leading the charge that Fusion sounded the good kinda different to me in the first listen in comparison to other IEMs I was testing. Sub-bass has more character than rumble, though it can rumble pretty well too if a song demands. But character is what wins for me. Mid-bass has good presence too and overdriven bass tones of bands like Karnivool, I Am Giant and Muse sound super crispy and snappy. Bass overall has more lively character than dominating presence. It is well defined, fast, dynamic and even sustains pretty well. For example, bass in Twenty-One Pilots’ Hype’ and Walk the Moon’s ‘Shut Up and Dance’ has very good character, deep sub-bass, crispy mid-bass presence and punch while still staying more fun kinda neutral rather than overpowering.

    Mids – The transition from mid-bass to the midrange is very linear. Mids are highly musical, have very natural timbre along with great resolution and clarity. The balance of mids though is pushed a bit behind bass and treble. Midrange body is neutral-ish, though neither too full nor too thin. Upper mids have 2 primary peaks, one around 2.5-3kHz and another one around 5kHz defining the upper midrange character. Vocals are exciting and lively and even background vocals in songs like Coldplay’s Orphans have great resolution and clarity. Drums sound more lively than warm/earthy. Guitars and orchestral instruments have good attack and presence with a neutral body and very lively natural timbre, owing to Fusion’s linear lower mid-range and good shine in the upper mids.

    Treble – Fusion’s highlight and USP is surely the Magnetostatic driver. I had only heard of Magnetostatic drivers in theory but had never come across one in action until I got the Fusion. The treble extends very well, is super crisp, open and sparkly (the good kind)! It contributes majorly to make everything sound exciting and livelier. Cymbals sparkle a bit more than neutral, though do not get splashy. Vocals have good rich sparkle and acoustics have that extra zing. The Magnetostatic treble character though is unlike BAs or DDs and so might need some getting used to. Once you adapt to its character, you’ll see how well it integrates into Fusion’s signature. But treble sensitive people should tread with caution (always), since appreciation will depend on preferences and threshold of treble sensitivity. Also, as I stated previously, Fusion’s treble character changes a bit with different ear tips and I highly suggest tip rolling for best results. I initially needed a bit of ear burn in, 5-10 songs maybe. My excitement levels were rising song by song and by the end of my ear burn in period, I was enthused and was already onto checking all my favorite songs and how they were sounding on Fusion. It is now one of my go-to IEMs to listen to music every day.

    Soundstage, Imaging and Separation - Fusion has a nice big, wide and open soundstage. Width and depth both are very good. Imaging is very precise and pinpointing even the quietest instrument in the mix is quite easy. As for separation, Fusion much like Shozy Pola39, shows that great results can be achieved by selecting best drivers for the job and good tuning talent.

    3.jpeg

    Comparisons -

    CustomArt Fibae 7 ($1100) – Right off the bat, Fusion sounds more modern, energetic and exciting whereas Fibae7 is warmer of the two. Fibae7 has warmer bass and slightly stronger feeling of bass impact whereas Fusion has more sub-bass and dynamics. Fibae7 has a Harman kind of dip in the mids whereas Fusion has a more linear approach. Fibae7 has substantially more upper mids presence with a forward presentation than Fusion. Fusion on the other hand feels more natural and lively there. Fusion’s treble is more extended, present and lively whereas Fibae7 has a natural roll off post 5-6kHz. Both have nice wide soundstages. Choosing one between them completely depends on your preference and liking.

    Fearless Roland ($1000) – They are polar opposites in a way. Roland is a darker IEM whereas Fusion is energetic and lively. Fusion has more sub-bass as well as overall bass presence. Roland is quite reference like from bass to starting of upper mids. Post that, both have good upper mids presence but Fusion because of its livelier signature, has more resolution in the mids as well as overall. Fusion’s treble is way better extended and open whereas Roland has a sudden treble roll off post 5kHz. Fusion has a livelier open soundstage whereas Roland has a decently wide soundstage but because of it being dark, the feeling of openness is subdued.

    Shozy Pola39 ($950) – This is a tough one! Both Pola39 and Fusion have their own characteristic treble character which is their strength and also what makes them uniquely cool. Fusion has a magnetostatic driver for treble whereas Pola39 has a dual EST driver. Both have a very good bass character and presence from their respective dynamic drivers but Pola39’s is a bit more present while Fusion’s is more controlled. Both have good natural mids but Pola39’s mids sound slightly warmer and balanced whereas Fusion’s mids are slightly pushed back but equally dynamic and punchy. Pola39 sounds slightly warmer till the treble as compared to Fusion and then both of them gain their characteristic treble character where Pola39’s is more open & airy and Fusion’s is slightly fuller and ever so slightly upfront in comparison. Both have a nice wide soundstage. Choice between the two is tough as they both have a similar take on a ballpark idea of sound but still quite different and cool in their own way.

    BGVP EST8 ($799) – EST8 and Fusion are again quite different. Fusion sounds very modern, energetic and lively whereas EST8 sounds warmer. Both do bass very well but Fusion has a dynamic driver with higher resolution, nicer character and energy. Fusion has better mids with more resolution, better details and more liveliness. Fusion’s treble has more sizzle, sparkle and energy whereas EST8 is smoother, more natural and warmer.

    Conclusion - ItsFit is not a new company as such. They’ve been re-shelling for the last 3 years while doing R&D on the side to develop their own products. What is amazing is that instead of choosing a safe tuning for their first products, they in fact got experimental with new driver tech (Fusion) in one and reference style tuning (R3) in the other. Both are not easy to execute! Fusion is a very lively and exciting IEM which makes your music feel extra special. Also, it can be ordered as universals or customs and you can take my word that their designs, shell quality as well as finishing is one of the best in the industry. Fusion gets 2 thumbs up from my side. If your budget is around its price, surely give it a shot.

    5.jpeg

    Gear used for testing and review -
    • Logic Pro X session with hi-res test tracks played through Universal Audio Apollo or Focusrite Clarett Pre X audio interface headphone out.
    • Hiby R6 Pro
    • Oneplus 7 Pro
    Reference Songs list -
    • Foo Fighters – The Pretender, Best of you & Everlong
    • Coldplay – Paradise, Up in flames, Everglow, Orphans
    • Dave Matthews – Shake Me Like a Monkey
    • Ed Sheeran – Thinking out loud, Bloodstream & Galway Girl
    • Chainsmokers – Somebody, Sickboy, This Feeling & Closer
    • Twenty One Pilots – The Hype
    • John Mayer – Slow dancing in a burning room, Stop this Train & Say
    • Gavin James – Always & Hearts on fire
    • Switchfoot – Meant to live & Dare you to move
    • Linkin Park – Papercut, Somewhere I belong & Talking to myself
    • Walk the Moon – Shut Up & Dance
    • Lifehouse – All in all & Come back down
    • Niall Horan – Slow Hands, Mirrors & The Tide
    • Breaking Benjamin – Diary of Jane
    • Karnivool – Simple boy & Goliath
    • Dead Letter Circus – Real you
    • I Am Giant- Purple heart, City limits & Transmission
    • Muse – Panic station
    • James Bay – Hold back the river
  2. yong_shun
    Review: ItsFitLab Fusion - The New Contestant
    Written by yong_shun
    Published Jan 1, 2020
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Good resolution across the frequency spectrum
    Well extended, neutral, and natural highs
    Sweet, airy, and spacious vocals
    Rumbles in the sub-bass
    Premium stock cable
    High quality accessories included
    Cons - Shell of the universal model is large
    The new ItsFitLab Fusion is a worthy contestant against pioneer audio manufacturers and even sets a new benchmark for top of the line models.

    Disclaimer
    This review is originally posted on Headphonesty. Thank you, Kien, CEO of ItsFitLab for sending me the ItsFitLab Fusion in-ear monitors (IEMs). They were provided to me free of charge in exchange for my honest review and opinion.


    Introduction
    Led by CEO Kien Nguyen, ItsFitLab evolved from a small lab which specialized in sound and audio component research to a custom in-ear monitor (CIEMs) brand in Vietnam. Leveraging the global growing trend of CIEMs, ItsFitLab applies the best optimized sound technology. That, combined with experience in local handcraft, produces sonically and physically pleasing CIEMs for their customers.


    The philosophy adopted by ItsFitLab is that “everyone deserves a better sound experience. We support our customers from consultation till we hand you the final product to assure complete satisfaction.”

    The Fusion is their current top of the line (TOTL) product. As the world’s first triple hybrid IEM with Magnetostatic™, the Fusion is the result of ItsFitLab’s quest for truly innovative in-ear technology. According to ItsFitLab, the most remarkable trait of the Fusion is its ability to produce an incredibly wide soundstage which ultimately recreates the performance feel. Without further delay, let's find out more!

    Triple hybrid IEMs utilize three different types of drivers to cover the sound spectrum. The strengths of some types of drivers cover the weaknesses of the other types. This can improve the overall performance of an IEM compared to conventional non-hybrid configurations.

    Introduction.jpg

    Unboxing

    ItsFitLab really put in effort to make the packaging classy and suitable for a TOTL product.

    The Fusion comes in a black cardboard box. The box is plain and blank with the exception of the brand logo and name.
    Unboxing 1.jpg
    Opening the box, users can immediately see the Fusion on the upper part. Located at the lower part of the box is an envelope containing user manuals, the warranty guide, and a discount code for the next purchase.

    Unboxing 2.jpg Unboxing 3.jpg

    Underneath the envelope, there is a hard case containing the stock cable, a soft pouch, and a fiber cloth. Removing the Fusion from the box, there are four pairs of silicone ear tips and a cleaning tool sitting underneath the Fusion.
    Unboxing 4.jpg Unboxing 5.jpg Unboxing 6.jpg

    Technical Specification

    Build
    ItsFitLab uses acrylic shell for its universal line-up including the Fusion. The faceplate can be customised based on users’ preferences. I chose the most basic design - with ItsFitLab logo and brand name on both sides.

    Faceplate.jpg

    The shell is relatively big when compared to other models that I recently reviewed, such as the Jomo Audio Haka and Symphonium Audio Aurora. This could be because additional space is needed to cater to the triple hybrid configuration in the Fusion. Although it is comparably larger, it is still an acceptable size.

    There are three bores on the nozzle. ItsFitLab uses traditional passive filters in the Fusion. Each sound bore is connected to a specific type of driver. With this implementation, the manufacturer believed that reproducing sound at extremely wide frequency response without losing any sound details is efficient. There is a lip on the nozzle to hold the ear tips. This makes ear tip rolling easy for the users.

    'Ear tip rolling' is the process to find a suitable ear tips that gives users the best seal, isolation, and sound.
    Nozzle.jpg
    Sound bores.jpg

    Moving to the top of the shell, a recessed 0.78mm 2-pin port is utilised for the Fusion. A recessed 2-pin port is sturdier compared to the conventional flat 2-pin port because the largest area of the pin is protected by the shell. More shocks can be absorbed before breaking the pin.

    Recessed 2 Pin.jpg

    The stock cable provided in the box is a four-wire twisted cable with a 3.5mm unbalanced jack. There is no available information with regards to the material used for the cable but I believe it to be silver plated copper (SPC) which is commonly used.

    The jack is sturdy and built with a strain reliever, making it durable and solid. On the jack, we again see the logo. Moving to the Y-split, I favor its simple design because a bulky Y-split could impose microphonics when the cable moves. There is a chin-slider to provide a more secure fit. At the 2-pin connector, the heat shrink ear guide ensures that the cable stays behind the ears.
    Cable.jpg Connector.jpg Jack.jpg Y-split.jpg

    Fit and Isolation
    The acrylic shell is well polished. Its surface of the shell is smooth to the touch. I don't experience any discomfort when wearing the Fusion. I believe the overall experience will be even better if it’s custom made. Although having a large shell, the Fusion sits in my ears perfectly with the correctly sized ear tips.

    I am currently using it as my daily commuting option because of its ability to block out external noises - an impressive feat considering its three vents on each side to mitigate driver flex.

    Driver flex is what happens when the driver bends due to the pressure of air against it. Usually, it occurs when you're inserting the IEM into your ear and air in the shell creates pressure to bend the driver.
    Vents.jpg

    Drivability and Pairing
    It is always a concern with regards to drivability when a triple hybrid is involved. The first few triple hybrid models in the market, such as Jomo Audio Trinity (electrostatic triple hybrid) and Noble Khan (piezoelectric triple hybrid), are power-hungry beasts. A significant amount of power is needed to properly activate the electrostatic or piezoelectric drivers in IEMs due to the low sensitivity of the drivers. Without proper driving, they sound awkward.

    Rated at 13.1Ω at 1kHz for impedance and 98 db per mW at 1kHz for sensitivity, the Fusion is less power hungry. In fact, it is actually as easy to be driven as a pure balanced armature (BA) drivers configured IEMs based on my experience.

    With the current flagship models of iBasso, DX220, I only need volume level of around 70/150 on low gain for most recordings. This makes the Fusion unique and easy, with no external amplifier needed.

    Pairing 1.jpg

    Sound Analysis
    Listening to the Fusion is like the feeling of sitting near your fireplace at home - comfortably warm.

    The overall sound signature is smooth and warm. The Fusion hits the sweet spot - enough warmth is injected to produce the truest sound without compromising any details.

    The soundstage is another pleasant surprise from the Fusion. Instruments and vocals are accurately positioned in their respective places and every note is precisely presented with amazing layering. I think this could be one of the best soundstages I’ve ever experienced within the price range of USD$1000.

    The depth is extending deep by the 10mm electro-dynamic drivers while the height is reaching high by the 8mm magnetostatic driver. Based on my research, the Fusion is the first and only IEMs with such a unique configuration. This opens the door to other manufacturers to explore this configuration with a confirmed positive result.

    Instagram 1.jpg

    Lows
    The coupled dynamic drivers handle the lows decently - the body is full and extends deep.

    As mentioned earlier, the lows are handled by a 10mm electro-dynamic driver. The produced bass is refined and balanced. It has good extension in the sub-bass, creating rumbles. When slowly moving towards the mid-bass and upper-bass, the body starts to shrink, ready to create space for the mids.

    This makes the bass well controlled. It's balanced because of its position. Its power doesn't overshadow the mids and highs. All three frequency spectrums can co-exist with no collision or congestion.

    The attack and decay speed of the lows is also handled well - it is well controlled in its own region and the decay speed is in the perfect balance between bleeding to other regions and being too technical or dry. This makes the bass precise and accurate and even adds to the overall presentation.

    Pairing 2.jpg

    Mids
    The performance begins with reserved lower mids. However, they start to shine when moving towards the upper mids.

    The lower mids, compared to the higher, are more reserved due to the transition from the slightly recessed upper bass. However, this reserved profile does not cause the lower mids to be shadowed. Male vocals are well resolved and lively with warmth injected from the overall sound signature.

    Moving towards the upper mids, the performance shines even brighter. This makes female vocals to be sweet but not overwhelmingly bright. It is balanced by the warmth of the sound signature. The soundstage created allowed the vocals to stretch, yielding breathy, airy, and spacious vocals.

    I would like to emphasis the layering in the Fusion. Every note from each frequency region plays coherently well together.

    Instagram 2.jpg

    Highs
    This is the spotlight of the show; the Fusion redefined how highs should sound.

    If I were asked to mention the most unique selling point of the Fusion, I would pick the highs. It is well-extended, smooth, and sweet. No adjective can accurately describe how impressive it is. Utilizing a new technology, the Fusion produces highs in the most neutral and natural manner. This could be the most comparable to a live performance I have ever heard.

    The cymbals are crisp, smooth, and full. The notes are not overly harsh while it has a sufficiently thick body to sustain the process of decaying. This makes every note in the highs to extend well and the overall fidelity is improved drastically.

    A lot of manufacturers face the same issue with electrostatic drivers - the highs overshadow the lows and mids, making the IEMs untamed, soaring in high pitch. I would say ItsFitLab successfully proved that the magnetostatic driver mitigated the issue and this will be a new benchmark for triple hybrid IEMs.
    Instagram 3.jpg

    Conclusion
    Pairing 3.jpg
    The Fusion retails for USD$950 and users can customize the faceplate as well as choose between a universal or custom shell. It can be ordered on ItsFitLab official website. An order for the universal Fusion can generally be fulfilled in 3 to 7 days while the made-to-order custom Fusions will require an additional 3 to 4 weeks upon receiving the ear impression.

    The ItsFitLab Fusion is the new benchmark for TOTL products as well as triple hybrid IEMs. ItsFitLab’s ability to use strengths from different type of drivers to strengthen the performance of the Fusion in every frequency spectrum makes it one of the most competitive options within its price range.

    As a relatively new company, I would like to salute to ItsFitLab for showing their passion, dedication, and wholehearted effort in making an outstanding IEM through the release of the Fusion. I hope that I will have a chance to experience more IEMs from ItsFitLab.

    This is the first time I am giving five stars to an IEM. I am totally sold to the sonic performance of the Fusion.

  3. davidmolliere
    Serious fun!
    Written by davidmolliere
    Published Dec 17, 2019
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Great soundstage with top tier imaging precision
    Superb upper treble extension and exciting but non fatiguing lower treble
    Clean, well extended bass with superb control and good textures
    Balanced and clear articulate mids with slightly forward vocals
    Exceptionally low distorsion
    Fantastic value for money
    Superb build and fit
    Great customer service
    Cons - None that can’t be EQ’ed (a a bit more mid bass or upper mids if you’re so inclined)
    Listening notes
    I spent over a hundred hours with the ItsFit Lab Fusion, listening to Cayin N6ii (A01 and T01 motherboard) and the DX160 mostly with the DITA Oslo using 4.4 balanced.

    Disclaimer

    I have purchased the Fusion during the end of October Sale with 30% off. As usual, this review is my honest opinion. No incentive was given for a favorable review.


    Fit, Build & Isolation
    I chose a « plain » cyan transparent design for my Fusion, the picture hardly do justice to the color (hard shade to portray faithfully) but the transparency clearly show top notch craftsmanship, showing the dynamic, balanced armature and magnetostatic drivers as well as the 3D printed acoustic chambers that bypass any need for passive filters. The Fusion are beautifully engineered and the build is flawless, simply the best fit I have had along with my Custom Art IEMs. Hats off to Kiên and team here!

    [​IMG]
    Superb customized metal case to keep my Fusion safe

    Introduction


    ItsFit Lab is a very young upcoming manufacturer based in Vietnam which managed to get known very quickly and it’s not surprising. I mentioned this above the packaging as well as build quality is as good if not better as well established companies. ItsFit Lab certainly is serious about getting things done well from the get go.

    The Fusion is their second IEM after the 3 BA reference R3 and it’s already a sales hit. In a world where most tribrids use eStats for treble, Kiên decided to build the « world’s first tri-brid earphone with Magnetostatic™ ». A good way to get noticed but a daring endeavor to pick a new driver tech that has never been implemented yet considering the number of disappointing tri-brids that popped up when the eStats driver came out.

    ItsFit Lab also decided to do quite a bit of work and innovation into the acoustics design as well, using « exclusive sound chambers using 3D printing technology. This technique helps delivering original sound through separate signal channels without sacrificing sound with traditional passive filters. This proves to be efficient in reproducing sound at extremely wide frequency response (10-40000 Hz) without losing any sound details. » I have had a few IEMs with advanced acoustics : IE800 and Black have helmholtz resonators, Solaris also features acoustics chambers with T.A.E.C and P.T.C and it plays a big role into soundstage and distorsion.

    With the Fusion, Itsfit aimed at building « a true innovative in-ear that conquer even the most demanding records. Fusion’s soundstage crossed all lines to be a premium in-ear monitor that brings to your ear the extremely wide and deep soundstage of a pro open-back headphones in a tiny, portable earphones. The super luscious highs, detailed & transparent mids and super tight lows now packed with superb space performance, bringing you unforgettable listening experience. »

    Somewhat of a bold claim… does the Fusion hold its promises?

    Let’s see!

    [​IMG]
    Image courtesy of Kiên at ItsFit Lab
    Sound
    The first thing that struck me listening to the the Fusion are : bass, treble, clarity, soundstage, imaging. Bass and treble are clearly stars of the show, because they do provide all the excitement in the Fusion’s signature. The Fusion features a toe tapping, tight and perfectly controlled bass with strong sub and spot on mid bass presence. It also features lively lower treble with good energy but done right, as it’s not a harsh or fatiguing treble either. The upper treble is well extended and provides superb clarity and air. Soundstage is quite wide, tall and deep with a fantastic image both pinpoint precise and coherent.

    While bass and treble are the star of the show, the mids are the cornerstone of the Fusion signature : they provide coherence and balance to the whole tuning. I read the Fusion as being a technically strong fun IEM, with plenty of excitement but done right (good control, superb imaging, tonally accurate) and in a balanced way. This is somewhat of an unusual signature or at least I fail to find a similar combination in any IEM I have auditioned.

    Now, let’s dig a bit deeper into the Fusion’s bass, mids and treble!

    [​IMG]
    Bass
    The Fusion is not a bass-head IEM it’s not a massive bass ala Campfire Solaris or IER-Z1R – subs don’t have the same subwoofer like presence – but the dynamic driver is sure able to push air with nice sub rumble and get you toe tapping.

    Most impressive is how tight the bass is : the bass presentation is clean and absolutely flawless technically with superb control and layering. You might find yourself discovering a lof of details you didn’t know where there. Note attack is frank and energetic, with very good snap and short decay, the Fusion bass is quite fast for a dynamic driver powered bass.

    It’s not as fast as the best balanced armatures but still very good in that respect. The Fusion has no problem keeping up pace with faster tracks or provide a very articulate rendering of bass heavy genres. It’s always a good indication when I spend more time than usual listening to punchier albums and tracks with an IEM and it certainly was the case with the Fusion.

    To me the Fusion has an audiophile bass with a good touch of fun and I found myself pushing the volume a bit more than usual, as it’s a great experience with the Fusion where everything remains absolutely clean of any distorsion. Note that the Fusion is vented and it probably helps there along with the custom 3D printed chamber (acoustic work definitely paid off). I didn’t notice any perceptible leaking from the vent and people right next to me didn’t complain.

    [​IMG]
    The three vent holes for the Fusion bass driver
    The only thing I could be left wanting is a bit more mid bass presence and textures especially on double bass on Jazz tracks, but I am nitpicking here

    Mids
    Mids are interesting because you could think from what I wrote in the overall sound impressions that the signature is V or U shaped with focus on both bass and treble. Well, it’s not because the mids are definitely not recessed. In the line of the overall signature the mids are clear and clean with very good separation. The Fusion certainly features mids that won’t add any warmth unless the source provides coloration, it’s a reference tuning in my opinion.

    Lower mids are clean and balanced, a good call given the bass presence and there is no congestion at all. Vocals and lead instruments are clear and slightly forward in the mix, very articulate with and quite accurate in tone. Upper mids are less present, the mids are as smooth as they can : attack and decay are a little slower than the bass.

    I confess, while the Fusion is a fantastic all rounder when listening to Jazz albums the Fusion lacked a bit of upper mids presence which was apparent on saxophones or trumpets. On the flipside the Fusion features a fatigue free midrange.

    Treble
    Treble was a question mark given that the Fusion features a new driver technology that has never been used in an IEM before. It also was a bit of a concern as I have been so disappointed by the first implementation of eStats in earlier eStat tribrids… So what is a magnetostatic driver and why use them? As stated on ItsFit’s website « Magnetostatic™ drivers use two pairs of permanent magnets located symmetrically and independently from a membrane in between. This ultra-thin 5-layer erromagnetic membrane layer with very high magnetic permeability moves its entire surface without any dead point, minimizing sound loss, transfer delay and distortion ».

    The promise of fast transients and low distorsion is certainly interesting and a potential contender to eStats and balanced armatures, and I was really curious about the Fusion’s treble. How did Kiên handle the world’s first implementation of the magnetostatic in an IEM?

    Well, let’s spare the suspense, it’s really perfectly integrated in the Fusion’s signature. The Fusion features both superb upper treble extension and exciting but non fatiguing lower treble. This is key to the soundstage air and the overall clarity of the Fusion signature as well as the fantastic imaging ability.

    Of note is the very accurate treble tone, and the satisfying weight to treble notes. This is one very differentiating aspect of the Fusion’s treble compared to the eStats I have heard so far. This is not a treble with an ethereal quality, but a physical treble and piano notes have delicious weight when called for. Transients are very fast, but noticeably less than eStats tribrids like Vision Ears Elysium.

    [​IMG]
    ItsFit Lab Fusion with DITA Oslo, my favorite cable pairing
    Verdict
    The Fusion is ItsFit Lab’s flagship and only second IEM after the R3, one can only imagine the big stakes around its launch for the young vietnamese company. Choosing to pick a new driver technology and be first to implementing it was certainly bold and this time the saying is true : “Fortune favors the bold”.

    Except that fortune has no part there : ItsFit Lab build quality, tuning mastery and customer service is up to par with the best in the business and it’s no small feat. Yes, ItsFit Lab is still a small shop and the Fusion’s success means a bit longer build time but this is a ransom of success rather than a shortcoming and any similarly sized company would have faced the same challenges. I was lucky to be among the first to order during the sales and Kiên helped me get my Fusion in time for my birthday which was therefore quite an happy one

    Does the Fusion deliver on its promises? “Extremely wide and deep soundstageCheck, although probably not up to par with open back headphone – that’s probably not possible – but still top tier very open sounding and fantastic imaging. “Super luscious highs, detailed & transparent mids and super tight lows.” Check, the highs are clearly a highlight of the Fusion and participate in the clear, open souding signature. Check, the mids are clean and clear with a very accurate tone. Check, the lows are indeed tight with superb control.

    If you’re looking for a punchy and clear sounding IEM with great soundstage and fantastic imaging, then you’d be hard pressed to find a better candidate than the Fusion especially at its price point. The Fusion delivers great value for money featuring flawless technical foundations, a highly coherent tuning and a superb build. Competitors take note, a strong challenger hits the market and it hits hard!

    This review was originally published at iem.reviews :
    https://iem.reviews/2019/12/08/itsfit-lab-fusion-serious-fun/


    Packaging and accessories
    The Fusion are delivered in a quite rare packaging for a custom IEM : the box is sealed with plastic. The unboxing experience is very nice as well with a hand written thank you note, a metal protective case customize to your name and the usual pouch and cleaning tools. The stock cable is above most offerings with a nice braided build. Note that the Fusion also exist as universal IEMs.

    • 1 x ITSFIT Protective premium Case
    • 1 x Cleaning Tool
    • 1 x 48″ Detachable Premium black Cable
    • 1 x Soft cloth
    • 1 x Soft portable bag
    • 1 x Product Manual
    • 1 x Warranty note
    Specifications
    • Driver configuration:
      1 Magnetostatic driver – high
      2 Balanced Armature drivers: high-mid & mid
      1 Electro-dynamic: low
    • Freq. Response: 4Hz – 40kHz
    • Sensitivity: 98 dB/mW @ 1kHz
    • Impedance: 13.1Ω @ 1kHz
    • Isolation: -26dB
      rantng likes this.
  4. mvvRAZ
    Great IEM, amazing company
    Written by mvvRAZ
    Published Nov 19, 2019
    5.0/5,
    Pros - TOTOTL build quality
    TOTOTL imaging
    Some of the best customer service in the industry - highest standard
    Amazing bass and treble
    Balanced presentation as opposed to most other IEMs at its price point
    Cons - The midrange lacks some texture and detail
    They can sometimes struggle with complexity
    I'm going to keep this review rather brief, because the Fusion has already been covered pretty extensively

    Note: The rating I've given the Fusion has taken its price point into account, while the sound judgements are done with the same scrutiny as any IEM, whether it costs 100 or 10,000$.

    First and foremost, I can't stress enough just how good the service is. ItsFit have absolutely nailed it, and they most certainly know how to build a brand name. Any questions I had were answered in minutes, instant and lightning quick responses at various times of the day and night. Had a long and pleasant conversation with Nguyen, and it was a delight speaking to him about his product. He assisted me plenty with the design choices, as we discussed several options before settling for white shells with a golden paw print of my doggo. Again, absolutely amazing service, could not ask for better or even dream of it

    The packaging has been covered already - you get a little box, with a case and your IEMs inside. Nothing much to be covered here, personally I was pleased with how simple and clean it was.

    I opted for the rush order on mine, costing me 200$, but it really was lightning quick - ItsFit received my impressions on Wednesday, the IEMs were shipped out on Saturday, of the same week. Couldn't believe it myself haha.

    The build quality on these is absolutely perfect. The colours look stunning, they fit very well - mostly a comfortable fit as opposed to a really tight one, with decently deep insertion. What really deserves attention are the sockets - all my cables fit absolutely perfectly in there, not too tight or loose, just snap into place like they were meant for each other. Almost no other IEM I've owned, including from companies like VE or 64Audio (customs), not to speak of Noble and their sockets, is able to match ItsFit. If you have experience with the universal 64 line, it's something like that - pure excellence

    75422263_2806598209566405_1499878038043623424_o.jpg

    74332267_2806603889565837_2565278773561786368_o.jpg

    74705071_2806598039566422_7081184049171005440_o.jpg

    On how they sound - definitely give these some time to burn in, the treble tends to be really spiky and weird until the magnetostatic driver starts functioning properly.

    Once they do however, you're in for a treat. Amazing bass - tight and precise, with excellent subbass quantity (possibly somewhat elevated). The treble is the other aspect that really shines, and the mangetostatic driver really makes the magic happen. It is both forward and somewhat elevated, but with excellent sparkle and quality - not a hint of dryness. I've only heard that driver in Noble's M3 before, but the Fusion benefits from a much, much better implementation.

    The midrange is the supporting frequency region for the bass and the treble - it is definitely not recessed (can't even say it's a U shape, even less a V), but it feels like more of a connection than a self standing, ready to wow you midrange. It lacks texture and some detail, which is the only real weakness of the IEM. I don't think that's a mistake per se, but it's there to really let the treble and the bass get some additional attention. Given my preferences, and extreme midrange pickiness, there's a good chance these observations are somewhat inflated, and in reality it's pretty decent on its own

    The imaging is insane on these - the kind of imaging you'd get on a 3000$ pair of IEMs - pure TOTL material. The soundstage is pretty wide, and very deep. Couldn't really expect any better. The clarity also stands out, as they've been tuned to deliver exceptional clarity. Detail retrieval in the bass and the treble is great, acceptable in the midrange. The Fusion does sometimes struggle with muddier/more complicated tracks, mainly really old rock or jazz recordings, where you have tons of stuff going on at all times. The instrumental separation is normally great, but can get somewhat "overloaded" in such cases.

    In terms of pairings, I find the Fusion to be pretty responsive to cable rolling and source swapping. My current favourite is the ALO Audio Pure Silver (reterminated to 2pin) and the RME ADI 2 DAC. Paired with the SP1000M the treble becomes a tad excessive (even for me). I also tried the Fusion with the Silver + Gold from Plussound, but the pairing was far from ideal - I'd recommend a pure silver cable, as that is where the soundstage width is optimal and the clarity boosted even further

    Please once again note that my criticisms and evaluations have not taken the price level into account in any way or form, but are rather the same evaluation criteria I'd apply to the 64Audio Noir or VE Erlkonig.

    If you're looking for a balanced presentation, with excellent clarity, imaging, bass and treble, I would heavily recommend the Fusion. Its built by some truly wonderful people that have made it an absolute pleasure to purchase from them, and I will most surely be returning in the future - or well, I already have, as they're working on a reshell of my Noble Katana :)
    1. View previous replies...
    2. mvvRAZ
      Already answered in a different thread, but I listened to the M3 once and found it to be an extreme V :) can’t really give you detailed impressions cause I hate Vs and I didn’t listen to it very long
      mvvRAZ, Nov 20, 2019
      holsen likes this.
    3. FastAndClean
      looking good G
      FastAndClean, Nov 21, 2019
      mvvRAZ likes this.
    4. nihalsharma
      How is it compared to Andromeda?
      nihalsharma, Dec 5, 2019
  5. MrLocoLuciano
    Beware of Vietnam nuclear Fusion !
    Written by MrLocoLuciano
    Published Nov 8, 2019
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Spacialization: width, depth and height
    Sub bass impact and clarity
    Mids intensity and air
    Treble smoothness
    Cons - Lacks a bit of definition and resolution
    [​IMG]

    Introduction

    Fusion were purchased directly from Itsfit Lab.

    Itsfit Lab is a Vietnamese company based in Hanoi and whose history is particularly short. Currently sold for $950, Fusion are hybrids composed of one 10 mm dynamic driver for bass, two balanced armatures for mids and high mids, and one 8mm magnetostatic driver for treble. The shell seems solid and the kraftmanship is of a very good level.
    They are available in universal or custom, and feedback is done on a universal model. The stock cable in 3.5mm jack is very well made and already allows you to take full advantage of the quality of these inears.
    https://itsfitlab.com/fusion

    Sound

    Fusion signature is rather neutral with a small bass boost and 3 peaks well audible with a sweep at 2500, 5000 and 8000Hz.
    Here are the Crinacle measurements (uncompensated) to compare with the InEar PP8 (with bass boost).

    [​IMG]

    What strikes you from the beginning with Fusion is spatialization. The stage width is excellent, and well above average, at the PP8 level and therefore superior to what the Trinity SS offers. The depth is not far off, and of the same quality as on the Trinity SS, which is no small thing to say. The height is also of the highest order. The result is a beautiful scene like one encounters little, in the head certainly, but airy, and which allows an exceptional localization of the music.

    The bass is fast on impact, like on Trinity SS, but has a slightly slower decay that results in a softer sound. They go down extremely low with subs of an exemplary texture, and remain very legible despite this. They do not tarnish the rendering of the mids at all because of their very good linearity. The bass of PP8 are less present and softer, without the typical DD impact.

    [​IMG]

    Low-mids (250 to 500Hz) is warm and thick, it provides a foundation for voices and instruments. The Mids (500 to 2000Hz) breathe through the relative "hole" around 1000Hz and the rise to 2000Hz. The High-Mids (2000 to 4000Hz) centered on the 2500Hz peak is soft and allows harmonics to develop well.
    All this gives mids positioned a little forward, with a beautiful musicality, and with mild tone.
    In comparison, the Trinity SS midrange is more recessed at the bottom and more open at the top, which leads to a retreat of the scene and more potential hardness depending on its sensitivity. The PP8 mediums have a restitution that goes in the same direction as that of the Trinity SS, but in a less intensive manner.

    The treble provided by the magnetostatic driver is very extended but you will not find an ounce of hardness or sibilance. They are very natural, very fast and smooth, and are certainly not unrelated to the scale of the scene. The 5 and 8kHz peaks give life and space to the music, and the 6.2kHz dip on the measurements does not seem to be as present when listening to music.
    The PP8 treble is clearly more flamboyant and more linear but do cut earlier. The Trinity SS is a little duller and seems to cut a little earlier too, but seems as fast and more detailed.

    [​IMG]

    Separation and transparency are very good and almost comparable to what can be found in today's market leaders such as the Elysium or Trinity SS, but above what PP8 offers. On the other hand, definition and resolution seems a little behind the same tenors, and even the PP8.

    When playing with the tips, I prefer Whirlwind and Spiral Dots which provide a little more air to the sound and a pleasant lightness compared to Sedna. The fit is also outstanding.
    For cables, compared to the standard cable, the PW1950 provides a little extra on all levels while maintaining the initial homogeneity. The PW1960 2 strands as for him makes the mids move back and offers a more out of head scene that comes in an arc of circle, and a more analytical and technical rendering.

    Final Thoughts

    For its second inear and first hybrid, Itsfit Lab makes a strike by offering a very high quality restitution for less than $1000. Impact, legibility, intensity, air, it's undoubtedly high-end. In my opinion, however, it lacks a bit of definition and resolution to titillate the market leaders, who are nonetheless sold at a much higher price.


    "Resolution is the ability to individualize a voice or instrument"
    "Separation is the ability to feel space between the various sound sources"
    "Definition is the ability to perceive as much information as possible"
    "Transparency is the ability to transcribe the nuances and subtleties of music"


    My topic on Tellement Nomade here : http://www.tellementnomade.org/forum/viewtopic.php?p=671123#p671123
      EagleWings, proedros and mvvRAZ like this.
    1. holsen
      Bought 'em and excited. Thanks for the review
      holsen, Dec 3, 2019
  6. crabdog
    No conFusion here!
    Written by crabdog
    Published Nov 3, 2019
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Instrument separation, soundstage and imaging
    Clarity and coherency
    Build quality
    Engaging bass performance
    Detailed and resolving
    Cons - N/A
    Itsfit Fusion_3.jpg

    *This review was originally published on my blog.

    Itsfit is a relatively new company based in Hanoi, Vietnam that manufacture’s custom in-ear monitors (CIEMs). Despite only recently opening for business, they’re already delivering on a level you’d expect from a well-established brand in terms of product quality and user experience. In today’s review, I’m taking a look at the Itsfit Fusion, a tribrid custom earphone with a magnetostatic driver plus a dynamic, musical and immersive sound.

    Price $950
    Website: https://itsfitlab.com/

    This sample was provided for the purpose of an honest review. All observations and opinions here are my own based on my experience with the product.

    Package and Accessories

    Itsfit Fusion_1.jpg Itsfit Fusion_2.jpg

    The unboxing experience begins with a black box adorned with the Itsfit logo. This outer box was actually sealed in plastic; the first sign that I was dealing with a proper finished product and not just a branded DIY project.

    Inside you’re greeted by a plastic carrying/storage case plus the rest of the accessories. What’s in the box:

    • Itsfit Fusion in-ear monitors
    • Hard carrying case
    • Carrying pouch
    • Cleaning tool
    • Cleaning cloth
    • Detachable 2-pin cable
    • Warranty & documentation
    So far, it’s a fairly standard CIEM package, however, there are some things that stand out, most noticeably the uniform branding and feel of a finished product. For a company that is just starting out, there is a high level of polish here.

    Build Quality and Design

    Itsfit Fusion_23.jpg

    Let’s talk about the internals before we get to the actual design. Internally, the Itsfit Fusion has three types of drivers which were chosen for their optimal performance in specific frequency ranges. A 10mm dynamic driver was naturally chosen for bass reproduction, as they excel at moving air and creating authoritative lows.

    For the core and upper midrange, a dual balanced armature driver was given the task; perfect for fast transients and instrument separation. Lastly, the most exotic of the drivers, the 8mm magnetostatic, which is in charge of the high frequencies.

    mgnst4.png
    Image courtesy of https://itsfitlab.com/
    Itsfit uses 3D-printing technology which allows them to produce the shells with more consistency and with advanced features, such as 3D acoustic chambers.

    In terms of build quality, the Fusion looks and feels fantastic. The shells have a uniform thickness thanks to the 3D-printing process and they feel fairly robust, although, you wouldn’t want to drop them of course. They come with recessed 2-pin sockets for extra durability as well.

    Itsfit Fusion_8.jpg

    Customization
    When it comes to customization, there is visual product designer software on the website that lets you choose from a variety of colours and patterns for the shells and faceplates. You can also upload your own artwork or logo and you can communicate directly with Itsfit staff for even more options.

    My unit came with the “Skeleton Leaves” heritage design complimented by cyan-clear and pink-clear for the left and right sides respectively. I’m delighted with the way they turned out. The skeleton leaves design is exquisite and of course, every leaf is 100% unique courtesy of mother nature.

    Itsfit Fusion_17.jpg

    Comfort and Noise Isolation
    As always, the fit of your custom monitors relies on sending a good set of ear impressions. The website has a useful page with detailed instructions on how to get the best fit. It’s wise to print the instructions and share them with your audiologist.

    In terms of size, my Fusion earpieces are about average among my custom monitors. They’re smaller than the LXear Pluto, slightly larger than my Empire Ears Bravado and are most comparable in size to my Custom Art FIBAE monitors.

    Itsfit Fusion_13.jpg

    The shells are beautifully finished and are very smooth all over. I can wear them comfortably for hours but again, your mileage may vary and is dependant on starting with a good set of impressions or 3D scan.

    Noise isolation is par for the course in regards to modern 3D-printed customs meaning they block out a good 25-26dB of external noise passively so even playing music quietly will shut out just about all ambient noise unless you’re in an extreme environment.

    Cable

    Itsfit Fusion_6.jpg

    The stock cable included with the Fusion was quite a surprise, as I was expecting to find the ubiquitous Plastics1 that comes with many custom in-ears. However, Itsfit includes their own custom cable and it’s a good one too.

    It’s a twisted 4-core SPC (silver-plated copper) wire with glossy black sheathing. It’s thicker than the Plastics1 cables and handles really nicely. There is very minimal microphonics and the cable drapes comfortably without any springiness or kinks.

    At the top are gunmetal-coloured 2-pin connector housings followed by heat-shrink ear guides. A small metal Y-split and plastic chin slider are next and the cable terminates in a straight 3.5mm plug. Each of the components is the same colour and have Itsfit branding on them. This is easily one of the nicer stock cables I’ve seen with a CIEM but I would love to see Itsfit add options for 2.5mm and 4.4mm balanced terminations as well.

    Itsfit Fusion_14.jpg

    Sound
    Portable sources used: Shanling M5s / Sony NW-ZX300 / Soundaware M2Pro.
    Desktop source: Windows PC > Foobar2000 > FiiO K3.

    Alright, let’s get down to the meat of this review: the sound. The Itsfit Fusion’s defining characteristics are its clarity, timbre, tonal balance and staging. Too vague? Stick with me here, I’m getting to it. The overall presentation is one of balance, where the trinity of bass, midrange and treble are all on equal ground. A touch of warmth is added for intimacy and naturalness which combined with the staging and cleanliness makes for one very interesting performance.

    Technically, Fusion can go toe to toe with the best of them and surpasses many of those that are similarly priced. It’s supremely confident in its presentation without being brazen, not like the new kid on the team with something to prove but more like a player at the top of their game.

    Itsfit Fusion_9.jpg

    Bass
    Itsfit have chosen a 10mm dynamic driver for the bass reproduction and it pays off handsomely. The bass is boosted a little north of neutral but governed and balanced with the mids and highs. There’s plenty of force in reserve when required though and the Fusion has sufficient impact to work across any music genres.

    The Fusion’s bass is simply among the best I’ve heard on a CIEM. It seems to dig down forever but it’s not sheer grunt that makes it special; It’s the depth of its extension coupled with its resolution and definition. It also comes from the naturalness in its weight and tone plus the clean leading edge and the relaxed but never loitering speed of its decay.

    Listening to Hans Zimmer’s “Gotham’s Reckoning“, Fusion recreates the dark foreboding tones of the synth bass with a physical rumble and the potent drums of war with all their vast grandeur while sustaining just enough restraint to keep them in check.

    Mids
    The Fusion’s midrange is a mix of clarity, body and naturalness. It has pristine cleanliness but blends it with a musicality rich with detail and nuance. Instruments are neutral in size so they never sound thick or clammy nor are they analytically thin. Stage positioning is also neutral, allowing you to take in the full scene but keeping you close enough to feel immersed in the sound.

    Vocals are rich yet articulated, whether male or female, the Fusion’s midrange is rendered evenly without any area taking precedence in the overall presentation. Perhaps the midrange’s greatest asset though is it’s natural timbre. That cleanliness has an underlying warmth that is ever so inviting but never cloying. Fusion’s mastery of midrange timbre is evident in tracks like Above and Beyond’s “Sun & Moon – Live At The Hollywood Bowl“, where it renders the instruments, vocals and the crowd with vivid naturalness.

    Treble
    So now it’s time to see what the fancy magnetostatic treble driver can deliver; Is it merely marketing buzz or does it really add value to the sound? Well, I’m a believer, let me tell you. Fusion’s treble is crisp and lively with a light halo that adds a touch of softness and body. A brilliant extension gives it abundant airiness while its tastefully even presentation keeps it smooth and fatigue-free.

    There’s sufficient sparkle and shimmer but thankfully no sign of sizzle or sibilance. Given its calm delivery, it’s striking how it can still be so precise, detailed and accurate. There’s no evidence of compression or steeliness either – timbre is another box the Fusion’s treble ticks off with zeal.

    Soundstage
    Fusion’s soundstage is stately in its dimensions and very stable by nature. While that in itself is an achievement, it’s made even more extraordinary by maintaining instrument and vocal note size and density. The result is a stage that is not only large but is holographic with precise imaging and spatial cues. Stellar instrument separation and a black background give the Fusion tangible layers of width, depth and height.

    Comparisons
    M-Fidelity SA-50

    Itsfit Fusion_20.jpg

    The SA-50 has long been one of my personal favourites. With 5 BA drivers per side, it has a balanced signature with great end to end extension and superb detail retrieval. SA-50’s bass is still my top pick for an all BA bass – it sounds so natural and carries itself with imposing authority. That said, it can’t bring the same level of impact as the Fusion’s dynamic driver although it does get very close.

    The midrange of the SA-50 is more in line with its bass and treble as its whole presentation is very linear across the board. Vocals are more upfront on the Fusion and they’re positioned more forward too – the SA-50’s stage position is further back.

    Both iems share a similar treble quality with excellent timbre and airiness. The SA-50’s treble sounds slightly more feathered and the Fusion extends a touch further. When it comes to stage dimensions, the SA-50 is wider but not as deep. Therefore, stereo imaging is stronger on the SA-50 but the Fusion has more clearly defined layers.

    Itsfit’s Fusion is the first custom monitor that has challenged the SA-50 for the top position in my collection. Thankfully it’s different enough to compliment the SA-50, rather than having to compete directly with it.

    LXear Pluto

    Itsfit Fusion_21.jpg

    The LXear Pluto is a 4BA iem and has a bold and upfront presentation with a strong emphasis on bass. Tonally, it’s much warmer than the Fusion due to the underlying bass colouring the sound from top to bottom. How the Pluto performs really depends on the amount of bass in each individual track. In bass-heavy songs or music, it tends to become congested and stuffy while the Fusion is able to maintain its lightness and separation regardless of the recording.

    Both iems have a similarly upfront vocal presentation but the Pluto doesn’t have the same separation or layering ability and as a result, it has a less convincing stage that is surrounded by heavy, rounded bass notes.

    It’s a similar situation in the treble too. Even though Pluto’s lower treble is more forward it’s mainly there to compensate for the powerful bass and the stage still ends up being darker than the Fusion.

    These have starkly opposing approaches and each one would no doubt appeal to different listeners. The Pluto would be ideal for musicians as a stage monitor or people who want a more upfront performance with a wow factor. The Fusion, on the other hand, has more of what is commonly known as an audiophile tuning that concentrates on details and nuances rather than sheer fun factor.

    Empire Ears Bravado

    Itsfit Fusion_22.jpg

    The Empire Ears Bravado is a dual-driver hybrid with one dynamic driver and one balanced armature. Its sound signature is more L-shaped and less mids-forward than the Fusion. Its extra bass presence brings with it more warmth and body. In contrast, the Fusion’s bass is tighter and has better definition but has less overall impact.

    Bravado’s midrange sits further behind the bass and goes for more smoothness over absolute clarity. Furthermore, the treble is more laidback and doesn’t have the extreme extension that the Fusion has.

    A direct result of the relaxed treble and rounder bass is the Bravado’s smaller stage, although it is still excellent for such a warm iem. The Fusion has more pinpoint imaging thanks to its detailed treble and tighter bass plus clearer air between notes gives it stronger instrument separation.

    Itsfit Fusion_4.jpg

    Conclusion
    I have to admit that I was not expecting to be affected in such a manner by the Fusion. While it’s not unheard of for a new brand to enter the market with an excellent product, it is uncommon for one to manifest with such a level of completion. The Itsfit Fusion feels whole in every sense; from the coherency and maturity of its sound to the branding, packaging and build quality.

    The Fusion has a golden ratio of bass, midrange and treble that creates the perfect mystic blend. No single IEM is going to please everybody as personal preferences in tuning and musical tastes vary too much but it’s hard to imagine most people not loving the Fusion. Not only does it excel on a technical level but it has a tuning that is lavishly musical and impassioned. With its fun but tight bass, liquid midrange and spectacular treble, it is simply outstanding.

    Specifications
    • Driver configuration: 1 Magnetostatic driver, 2 Balanced Armature drivers, 1 Electro-dynamic: low
    • Freq. Response: 4Hz – 40kHz
    • Sensitivity: 98 dB/mW @ 1kHz
    • Impedance: 13.1Ω @ 1kHz
    • Isolation: -26dB
    • Price $950
    • Website: https://itsfitlab.com/
      davidmolliere and ariasuki like this.
    1. View previous replies...
    2. crabdog
      They're not hard to drive at all - they sound pretty good even straight from my Android phone. But naturally, they do scale and perform better with a proper source.
      crabdog, Nov 10, 2019
      davidmolliere likes this.
    3. nihalsharma
      How is it compared to Andromeda?
      nihalsharma, Dec 5, 2019
    4. crabdog
      @nihalsharma I'm not familiar enough with Andros sorry (only had a brief listen at CanJam a couple of years ago). Someone else will be able to chime in for sure though.
      crabdog, Dec 5, 2019
  7. fritobugger
    Hits all the right notes plus extra bass
    Written by fritobugger
    Published Oct 23, 2019
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Overall general sound quality is amazing. Excellent bass quality.
    Cons - A bit too boosted in the bass. While the bass quality is great it is just a bit too much quantity for me.
    I got to try the universal version at their shop in Hanoi last week. They remind me of the 64 Audio U12 Adel but with a more organic/natural sounding bass. Like the U12 these have just a bit too much bass for my taste not that it overwhelms the mids, the bass is just a bit too boosted for me. I prefer the 64 Audio U10 profile. That said, they did sound really great. The mids and highs were nice with nothing missing, the highs were nice and crisp. Back to the bass, it was not bloated nor muddy, I was hearing things from Tony Levin's stick and bass in King Crimson's Discipline album that I had never hear before. The team at Itsfit say the bass can be tuned to match my preference which is good to know. At the price of $950 they are really an amazing deal considering they sound as good or better than items costing much more.
      ariasuki and Cat Music like this.