SONY R10- Is cult statis deserved- or not??
Nov 25, 2004 at 6:58 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 228

fbhifi

New Head-Fier
Recently spent an afternoon listening to R10s, CD3000, 650/Cardas. Meridian 508.20 and Singlepower Supra (current model w/ multiple upgrades) and a current model Singlepower Maestro. I had very high expectations for the R10s and was more than willing to be completely carried away by their presentation. I'm a newbie here, but have been a very active participant in the high-end 2 channel speaker based audiophile game for 15 + years. As a result, I think a have a fairly clear understanding of smooth, flat, frequency response and good extension at the frequency extremes. These characteristics are highly sought after in the speaker based world and most audiophiles consider these characteristics ESSENTIAL in trying to correctly duplicate the musical material on the disc you are spinning.

So, I suppose, I've brought these preconceptions to the headphone world- which seems rational and reasonable. In my above audition, I tried to eliminate front-end and amplifier shortcomings from the equation by using some of the finest black boxes available today. So all thats left to evaluate are the cans.

In terms of satisfying the above noted objectives of smooth, flat, frequency response with good extension in the bass and treble- The SENN. 650 / CARDAS combo is the clearly superior set-up. Great tight, reasonably extended bass response, with smooth FLAT frequency response up thru the (again) reasonably extended highs. I feel that FLAT FREQUNCY RESPONSE is CRITICAL to faithfully reproducing the musical event. Peaks and Valleys, Bloats and Leanness all detract from the performance. These characteristics may be entertaining, but I think a knowledgeable listener will grow tired of them, over time.