What is a "topkit", what does it do, where can I buy it and how can I install it?
Oct 17, 2011 at 6:51 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 6

Chezzy79

100+ Head-Fier
Complete beginner here in terms of headphone and amps.  I just purchased an iBasso D6 amp (have not purchased a headphone yet), and I've been constantly hearing this thing called "operational amp" or "topkit".  I honestly have no clue what it does, I was guessing maybe it adjusts the power output or impedance or something but I couldn't find any detailed info.  

Anyways, if somebody could kindly explain that to me that will be awesome.  Also, if you could recommend me a full-size headphone with good portability under $500 that goes great with D6 amp that will be great (I got my eyes on Beyerdynamic T70p and Ultrasone Pro 900)

Thank you!

Oct 17, 2011 at 6:55 PM Post #2 of 6
op amps are circuit components that change the characteristics of an amplifier - essentially swapping out engines (or turbochargers) in a car and getting different performance as a result. 

Some amps are easier to "op amp roll" and mix and match systems to customize the sound... or upgrade from a relatively inexpensive amp down the line. 

Oct 17, 2011 at 6:58 PM Post #3 of 6

Quote:
Complete beginner here in terms of headphone and amps.  I just purchased an iBasso D6 amp (have not purchased a headphone yet), and I've been constantly hearing this thing called "operational amp" or "topkit".  I honestly have no clue what it does, I was guessing maybe it adjusts the power output or impedance or something but I couldn't find any detailed info.  

Anyways, if somebody could kindly explain that to me that will be awesome.

Thank you!

1. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Operational_amplifier

2. PM Head-Fier 'hiflight' : his feedback goes back several years and is uniformly positive.

http://www.head-fi.org/t/128794/hiflight