Tube Amp Help!
Jul 18, 2009 at 7:11 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 10

That dude

500+ Head-Fier
I have a Darkvoice 332 and after warming it up and listening to it for about 3-4 hours, a constant rattling sound like machine gun fire or stove fire starter sparks started coming through my headphones. I've tested them on a couple of phones, removed the tubes and plugged them back in but as the tubes light up, the sound came back. What's wrong? I'm a complete tube amp novice.

Jul 18, 2009 at 7:31 AM Post #2 of 10
Alright... this is weird. I took my iphone away from the amp and the noise went away.

Jul 18, 2009 at 7:36 AM Post #3 of 10
^^^Nothing weird, your iPhone is a RF device which emits radio frequency waves and the transmitted RF energy has entered into your audio amplifier. The two do not mix. This will happen with most audio amps if you place a strong RF source next to it!

This occurs when an audio amp has bad RF sheilding or the RF is picked up via cables which have bad shielding.

darthsmile.gif

Jul 18, 2009 at 12:49 PM Post #5 of 10
My cell phone makes one of my sub woofers go crazy if it's within a few feet. It's pretty much normal for cell phones to have this reaction on audio equipment

Jul 18, 2009 at 1:11 PM Post #6 of 10
Yep - this is the "GSM noise". Note that 3G does not do this. Maybe an upgrade of your cell phone should be next
wink.gif

Jul 18, 2009 at 3:27 PM Post #7 of 10
Quote:

Originally Posted by Skylab /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Yep - this is the "GSM noise". Note that 3G does not do this. Maybe an upgrade of your cell phone should be next
wink.gif

No, this is RFI noise and every cellphone makes it.

A cell phone is not really a phone. It is a small radio transmitter that puts out up to 0.25W of power. No matter the model or type, every cell phone transmits a radio signal to cell towers to communicate.