Spotify Premium - is it good enough?
Oct 15, 2013 at 5:04 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 23

62ohm

Headphoneus Supremus
Is Spotify Premium 'good enough' for mid-fi? It has 320kbps, and I know it is remotely close to the quality of a flac, but I like the convenience of it, the way it makes my life much easier.

And I listen directly from CDs for my favourite artists, but how good are CDs actually is? Sorry for what possibly could be a stupid question, I'm new to this 
k701smile.gif

Oct 15, 2013 at 12:52 PM Post #3 of 23
I wouldn't worry.  I've done blind tests with many self-proclaimed audiophiles who couldn't tell a 160kb/s MP3 from a CD.

Only my classical collection are FLAC, WAV or APE files.  Everything else is MP3 and ranged from 128 constant bit rate, to 320 variable bit rate, and depending on the music, it doesn't really matter.   A great deal of dance, house, techno and D&B is actually fine with a lower bitrate.

Listen to it.  If you can't find fault with it, then be happy :)

Oct 15, 2013 at 1:52 PM Post #4 of 23
Okay then, I just don't want to 'wrong' these cans in a stupid way obliviously.

Cheers guys!

Oct 16, 2013 at 8:08 AM Post #6 of 23
Definitely good enough, paired with a good DAC/Amp combo (Fiio E10 for example) or seperate (Schiit Magni/Modi for example), any song from Spotify premium will put a smile on your face...
wink_face.gif

Dec 7, 2013 at 6:01 AM Post #12 of 23
Dec 7, 2013 at 9:29 AM Post #13 of 23
Just be careful in that you only get HQ streaming when using the desktop or mobile client. The browser based version streams at 160 and I can definitely hear a difference when using the browser plugin vs the client.

Dec 10, 2013 at 11:38 PM Post #14 of 23
I guess when I started this thread I was in a lossless-denial phase due to the convenience of Spotify Premium. But after a while, I have to say that now I must concede to the fact that 'good enough' is never actually 'good enough'.