Sony MDR-7506 - is this a fake? Inconclusive results, please help.
Nov 13, 2012 at 10:53 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 10

I g o r

100+ Head-Fier

Hello everyone! It's my first post and I'm sorry to give you another "is this fake?" thread. But since my results are inconclusive, I need help from you guys.

I'm a musician (bass player) and I love high quality audio, but don't have many equipment. I own a UE Triple.fi for two years and I like it very much. I needed a circumaural headphone and decided for the Sony 7506 since a long time ago I tested one and pleased me very much. The other options I had were only the AKG K240 MKII but I don't like it very much.

Well, lurking around Head-Fi I encountered a lot of threads about Sony 7506 fakes so I opened my eyes before buying and looked for a reputable dealer and ran away from eBay and other people selling 7506's a lot cheaper and swearing they were originals.

I gathered a few information about the other fakes and compared them to mine. A lot of details about original ones match my headphone, but a few others don't. That's why my results are inconclusive.

Let's get to it:

75061.jpg

The band has enough pressure so that the cups touch each other and stay like that; the fakes don't have enough pressure to hold the cups together. The inside of the band doesn't have bumps like the fake ones; maybe slightly a few small ones on the edges, but I've seen that on legitimate V6 pictures on this forum. The stitching is well done and tight, with no flaws.

Looks legit.

75062.jpg

The outer cup central part is made of aluminum, the lettering is perfect and the Professional sticker is well made with "Professional" centered. The transition between the gold and blue parts are right below the A letter in "DYNAMIC". The transition on the fakes is around the M and I letters; the fakes also have Professional written slightly off center.

Looks legit.

750603.jpg