So...who's using Windows 7 right now?
post-5756405
Post #137 of 164

martook

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 21, 2007
Messages
153
Reaction score
11
Joined
Sep 21, 2007
Posts
153
Likes
11
Quote:

Originally Posted by wanderman /img/forum/go_quote.gif
windows 7 is pretty boss. I need to find time to format this computer (running the beta) and upgrade to the rc.


Got the same problem... the beta has been running so damn good that it's not really worth the trouble to re-install. Unfortunately the beta will stop working in a couple of weeks, so I don't have much choice

Been thinking of buying a laptop for ages, but after using Windows 7 there's no way I'll be paying for Vista, I'm not ordering anything until they've released it.
 
     Share This Post       
post-5757064
Post #138 of 164

MusicallySilent

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 11, 2007
Messages
837
Reaction score
0
Joined
May 11, 2007
Posts
837
Likes
0
Quote:

Originally Posted by krmathis /img/forum/go_quote.gif
^ Sorry, I can not help it.



[size=xx-small]ISP partly edited out for privacy reasons[/size]



Adds internet speed to list of reasons to move to Europe :p

I have played with windows 7 in Virtual Box, it is pretty nice, task bar still seems a little strange to me, I never used Vista so I would also have to learn UI but other than that it is pretty nice and Snappy for sharing 2GB of ram with OSX
 
     Share This Post       
post-5757212
Post #139 of 164

Bonthouse

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
1,366
Reaction score
11
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Posts
1,366
Likes
11
Yeesh.. that is going hard on the interhighway..
Only the Scandinavians have those kinds of connections really.. I'm in The Netherlands pimping a 20Mbit down/1Mbit up

The only reason I haven't jumped onboard the Seven ship is because of the COD4 punkbuster issues..
 
     Share This Post       
post-5757516
Post #141 of 164

Mitchell.lax

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 28, 2009
Messages
106
Reaction score
10
Joined
Apr 28, 2009
Posts
106
Likes
10
In australia, we only have a handfull of connections over 250kbps, much less mbps
 
     Share This Post       
post-5757630
Post #142 of 164
Joined
Nov 4, 2003
Messages
601
Reaction score
29
Joined
Nov 4, 2003
Posts
601
Likes
29
Moved my main system to Windows 7 RC. It's a lot more responsive, faster, overall better than Vista and XP. Good OS.
 
     Share This Post       
post-5758383
Post #143 of 164

Kpalsm

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 9, 2007
Messages
1,011
Reaction score
10
Joined
Sep 9, 2007
Posts
1,011
Likes
10
Been using Beta 7000 since it first came out and I like it a lot; had issues installing my X-Fi USB sound card at first but I came across some hacked drivers which got me by until Creative released their own (which really didn't improve upon the hacked ones; they were very good hacks!). Guess I'll have to format in a couple weeks and install the RC...*sigh*. Also, that speed is redonculous!

Quote:

Originally Posted by krmathis /img/forum/go_quote.gif



Here's mine:



I regularly download upwards of 2 mb/s...good enough for me (and that's on wireless, with four other non-wireless people to compete with)
 
     Share This Post       
post-5758395
Post #144 of 164

saintalfonzo

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 24, 2008
Messages
578
Reaction score
11
Joined
Feb 24, 2008
Posts
578
Likes
11
Bless all of you lab rats. I'm a wuss and stick to what's stable. Didn't Vista just get there in the last year or two??
 
     Share This Post       
post-5758507
Post #145 of 164

terrymx

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 24, 2003
Messages
4,759
Reaction score
12
Joined
Apr 24, 2003
Posts
4,759
Likes
12
If you are in Europe, make sure you have a flashdrive with a webbrowser installer in it if you plan to buy Windows 7.
 
     Share This Post       
post-5758754
Post #146 of 164

Zodduska

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 3, 2007
Messages
1,368
Reaction score
14
Joined
Mar 3, 2007
Posts
1,368
Likes
14
Quote:

Originally Posted by saintalfonzo /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Bless all of you lab rats. I'm a wuss and stick to what's stable. Didn't Vista just get there in the last year or two??


7 is stable.
 
     Share This Post       
post-5759938
Post #147 of 164

Kpalsm

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 9, 2007
Messages
1,011
Reaction score
10
Joined
Sep 9, 2007
Posts
1,011
Likes
10
Quote:

Originally Posted by Zodduska /img/forum/go_quote.gif
7 is stable.



I haven't had a single blue screen in 7, or even a freeze. Then again I can't recall ever having a blue screen in Vista either. XP on the other hand...
 
     Share This Post       
post-5795539
Post #148 of 164

Zodduska

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 3, 2007
Messages
1,368
Reaction score
14
Joined
Mar 3, 2007
Posts
1,368
Likes
14
limited pre-orders for windows 7 upgrade have started and go on until July 11th, not a bad deal at 50% of retail price which brings home premium to $49 and pro to $99 respectively. Both 32 and 64bit versions are included on these discs.

Amazon.com
BestBuy.com

Engadget article
 
     Share This Post       
post-5798771
Post #149 of 164

zotjen

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 28, 2002
Messages
2,099
Reaction score
20
Joined
May 28, 2002
Posts
2,099
Likes
20
While I was planning on upgrading from Vista, I was going to wait at least a month or so just in case there are some issues that need to be worked out. With the pre-order price though, I'll probably order it now and just hold onto it for a few weeks before I do the install. I'm wondering if we'll see any discounted offers even below the pre-order price.
 
     Share This Post       
post-5798793
Post #150 of 164

tstarn06

Banned
Joined
May 9, 2006
Messages
7,929
Reaction score
10
Joined
May 9, 2006
Posts
7,929
Likes
10
I just took the plunge. Does anyone know if I can install on two machines (we have two Vista and two XP machines in the house)? I'm going to leave the two XP machines (both Netbooks) alone.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top