Shanling M6 Player - Android OS, Snapdragon 430CPU 4GB RAM, 2.5 and 4.4 balanced, Dual AK4495SEQ, 4.7inch screen, FW V3.1
post-15582321
Post #811 of 904

Julio C

Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 16, 2015
Messages
53
Reaction score
18
Joined
Jul 16, 2015
Posts
53
Likes
18
Can anyone advise best method to transfer songs to sd card? I would like to avoid getting the card in and out of the PC. I have ditch some cards in the past doing this even with the "eject" option... I was never sure what when wrong.

My idea is the connect M6 to PC and transfer files (even if it is a bit slower), but I can not browse the M6 and get to the SD storage, with Fiio M9 I was able to, do I need an special driver?

thanks...
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-15582328
Post #812 of 904

Nayparm

Member of the Trade: NP Audio
Joined
Oct 13, 2017
Messages
1,810
Reaction score
2,239
Location
UK
Joined
Oct 13, 2017
Location
UK
Posts
1,810
Likes
2,239
Can anyone advise best method to transfer songs to sd card? I would like to avoid getting the card in and out of the PC. I have ditch some cards in the past doing this even with the "eject" option... I was never sure what when wrong.

My idea is the connect M6 to PC and transfer files (even if it is a bit slower), but I can not browse the M6 and get to the SD storage....

thanks...
You need to drag down from the top on your m6 and change the usb mode (which is probably saying charge only) and change to file transfer or mtp (words to that effect)
 
     Share This Post       
post-15582564
Post #813 of 904

Shanling

Sponsor: Shanling
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Messages
2,363
Reaction score
2,326
Location
Shenzhen, China
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Location
Shenzhen, China
Posts
2,363
Likes
2,326
Hi Shanling,

Been searching for some answers for Tidal and MQA on M6 but couldn’t really find them. Hope you can advise.

1. Does the M6 support MQA? If yes, until what level and through Shanling music app or some other

2. Can it do Tidal offline?

I’m considering M6 or the FiiO M11 pro. I like your output amp stage implementation (dual DACs for single ended and additional AD8397) but the seems like the FiiO is able to support MQA.

Thanks.
1. MQA is not supported on M6.

2. Yes, it can run Tidal offline.

Can anyone advise best method to transfer songs to sd card? I would like to avoid getting the card in and out of the PC. I have ditch some cards in the past doing this even with the "eject" option... I was never sure what when wrong.

My idea is the connect M6 to PC and transfer files (even if it is a bit slower), but I can not browse the M6 and get to the SD storage, with Fiio M9 I was able to, do I need an special driver?

thanks...
When you connect M6 to computer, new item will show up in notifications "USB Charging this player / Tap for more options". Tap on it and switch to "Transfer files", then your M6 will show up on your PC.
 
Shanling Have any question about our players? Just PM me or send me email. Stay updated on Shanling at their sponsor page on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/Shanling-Audio-603230783166845/ https://twitter.com/ShanlingAudio https://www.instagram.com/shanlingaudio/ http://en.shanling.com/ frankie@shanling.com
     Share This Post       
post-15582666
Post #814 of 904

rocketsfan

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 8, 2019
Messages
21
Reaction score
5
Location
lima
Joined
Jan 8, 2019
Location
lima
Posts
21
Likes
5
Hi Shanling,

Been searching for some answers for Tidal and MQA on M6 but couldn’t really find them. Hope you can advise.

1. Does the M6 support MQA? If yes, until what level and through Shanling music app or some other

2. Can it do Tidal offline?

I’m considering M6 or the FiiO M11 pro. I like your output amp stage implementation (dual DACs for single ended and additional AD8397) but the seems like the FiiO is able to support MQA.

Thanks.
1. No MQA support , but you can install UAPP and MQA plugin and get 1st unfolding( 24 bits and 96khz) not full MQA decoding
2. Yes you cay play tidal offline.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15584080
Post #816 of 904

Julio C

Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 16, 2015
Messages
53
Reaction score
18
Joined
Jul 16, 2015
Posts
53
Likes
18
thank you, managed to connect. I also found the wifi transder useful. I decided to ditch Neutron and Hiby players... both yield worse SQ compared to the stock player. Hiby with MSBE options can really mess up audio... way to much DSP. I`m going to stick with shanling app for the time being, I may be making FLAC copies of my ISO while the app supports DST... not sure, time consuming....

one other question, when playing DSD files (either on hiby or shanling app) there is a freq. shown in the notification area: 352Khz, as if I were playing PCM (Flac), even if I use DSD native option, what this means ?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15584377
Post #817 of 904

Shanling

Sponsor: Shanling
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Messages
2,363
Reaction score
2,326
Location
Shenzhen, China
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Location
Shenzhen, China
Posts
2,363
Likes
2,326
thank you, managed to connect. I also found the wifi transder useful. I decided to ditch Neutron and Hiby players... both yield worse SQ compared to the stock player. Hiby with MSBE options can really mess up audio... way to much DSP. I`m going to stick with shanling app for the time being, I may be making FLAC copies of my ISO while the app supports DST... not sure, time consuming....

one other question, when playing DSD files (either on hiby or shanling app) there is a freq. shown in the notification area: 352Khz, as if I were playing PCM (Flac), even if I use DSD native option, what this means ?
It means you have output of DSD set to PCM. Go to settings in Shanling Music app and set "DSD Playback" to Native.
 
Shanling Have any question about our players? Just PM me or send me email. Stay updated on Shanling at their sponsor page on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/Shanling-Audio-603230783166845/ https://twitter.com/ShanlingAudio https://www.instagram.com/shanlingaudio/ http://en.shanling.com/ frankie@shanling.com
     Share This Post       
post-15586803
Post #818 of 904

Shanling

Sponsor: Shanling
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Messages
2,363
Reaction score
2,326
Location
Shenzhen, China
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Location
Shenzhen, China
Posts
2,363
Likes
2,326
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Nayparm
post-15586988
Post #819 of 904

laicphk

New Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 17, 2020
Messages
16
Reaction score
2
Location
HK
Joined
Feb 17, 2020
Location
HK
Posts
16
Likes
2
how to enable M6 as usb dac for Windows? Plugged the M6 to PC using USB cable, there only 4 options from the pull down menu: charge this device/Transfer Files/ Transfer Files (PTP)/ Use device as MIDI, even I chose to use M6 as midi, I can't choose the audio output options in windows as using M6, any settings need to enable beforehand ?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15587936
Post #820 of 904

Julio C

Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 16, 2015
Messages
53
Reaction score
18
Joined
Jul 16, 2015
Posts
53
Likes
18
you need to go to settings (not sure android or shanling app settings) and look for USB mode, you will find the DAC option.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15588059
Post #821 of 904

Julio C

Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 16, 2015
Messages
53
Reaction score
18
Joined
Jul 16, 2015
Posts
53
Likes
18
Nice improvements shanling. the screen off option I`m asuming is meant to reduce stress/use on the volume/ON buttom. Like wise would be nice to incorporate a POWER OFF access and reduce the use of the volume wheel. I was thinking of this and found some apps in goggle play, but unfortunatly these need a rooted device.

the improved playing with 3rd party apps will now make me reconsider Hiby music app, after exensive listeing I prefered the shanling app, but the Hiby music app plays SACD DST.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-15588326
Post #822 of 904

Lu88

New Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 3, 2020
Messages
11
Reaction score
10
Location
Japan
Joined
Apr 3, 2020
Location
Japan
Posts
11
Likes
10
     Share This Post       
post-15590261
Post #823 of 904

cdmackgreen

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 14, 2007
Messages
24
Reaction score
8
Joined
Dec 14, 2007
Posts
24
Likes
8
Thank you for the update.
One thing with the Shanling app apart from still no gapless is that my cue sheets are being read in alphabetical order rather than track number.
Just me?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15594890
Post #825 of 904

Lu88

New Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 3, 2020
Messages
11
Reaction score
10
Location
Japan
Joined
Apr 3, 2020
Location
Japan
Posts
11
Likes
10
I've upgraded my M6 from V3.0 to V3.1, and I have a problem. Every time I reboot M6, volume is reset to "0".
Default volume setting seems to be ignored. I tried factory reset, but It didn't fix the problem.

Could you fix it?
I did factory reset again, and the problem seems to be gone.
Now default volume setting works as expected.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: hmscott

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 2)

Top