Shanling M6 Player - Android OS, Snapdragon 430CPU 4GB RAM, 2.5 and 4.4 balanced, Dual AK4495SEQ, 4.7inch screen, FW V3.1
post-15545889
Post #766 of 855

defbear

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 13, 2015
Messages
793
Reaction score
239
Joined
Apr 13, 2015
Posts
793
Likes
239
I have a M0 and a M5s. Occasionally I will use one or the other as transport for my Holo Audio Spring DAC. When I attach either, i get the message on the DAP screen ‘Audio Connected’. I can then play songs, playlists etc. When I plug in the M6, nothing. No message on DAC or DAP. As if I did nothing. My M6 has the latest firmware done via OTA. I thought the process would be the same. I see nothing in settings. UAPP does not react as well. To be clear, unplug the working M5s and plug in the M6, same cable, no changes, the M6 won’t play. I’m using a Ugreen USB-C OTG cable. Help!
 
     Share This Post       
post-15545911
Post #767 of 855

Shanling

Sponsor: Shanling
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Messages
2,310
Reaction score
2,272
Location
Shenzhen, China
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Location
Shenzhen, China
Posts
2,310
Likes
2,272
I have a M0 and a M5s. Occasionally I will use one or the other as transport for my Holo Audio Spring DAC. When I attach either, i get the message on the DAP screen ‘Audio Connected’. I can then play songs, playlists etc. When I plug in the M6, nothing. No message on DAC or DAP. As if I did nothing. My M6 has the latest firmware done via OTA. I thought the process would be the same. I see nothing in settings. UAPP does not react as well. To be clear, unplug the working M5s and plug in the M6, same cable, no changes, the M6 won’t play. I’m using a Ugreen USB-C OTG cable. Help!
M6 doesn't show such message when you connect USB DAC. Only way how to see if USB output is active, when you play music, sample rate is no longer displayed next to battery indicator.

Be sure to set volume to 100 when using USB output.
 
Shanling Have any question about our players? Just PM me or send me email. Stay updated on Shanling at their sponsor page on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/Shanling-Audio-603230783166845/ https://twitter.com/ShanlingAudio https://www.instagram.com/shanlingaudio/ http://en.shanling.com/ frankie@shanling.com
     Share This Post       
post-15546044
Post #768 of 855

defbear

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 13, 2015
Messages
793
Reaction score
239
Joined
Apr 13, 2015
Posts
793
Likes
239
When my DAC handshakes with DAP usually it displays a speed 96K. With the M6 the DAC display remains at ——, meaning no connection. I will try again, turning the volume all the way.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15548794
Post #769 of 855

davidcotton

X-CANs and HDAMs
Joined
Jun 23, 2001
Messages
7,031
Reaction score
1,687
Joined
Jun 23, 2001
Posts
7,031
Likes
1,687
£50 off in hifiheadphones easter sale.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Hnd1710
post-15554929
Post #770 of 855

Julio C

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 16, 2015
Messages
48
Reaction score
17
Joined
Jul 16, 2015
Posts
48
Likes
17
hi all. I finally purchased this M6, comming in few days, few questions may be I can get some light. thanks.

- Is there a burn in time to achieve best sound quality? can I leave it playing for days without load/headphones?
- what is the filter that would produce a warm texture? i.e my ideal DAC would be Hugo Chord.
- does the latest firmware supports/play DSD DST?
- If I install Neutron, will I need to pay again when the Android gets upgraded to 64?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15554953
Post #771 of 855

Julio C

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 16, 2015
Messages
48
Reaction score
17
Joined
Jul 16, 2015
Posts
48
Likes
17
I see you ar bypassing the DAC on the M6 to use the Mojo, any particular reason? sound quality maybe? all I have heard is that M6 is way better, even has a balanced arch, Mojo is single ended, in the Chord family the Hugo would be understandble, just curious.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15554970
Post #772 of 855

PopZeus

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 30, 2015
Messages
1,361
Reaction score
689
Joined
Jul 30, 2015
Posts
1,361
Likes
689
- what is the filter that would produce a warm texture? i.e my ideal DAC would be Hugo Chord.
I think super slow roll-off filter reproduces the smoothest treble response so that helps it read as warm to me. Others might find AKM's suggestions are more suited to their listening preferences.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15555759
Post #773 of 855

Shanling

Sponsor: Shanling
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Messages
2,310
Reaction score
2,272
Location
Shenzhen, China
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Location
Shenzhen, China
Posts
2,310
Likes
2,272
hi all. I finally purchased this M6, comming in few days, few questions may be I can get some light. thanks.

- Is there a burn in time to achieve best sound quality? can I leave it playing for days without load/headphones?
- what is the filter that would produce a warm texture? i.e my ideal DAC would be Hugo Chord.
- does the latest firmware supports/play DSD DST?
- If I install Neutron, will I need to pay again when the Android gets upgraded to 64?
- M6 runs some "burn-in" in our factory. Of course you can add additional hours on it if you wish. Run it with some load/headphones.
- Would recommend to try some of the slow roll-off filters.
- DSD DST is not supported by Shanling app, but it can be played with third-party apps.
 
Shanling Have any question about our players? Just PM me or send me email. Stay updated on Shanling at their sponsor page on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/Shanling-Audio-603230783166845/ https://twitter.com/ShanlingAudio https://www.instagram.com/shanlingaudio/ http://en.shanling.com/ frankie@shanling.com
     Share This Post       
post-15556025
Post #774 of 855

defbear

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 13, 2015
Messages
793
Reaction score
239
Joined
Apr 13, 2015
Posts
793
Likes
239
When my DAC handshakes with DAP usually it displays a speed 96K. With the M6 the DAC display remains at ——, meaning no connection. I will try again, turning the volume all the way.
So I first tested with my Mojo. It connected fine and asked me if I wanted to use Neutron, UAPP or Downloads. I chose Neutron. Worked fine. A bit useless though as the M6 sounds better on it’s own than through the Mojo. Next I had success connecting the M6 to the Holo Audio Spring DAC. Unfortunately I had to bypass my Intona - Singxer Su-1 - I2s port combo and go direct to the USB port on the Spring DAC. Now the M5s has no trouble being plugged into the Intona et al. When the M6 and the Spring DAC connect, again I am asked if I want to run Neutron or UAPP. Nothing else. I chose UAPP, working fine. Exited and then ran the Shanling app. A-okay.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15556136
Post #775 of 855

Shanling

Sponsor: Shanling
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Messages
2,310
Reaction score
2,272
Location
Shenzhen, China
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Location
Shenzhen, China
Posts
2,310
Likes
2,272
So I first tested with my Mojo. It connected fine and asked me if I wanted to use Neutron, UAPP or Downloads. I chose Neutron. Worked fine. A bit useless though as the M6 sounds better on it’s own than through the Mojo. Next I had success connecting the M6 to the Holo Audio Spring DAC. Unfortunately I had to bypass my Intona - Singxer Su-1 - I2s port combo and go direct to the USB port on the Spring DAC. Now the M5s has no trouble being plugged into the Intona et al. When the M6 and the Spring DAC connect, again I am asked if I want to run Neutron or UAPP. Nothing else. I chose UAPP, working fine. Exited and then ran the Shanling app. A-okay.
Can you get me some product link to this Intona? Will forward to software team.
 
Shanling Have any question about our players? Just PM me or send me email. Stay updated on Shanling at their sponsor page on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/Shanling-Audio-603230783166845/ https://twitter.com/ShanlingAudio https://www.instagram.com/shanlingaudio/ http://en.shanling.com/ frankie@shanling.com
     Share This Post       
post-15556337
Post #776 of 855

Samson78

New Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 12, 2020
Messages
6
Reaction score
2
Location
USA
Joined
Mar 12, 2020
Location
USA
Posts
6
Likes
2
Hello,
Does this support android auto? When I plug it into my truck via usb, my M6 shuts off and reboots. I have the android auto app on the M6.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15556366
Post #777 of 855

onraid

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 23, 2015
Messages
28
Reaction score
15
Joined
Jun 23, 2015
Posts
28
Likes
15
Hi there.
I installed Google Play Market on my Shanling Chinese version, with FW v3. 0,
If you need help with GP ask me in PM
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-15557311
Post #778 of 855

Shanling

Sponsor: Shanling
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Messages
2,310
Reaction score
2,272
Location
Shenzhen, China
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Location
Shenzhen, China
Posts
2,310
Likes
2,272
Hello,
Does this support android auto? When I plug it into my truck via usb, my M6 shuts off and reboots. I have the android auto app on the M6.
That is something we never tested. But immediately shutting down when USB cable is connected seems strange, does it do the same when connected to computer for example?
 
Shanling Have any question about our players? Just PM me or send me email. Stay updated on Shanling at their sponsor page on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/Shanling-Audio-603230783166845/ https://twitter.com/ShanlingAudio https://www.instagram.com/shanlingaudio/ http://en.shanling.com/ frankie@shanling.com
     Share This Post       
post-15557391
Post #779 of 855

Samson78

New Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 12, 2020
Messages
6
Reaction score
2
Location
USA
Joined
Mar 12, 2020
Location
USA
Posts
6
Likes
2
That is something we never tested. But immediately shutting down when USB cable is connected seems strange, does it do the same when connected to computer for example?
Plugging into computer is fine. No issues at all. Only if I try to plug into the truck.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 2)

Top