Shanling M6 Player - Android OS, Snapdragon 430CPU 4GB RAM, 2.5 and 4.4 balanced, Dual AK4495SEQ, 4.7inch screen, FW V3.1
post-15534847
Post #751 of 855

defbear

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 13, 2015
Messages
793
Reaction score
239
Joined
Apr 13, 2015
Posts
793
Likes
239
I noticed a new color for the current Shanling M6 case. I know black is basic but I think it's awesome! Thanks @Shanling!
I ordered the black M6 case from Amazon. Sold and shipped by MusicTeck. I ordered it on Friday March 27th, and received it today, Monday March 30th. Amazon had estimated it would arrive between April 3 and April 13. Way to go MusicTeck! Very nice case. Slipped on firmly. Fits like paint.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Shanling
post-15539626
Post #753 of 855

Shanling

Sponsor: Shanling
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Messages
2,306
Reaction score
2,268
Location
Shenzhen, China
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Location
Shenzhen, China
Posts
2,306
Likes
2,268
Hi,

M6 have OTG option?
Hi,

if you mean if M6 can play files from connected memory(flash driver for example), that was added in Firmware V3.0.

If you mean if M6 can output digital over USB to external DAC, that was added in firmware V2.8.
 
Shanling Have any question about our players? Just PM me or send me email. Stay updated on Shanling at their sponsor page on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/Shanling-Audio-603230783166845/ https://twitter.com/ShanlingAudio https://www.instagram.com/shanlingaudio/ http://en.shanling.com/ frankie@shanling.com
     Share This Post       
post-15539644
Post #754 of 855

Bartosz

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 6, 2015
Messages
28
Reaction score
0
Joined
Dec 6, 2015
Posts
28
Likes
0
Hi,

if you mean if M6 can play files from connected memory(flash driver for example), that was added in Firmware V3.0.

If you mean if M6 can output digital over USB to external DAC, that was added in firmware V2.8.
He can read any of flash drive 256/512gb usb C / 3.0 3.1?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15539671
Post #755 of 855

Shanling

Sponsor: Shanling
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Messages
2,306
Reaction score
2,268
Location
Shenzhen, China
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Location
Shenzhen, China
Posts
2,306
Likes
2,268
He can read any of flash drive 256/512gb usb C / 3.0 3.1?
Didn't test 512GB flash drive exactly, but works fine with all the standard 64/128gb drives we have here.
 
Shanling Have any question about our players? Just PM me or send me email. Stay updated on Shanling at their sponsor page on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/Shanling-Audio-603230783166845/ https://twitter.com/ShanlingAudio https://www.instagram.com/shanlingaudio/ http://en.shanling.com/ frankie@shanling.com
     Share This Post       
post-15540269
Post #756 of 855

laicphk

New Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 17, 2020
Messages
16
Reaction score
2
Location
HK
Joined
Feb 17, 2020
Location
HK
Posts
16
Likes
2
Hi,

if you mean if M6 can play files from connected memory(flash driver for example), that was added in Firmware V3.0.

If you mean if M6 can output digital over USB to external DAC, that was added in firmware V2.8.
may I ask how to set M6 output digital over usb to external Dac? tried to connect it with Chord MOJO but no luck, not sure if i set up wrong or the usb cable is not working properly.

Also, does anyone use Tidal and Spotify at the same time? If i open both apps and play songs in either one of them, the audio become very laggy, like stop every second, resume for 1 second and lag/pause again, have to kill either one to ensure the only one app left to guarantee the play normally. both are paid accounts, tried both streaming and downloaded music, both lag
 
     Share This Post       
post-15540279
Post #757 of 855

originalsnuffy

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 7, 2008
Messages
2,307
Reaction score
795
Location
Upper Tundra, USA
Joined
Nov 7, 2008
Location
Upper Tundra, USA
Posts
2,307
Likes
795
Shanling, as I understand it, the base player software on the unit still needs help in terms of gapless performance. Is there any kind of timing to address that?

While I am asking questions, is SACD ISO supported with the native app? Also, I had thought there was a plan to move to a later version of 64 bit Android. Is there still a plan for that? I know that everything slowed down due to Covid-19 (quite understandable) but I have been holding off on the unit for those updates. I have been a big Shanling fan over the last few years but tend to be a bit slow to buy android units until the software is fully up to speed. Cayin taught me that lesson unfortunately.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: davidcotton
post-15541990
Post #758 of 855

rocketsfan

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 8, 2019
Messages
17
Reaction score
3
Location
lima
Joined
Jan 8, 2019
Location
lima
Posts
17
Likes
3
may I ask how to set M6 output digital over usb to external Dac? tried to connect it with Chord MOJO but no luck, not sure if i set up wrong or the usb cable is not working properly.

Also, does anyone use Tidal and Spotify at the same time? If i open both apps and play songs in either one of them, the audio become very laggy, like stop every second, resume for 1 second and lag/pause again, have to kill either one to ensure the only one app left to guarantee the play normally. both are paid accounts, tried both streaming and downloaded music, both lag
Hi, i try chord mojo , m6 + UAPP with 2 different cables and its fine with me. On 3.0 firmware. I try with Ztella dac too, but didnt get MQA properly decoding (get an error). I can listen but i dont know if its decoding full MQA (i use UAPP + mqa plug-in). with my phone and ztella i try same song and get 192khz dac output....so i dont know if it's m6 or UAPP fault... Maybe someone of @Shanling help us with M6- MQA certification on future
20200404_123831.jpg
20200404_124242_HDR.jpg
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-15541994
Post #759 of 855

laicphk

New Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 17, 2020
Messages
16
Reaction score
2
Location
HK
Joined
Feb 17, 2020
Location
HK
Posts
16
Likes
2
Hi, i try chord mojo , m6 + UAPP with 2 different cables and its fine with me. On 3.0 firmware. I try with Ztella dac too, but didnt get MQA properly decoding (get an error). I can listen but i dont know if its decoding full MQA (i use UAPP + mqa plug-in). with my phone and ztella i try same song and get 192khz dac output....so i dont know if it's m6 or UAPP fault... Maybe someone of Shanling help us with MQA certification of M6 on future
20200404_123831.jpg20200404_124242_HDR.jpg
hey, thanks for the test! nice to see m6 and mojo is working well, then i think it probably is the cable problem... have you tried with spotify/tidal on M6 as well?
the M6 has no MQA support right now and i sure hope it's in the future plan of M6, hope shanling wont ditch M6 after the launch of M6pro..
 
     Share This Post       
post-15543139
Post #760 of 855

Lu88

New Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 3, 2020
Messages
8
Reaction score
5
Location
Japan
Joined
Apr 3, 2020
Location
Japan
Posts
8
Likes
5
@Shanling

I tried to connect iPad Pro 12.9(2018) and Shanling M6(USB-DAC mode) with FiiO LT-TC1 OTG cable, and it worked!

But...
I noticed M6 was recognized as "M5s" by iPad Pro. I hope you to correct this in future firmware update.

I also noticed M6 was always charged by iPad Pro. I saw "Please try to avoid using this device when it is charging." on your Quick Start Guide.
Should I stop using M6 as USB-DAC with iPad Pro? If possible, could you add the setting to turn off charging on M6 when it works as USB-DAC?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15543431
Post #761 of 855

rocketsfan

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 8, 2019
Messages
17
Reaction score
3
Location
lima
Joined
Jan 8, 2019
Location
lima
Posts
17
Likes
3
hey, thanks for the test! nice to see m6 and mojo is working well, then i think it probably is the cable problem... have you tried with spotify/tidal on M6 as well?
the M6 has no MQA support right now and i sure hope it's in the future plan of M6, hope shanling wont ditch M6 after the launch of M6pro..
I tried!! And like you said: when both are open and you change from tidal to spotify its fine. But when i try Tidal again, it became very very laggy, stops every second or so....maybe someone on @Shanling can help with this...
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: laicphk
post-15544135
Post #762 of 855

laicphk

New Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 17, 2020
Messages
16
Reaction score
2
Location
HK
Joined
Feb 17, 2020
Location
HK
Posts
16
Likes
2
I tried!! And like you said: when both are open and you change from tidal to spotify its fine. But when i try Tidal again, it became very very laggy, stops every second or so....maybe someone on @Shanling can help with this...
this is quite frustrating as it makes me have to kill the app before open another @Shanling hope you guys can address it asap~
 
     Share This Post       
post-15545262
Post #763 of 855

Bartosz

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 6, 2015
Messages
28
Reaction score
0
Joined
Dec 6, 2015
Posts
28
Likes
0
Have any of you had the opportunity to compare m6 with Ibasso DX160/220 or FiiO m11?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15545318
Post #764 of 855

originalsnuffy

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 7, 2008
Messages
2,307
Reaction score
795
Location
Upper Tundra, USA
Joined
Nov 7, 2008
Location
Upper Tundra, USA
Posts
2,307
Likes
795
hey, thanks for the test! nice to see m6 and mojo is working well, then i think it probably is the cable problem... have you tried with spotify/tidal on M6 as well?
the M6 has no MQA support right now and i sure hope it's in the future plan of M6, hope shanling wont ditch M6 after the launch of M6pro..
My guess is that Shanling is designing its Android devices to have a common software architecture. So if a key feature is added to one unit typically it will show up on other units. I gather you are Tidal user with the MQA comment. Just sharing that MQA is actually a lossy hi res codec. But if you use Tidal I would want that feature also.

Is there such a thing as a M6Pro or is that a hypothetical construct to judge how long software support will go on for?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15545704
Post #765 of 855

Shanling

Sponsor: Shanling
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Messages
2,306
Reaction score
2,268
Location
Shenzhen, China
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Location
Shenzhen, China
Posts
2,306
Likes
2,268
may I ask how to set M6 output digital over usb to external Dac? tried to connect it with Chord MOJO but no luck, not sure if i set up wrong or the usb cable is not working properly.

Also, does anyone use Tidal and Spotify at the same time? If i open both apps and play songs in either one of them, the audio become very laggy, like stop every second, resume for 1 second and lag/pause again, have to kill either one to ensure the only one app left to guarantee the play normally. both are paid accounts, tried both streaming and downloaded music, both lag
To use M6 with external DAC, there is no connected setting in system. M6 will recognize this connection automatically and switch to digital USB output.

Will look into this issue with Spotify/Tidal.

Shanling, as I understand it, the base player software on the unit still needs help in terms of gapless performance. Is there any kind of timing to address that?

While I am asking questions, is SACD ISO supported with the native app? Also, I had thought there was a plan to move to a later version of 64 bit Android. Is there still a plan for that? I know that everything slowed down due to Covid-19 (quite understandable) but I have been holding off on the unit for those updates. I have been a big Shanling fan over the last few years but tend to be a bit slow to buy android units until the software is fully up to speed. Cayin taught me that lesson unfortunately.
Not sure when will gapless be fixed on Shanling Music app. I keep repeating it to our software team with every notes on firmware.

SACD ISO is not supported by Shanling Music App at current time.

Update to Android 9 and 64bit is still in works, for both M6 and M6 Pro.

@Shanling

I tried to connect iPad Pro 12.9(2018) and Shanling M6(USB-DAC mode) with FiiO LT-TC1 OTG cable, and it worked!

But...
I noticed M6 was recognized as "M5s" by iPad Pro. I hope you to correct this in future firmware update.

I also noticed M6 was always charged by iPad Pro. I saw "Please try to avoid using this device when it is charging." on your Quick Start Guide.
Should I stop using M6 as USB-DAC with iPad Pro? If possible, could you add the setting to turn off charging on M6 when it works as USB-DAC?
Thanks for report on that "M5s" problem on iPad, will look into that.

It's perfectly safe to use the M6 with your iPad. That line about charging is standard line you can find in many manuals for devices with rechargeable batteries.


My guess is that Shanling is designing its Android devices to have a common software architecture. So if a key feature is added to one unit typically it will show up on other units. I gather you are Tidal user with the MQA comment. Just sharing that MQA is actually a lossy hi res codec. But if you use Tidal I would want that feature also.

Is there such a thing as a M6Pro or is that a hypothetical construct to judge how long software support will go on for?
M6 Pro is new version of M6, sold alongside M6, with some significant changes to analog circuit, otherwise same players.
https://www.head-fi.org/threads/int...-of-our-android-portable-music-player.927985/
 
Shanling Have any question about our players? Just PM me or send me email. Stay updated on Shanling at their sponsor page on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/Shanling-Audio-603230783166845/ https://twitter.com/ShanlingAudio https://www.instagram.com/shanlingaudio/ http://en.shanling.com/ frankie@shanling.com
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 5)

Top