"S" and "F" sound on DT 990 pro hurts my ear.. Don't know how to google this..
Feb 20, 2013 at 12:31 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 19

Lucenzo

New Head-Fier
Hey guys,

so my brand new beyerdynamic DT 990 PRO 250 Ohm just arrived. Plugged it straight into my Asus Xonar Essence STX and tried it on a few songs and I'm starting to notice that everytime the letter S, or F or other sounds of the sorts sound really, REALLY harsh, and it's like there's a crystal being shattered in my ear everytime..

I'm a noob when it comes to audio warez and stuff, so I don't really have any idea on how to google for this problem too..

I tried looking around with the settings of the soundcard a bit but it stays the same everytime.. (My standard soundcard settings are 8 channel (don't really know if I should take 2, 4 or 6 channel too, they all sound the same :/ ), PCM 96 Khz and Hi-Fi enabled (to normalize all other settings).

So is it normal for these headphones to have such harsh sounding "S's" and "Fs" ? Also some beats in DnB music sound really harsh .. :/

Feb 20, 2013 at 12:36 PM Post #2 of 19
That would be a harsh treble, harsh highs, even sibilants. Unfortunately, I don't know anything about those headphones specifically so I can't help you but you've definitely come to the right place, someone will be able to.

Feb 20, 2013 at 12:55 PM Post #3 of 19
Aha, "sibilants", that's the word I was looking for ! :) I was able to google a bit now and some guy said to turn down the 8K bar in the EQ, it helped a little at low volumes, but at the higher volumes ( the ones I listen music with) it's still as if there are knifes in my ear even when I turn the  8 K bar all the way down.. :frowning2:

Anyone else got some tips ? Or should I just try and return them (not sure if I can, bought them on ebay) and go for Sennheiser HD598 ?

Feb 20, 2013 at 1:05 PM Post #4 of 19
The DT990s are well known for having a hot treble... you should've done more research before you got them!