recommendation from piano fans
Dec 10, 2008 at 7:54 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 11

AJan

New Head-Fier
Hi guys!

Noob here. After listening to a friend's Keith Jarret CD, I'm now considering collecting some piano CDs but have seriously no idea where to start. Contemporary vs Classical, etc. etc.

From a few weeks back, while watching Top Chef on TV, I've also noticed some of their background tracks to be piano tunes but utilizing more on the lowest keys, which honestly sounded awesome and cutting edge. (I imagine those would also be great test tracks for some phones because of the decay and timbre)

I am also a bit familiar with some Philip Glass piano and cello tracks and found them enjoyable as well.

Any recommendations from any genre would be appreciated! Cheers!!!

Dec 11, 2008 at 4:49 AM Post #2 of 11
Quote:

Originally Posted by AJan /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Hi guys!

Noob here. After listening to a friend's Keith Jarret CD, I'm now considering collecting some piano CDs but have seriously no idea where to start. Contemporary vs Classical, etc. etc.

From a few weeks back, while watching Top Chef on TV, I've also noticed some of their background tracks to be piano tunes but utilizing more on the lowest keys, which honestly sounded awesome and cutting edge. (I imagine those would also be great test tracks for some phones because of the decay and timbre)

I am also a bit familiar with some Philip Glass piano and cello tracks and found them enjoyable as well.

Any recommendations from any genre would be appreciated! Cheers!!!

Ajan-

Go buy Ludovico Einaudi's "Divenire" now.
Then, go buy all of his other albums.

Dec 11, 2008 at 7:52 AM Post #3 of 11
A couple you should pick up:

51DhU-B1H0L._SL500_AA240_.jpg

csonsa2218.jpg

More info here: Zenph Studios home page re-performance MIDI Gould Tatum