rechargeable batteries question
post-177868
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 9

NotoriousBIG_PJ

Step 1: Plug power cable into wall. Step 2: Plug other end of power cable into....umm.... Step 0.5: Order something to power with power cable.
Joined
Mar 12, 2002
Messages
3,487
Reaction score
17
Joined
Mar 12, 2002
Posts
3,487
Likes
17
My nimh AAA batteries do not seem to be giving as much voltage as they used to. Is there a way to fix this?

Biggie.
 
     Share This Post       
post-177895
Post #2 of 9

Braver

Will upgrade headphoneswhen there's a MX600.
Joined
Jun 22, 2001
Messages
2,427
Reaction score
24
Joined
Jun 22, 2001
Posts
2,427
Likes
24
over time rechargeables die out and give less and less power. and then you buy new ones. they just wear out. if you were to 'fix' a battery, that would involve fooling around with the mixture of stuff inside (sry, I can't translate chemistry). you might try completely discharging and fully recharging a coupla times, but you can't 'reboot' a battery so to speak.
 
     Share This Post       
post-177936
Post #3 of 9

Hirsch

Why is there a chaplain standing over his wallet?
Joined
Aug 12, 2001
Messages
7,820
Reaction score
22
Joined
Aug 12, 2001
Posts
7,820
Likes
22
If you have a "smart" charger that can do so, try conditioning the batteries, a couple of times if necessary.
 
     Share This Post       
post-177971
Post #4 of 9

NotoriousBIG_PJ

Step 1: Plug power cable into wall. Step 2: Plug other end of power cable into....umm.... Step 0.5: Order something to power with power cable.
Joined
Mar 12, 2002
Messages
3,487
Reaction score
17
Joined
Mar 12, 2002
Posts
3,487
Likes
17
How do I completely discharge my batteries?

Hrrmm I will consider investing in a smart charger, I thought mine was when I bought it but I was wrong.


Biggie.
 
     Share This Post       
post-177980
Post #5 of 9

Strogian

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 5, 2002
Messages
122
Reaction score
0
Joined
Apr 5, 2002
Posts
122
Likes
0
I'd guess you could put a wire in connecting the + and - terminals. And then make sure the battery doesn't get too hot.
 
     Share This Post       
post-178013
Post #6 of 9

Braver

Will upgrade headphoneswhen there's a MX600.
Joined
Jun 22, 2001
Messages
2,427
Reaction score
24
Joined
Jun 22, 2001
Posts
2,427
Likes
24
Quote:

Originally posted by NotoriousBIG_PJ
How do I completely discharge my batteries?


I take it you're using them in a PCDP or something, right? just use them till it cuts out, then wait some time and do it again (it'll work again for a couple of seconds), two or three times and they should be completely drowned.

I'm just guessing "conditioning" does the same thing?

but anyway, even rechargeables aren't meant to last forever...
 
     Share This Post       
post-178061
Post #7 of 9

lan

Videographus Supremus:Makes audio cables using super-advanced materials, like "some clear tape" and "some not so clear tape."
Joined
Sep 4, 2002
Messages
8,604
Reaction score
13
Joined
Sep 4, 2002
Posts
8,604
Likes
13
     Share This Post       
post-178065
Post #8 of 9

timoteus

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 22, 2001
Messages
949
Reaction score
11
Joined
Jun 22, 2001
Posts
949
Likes
11
Quote:

Originally posted by NotoriousBIG_PJ
My nimh AAA batteries do not seem to be giving as much voltage as they used to. Is there a way to fix this?

Biggie.


Here is a FAQ page that deals with NiMH batteries and conditioning.

http://www.thomasdistributing.com/ma...-batteries.htm
 
     Share This Post       
post-178167
Post #9 of 9

NotoriousBIG_PJ

Step 1: Plug power cable into wall. Step 2: Plug other end of power cable into....umm.... Step 0.5: Order something to power with power cable.
Joined
Mar 12, 2002
Messages
3,487
Reaction score
17
Joined
Mar 12, 2002
Posts
3,487
Likes
17
How do I condition stuff manually? I'll get a new charger when I get some cash flow but until then..

They are fairly new 700mah batteries so I hope they still have a lot more charges in them. ^^

Biggie.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top