Raw Eggs
Nov 12, 2005 at 1:42 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 37

SptsNaz

1000+ Head-Fier
How safe is it to eat raw eggs? I often need quick protein and I just can't wait around until the egg(s) fully cooks, so I'm thinking of just cracking them open and slurping them out (mmm, tasty)

How does the nutritional value of a raw egg compare to a cooked one? Is there any difference?

Thanks

Nov 12, 2005 at 1:50 AM Post #3 of 37
Quote:

Originally Posted by Beach123456
I dunno, but it seems pretty popular with boxers in training.

haha

Coincidentally I just finish watching Rocky. Seems like a no brainer if there isn't much of a risk involved

Nov 12, 2005 at 1:57 AM Post #5 of 37
DON"T DO IT!

I was a health inspector for 2 1/2 years.

You DONT want salmonella poisoning. Trust me on this.

Why on earth would you want to anyway?

B

Nov 12, 2005 at 2:15 AM Post #6 of 37
Quote:

Originally Posted by ilikemonkeys
DON"T DO IT!

I was a health inspector for 2 1/2 years.

You DONT want salmonella poisoning. Trust me on this.

Why on earth would you want to anyway?

B

It's unbelievably convenient, that's why. I also hear salmonella poisoning is pretty damn rare. But yeh, I'm still not sure If I want to try my luck

Anyone here actually do this? If so, by posting I can assume you are still alive

Nov 12, 2005 at 2:31 AM Post #7 of 37
Quote:

Originally Posted by SptsNaz
How safe is it to eat raw eggs? I often need quick protein and I just can't wait around until the egg(s) fully cooks, so I'm thinking of just cracking them open and slurping them out (mmm, tasty)

How does the nutritional value of a raw egg compare to a cooked one? Is there any difference?

Thanks

They've had pasteurized eggs for a while now. A bit more expensive, but eggs are dirt cheap anyways. The whites of pasteurized eggs are a little cloudy in color, but still as raw as anyone could want. Supposed to greatly reduce if not eliminate salmonella risks.