Raal Ribbon Headphones - SRH1A
post-15466761
Post #1,876 of 1,924

Thenewguy007

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 22, 2013
Messages
1,612
Reaction score
273
Joined
Jun 22, 2013
Posts
1,612
Likes
273
Here's the actual headphones with the cable that shipped with them. The interface box a bit different from the usual one in photos as well.

IMG_1416.jpeg

You can put some electrical tape around them as a temporary solution.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: cconnaker
post-15467177
Post #1,877 of 1,924

FLTWS

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 1, 2016
Messages
2,076
Reaction score
2,428
Location
USA
Joined
May 1, 2016
Location
USA
Posts
2,076
Likes
2,428
Edit: Thenewguy007 beat me too it.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15467445
Post #1,878 of 1,924

Pale Rider

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 29, 2008
Messages
1,023
Reaction score
231
Location
NorCal, USA
Joined
Nov 29, 2008
Location
NorCal, USA
Posts
1,023
Likes
231
Website
www.hammondraffetto.art
Any news on the HSA-1A amp? I love the JotR, but I have this unscientific suspicion that there is even more to unlock from the headphones.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15467686
Post #1,879 of 1,924

musicman59

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 27, 2004
Messages
4,406
Reaction score
499
Location
Canton, MI
Joined
May 27, 2004
Location
Canton, MI
Posts
4,406
Likes
499
Hi Guys - Thanks for all the information available in this thread. It has helped immensely.

I received my SR1a headphones today and quickly ran into an issue that I'd love some help with. Perhaps someone else has run into this same issue.

When I set the SR1a headphones down, the metal pieces on the end of the L+R cables, touch causing the pair of Schiit Vidar amps to go into protection mode. This only happens when music is playing of course. Seems like a poor design of the cables or something else is afoot.

Question: Has anyone else experienced this or does anyone have any thoughts about it?



162559_b3a0813c1504c78c8a1e60de1cd53647_orig.jpg
Are you talking about the Black and Red housings? That's strange because those are normally made of non-conductive material.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15467705
Post #1,880 of 1,924

cconnaker

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 23, 2004
Messages
310
Reaction score
23
Location
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Joined
Jul 23, 2004
Location
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Posts
310
Likes
23
Website
audiophilestyle.com
Are you talking about the Black and Red housings? That's strange because those are normally made of non-conductive material.
Yes. On mine they are both silver metal.

Today I switched all the electronics over to an isolation transformer with impeccable grounding and the issue is gone. Perhaps the outlet by my desk isn't grounded properly. Nonetheless, the fact that these are conductive is a strange one.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15468195
Post #1,881 of 1,924

earlinarizona

New Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 24, 2005
Messages
31
Reaction score
10
Joined
Mar 24, 2005
Posts
31
Likes
10
What size resistors are used in the adapter box. They look like 2 watts but someone out there probably knows for real.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15469483
Post #1,882 of 1,924

Kelowna

Member of the Trade: Mivera Audio
Joined
May 29, 2016
Messages
158
Reaction score
31
Joined
May 29, 2016
Posts
158
Likes
31
     Share This Post       
post-15469502
Post #1,883 of 1,924

Kelowna

Member of the Trade: Mivera Audio
Joined
May 29, 2016
Messages
158
Reaction score
31
Joined
May 29, 2016
Posts
158
Likes
31
Preliminary resistor testing is suggesting a phenomenal amount of performance potential is possible from standard speaker amplifiers when the very best resistors are used in the interface box. Yes resistor quality matters in this application as well. Even a single resistor in the signal path degrades performance. Let alone 72 of them. There's some new resistors on the market that are damn near as transparent as a straight wire. But the lead time is quite long, and only 1 factory in the world has the technology to produce them.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Pale Rider
post-15469535
Post #1,885 of 1,924

Kelowna

Member of the Trade: Mivera Audio
Joined
May 29, 2016
Messages
158
Reaction score
31
Joined
May 29, 2016
Posts
158
Likes
31
Audio Note probably makes the best resistors being pure silver. They make up to 2 watt resistors.
https://www.audionote.co.uk/resistors
Price list. https://d1b89e86-9572-4311-9f80-60009b280608.filesusr.com/ugd/89c24f_6fd2291f0d7b4887b7e2a2351a3794ea.pdf
Depends if you shop by brand or actual quality. BTW they don’t make those resistors. They just rebrand them and up the price by 20-30x. That pricing level is required to attract attention from the audiophile community.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Pale Rider
post-15469600
Post #1,886 of 1,924

Aleksandar R.

Member of the Trade: RAAL-requisite
Joined
Jan 11, 2019
Messages
148
Reaction score
315
Location
Serbia
Joined
Jan 11, 2019
Location
Serbia
Posts
148
Likes
315
It seems to be, but it's just odd that there's no insulation on the cables at the metal connectors to prevent this.
Hi Chris,
The connector shell is connected to ground lead (or negative lead).
It never occurred to me that the two connectors will touch and thus, trip the bridged amp protection.
Once the amp is bridged, the "ground" will become live, not at 0 potential any more, so unlike normally driven amps, you can't have the "ground" from two channels be connected.

I'd use a piece of heatshrink tube and tighten it over the connector shell, or wrap it with a tape.

Also, please be careful with two bridged Vidars, as that is way over the specified power handling of headsets and Interface. It should be fine, just take care.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: cconnaker
post-15469630
Post #1,887 of 1,924

Aleksandar R.

Member of the Trade: RAAL-requisite
Joined
Jan 11, 2019
Messages
148
Reaction score
315
Location
Serbia
Joined
Jan 11, 2019
Location
Serbia
Posts
148
Likes
315
Yes. On mine they are both silver metal.

Today I switched all the electronics over to an isolation transformer with impeccable grounding and the issue is gone. Perhaps the outlet by my desk isn't grounded properly. Nonetheless, the fact that these are conductive is a strange one.
I think the issue will remain, because of amps being bridged, depending on the signal symmetry between left-right channel and on volume.
To me, it is very common that 3.5mm jacks with metal shell, the shell is a GND.

For the specified power handling, bridging amps is not necessary, so I wasn't thinking much about issues with bridged amps, sorry about that.
Anyhow, insulate them as I don't think the issue is gone by using ins. transformers.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15469634
Post #1,888 of 1,924

Aleksandar R.

Member of the Trade: RAAL-requisite
Joined
Jan 11, 2019
Messages
148
Reaction score
315
Location
Serbia
Joined
Jan 11, 2019
Location
Serbia
Posts
148
Likes
315
What size resistors are used in the adapter box. They look like 2 watts but someone out there probably knows for real.
5WS, or 5 W small housing.
The resistor influence in sound is a discussions as old as hi-fi and I'm in the wrong camp to carry on discussing that.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15469639
Post #1,889 of 1,924

Aleksandar R.

Member of the Trade: RAAL-requisite
Joined
Jan 11, 2019
Messages
148
Reaction score
315
Location
Serbia
Joined
Jan 11, 2019
Location
Serbia
Posts
148
Likes
315
I'll just say that paralleling is better that using one high-power and that I use wirewound, as I don't like MOX.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15469645
Post #1,890 of 1,924

cconnaker

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 23, 2004
Messages
310
Reaction score
23
Location
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Joined
Jul 23, 2004
Location
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Posts
310
Likes
23
Website
audiophilestyle.com
I think the issue will remain, because of amps being bridged, depending on the signal symmetry between left-right channel and on volume.
To me, it is very common that 3.5mm jacks with metal shell, the shell is a GND.

For the specified power handling, bridging amps is not necessary, so I wasn't thinking much about issues with bridged amps, sorry about that.
Anyhow, insulate them as I don't think the issue is gone by using ins. transformers.
Thanks Aleksandar. The only reason I’m using two Vidars is so I can use the balanced interconnects between DAC and amp. I have some other amps on the way for review with the SR1a. Overall, fabulous product. Nothing like it.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 2, Guests: 5)

Top