R5, a new Android DAP by Hiby
post-15647583
Post #2,296 of 3,234

Joe Bloggs

Member of the Trade: HiBy / EFO technologies Co
His Porta Corda walked the Green Mile
Joined
Oct 21, 2001
Messages
11,090
Reaction score
2,836
Location
Hong Kong and Melbourne
Joined
Oct 21, 2001
Location
Hong Kong and Melbourne
Posts
11,090
Likes
2,836
Please see my quote above yours^
All class 10, two U1's one U3.
BTW where are these video settings that you have disabled, I can't find them for the life of me?
Quick question Q

For all these cards, were they formatted as external or internal storage for the r5?
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Q Mass
post-15647841
Post #2,297 of 3,234

Q Mass

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
779
Reaction score
239
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Posts
779
Likes
239
Quick question Q

For all these cards, were they formatted as external or internal storage for the r5?
I chose external, should I have picked internal?

I can't remember what format I chose when formatting the card on my pc after checking it's capacity with H2testw, ex-fat I think.
I always allow any device I'm installing an sd card in to format when first inserting it, so if the R5 requested permission to format the card, I would have granted it.

I'm fairly certain that I chose external though.
How would I go about double checking these settings?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15647910
Post #2,298 of 3,234

Joe Bloggs

Member of the Trade: HiBy / EFO technologies Co
His Porta Corda walked the Green Mile
Joined
Oct 21, 2001
Messages
11,090
Reaction score
2,836
Location
Hong Kong and Melbourne
Joined
Oct 21, 2001
Location
Hong Kong and Melbourne
Posts
11,090
Likes
2,836
I chose external, should I have picked internal?

I can't remember what format I chose when formatting the card on my pc after checking it's capacity with H2testw, ex-fat I think.
I always allow any device I'm installing an sd card in to format when first inserting it, so if the R5 requested permission to format the card, I would have granted it.

I'm fairly certain that I chose external though.
How would I go about double checking these settings?
It's alright, if you don't know what I'm talking about, it must have been external, which is the recommended way to go. (as that is the default, and won't change unless you went out of your way to change it to internal))
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Q Mass
post-15647939
Post #2,299 of 3,234

Q Mass

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
779
Reaction score
239
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Posts
779
Likes
239
It's alright, if you don't know what I'm talking about, it must have been external, which is the recommended way to go. (as that is the default, and won't change unless you went out of your way to change it to internal))
Nope, didn't do anything like that.

I don't want to jinx things, and it's very early days, but I I'm currently on my third lengthy session since updating Spotify and no stops so far.
I have had periods where playback has been fine over multiple sessions before, so I'm not calling 'FIXED' yet, but my fingers are crossed SO hard they've gone white!
I haven't changed anything else recently (simply ran out of things to try).
Pray for me.

And thanks for keeping on this BTW @Joe Bloggs
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Interceptor69
post-15648051
Post #2,300 of 3,234

davidcotton

X-CANs and HDAMs
Joined
Jun 23, 2001
Messages
7,369
Reaction score
1,895
Joined
Jun 23, 2001
Posts
7,369
Likes
1,895
Nope, didn't do anything like that.

I don't want to jinx things, and it's very early days, but I I'm currently on my third lengthy session since updating Spotify and no stops so far.
I have had periods where playback has been fine over multiple sessions before, so I'm not calling 'FIXED' yet, but my fingers are crossed SO hard they've gone white!
I haven't changed anything else recently (simply ran out of things to try).
Pray for me.

And thanks for keeping on this BTW @Joe Bloggs
Hashtag non glitching spotify playback is a must any use to you?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15648770
Post #2,301 of 3,234

Mouseman

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 18, 2016
Messages
729
Reaction score
583
Location
USA
Joined
Feb 18, 2016
Location
USA
Posts
729
Likes
583
Hi All, probably this request for advice should go for other forums but I don't want to spread the same question and boring others. So let's start here.

Today I have received my first balanced 4.4m cable to check against R5. It is a cheap cable (https://www.ebay.es/itm/Balance-cable-4-4MM-Male-for-Audio-Technica-ATH-M50x-ATH-M40x-ATH-M70x-headphone/202153288953?ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT&_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649) for my closed ATH-M40x as I was a little sceptic about the real SQ increase on balanced output, but it really works it's much better than the 3.5mm unbalanced; I also think this cheap cable is better than stock cable.

My usual rings are
  • iMac - Audirvana (Tidal) - Chord Mojo - unbalanced MrSpeakers Ether Flow Open 1.0 (EFO)
  • Hiby R5 - UAPP (Tidal & SD Tracks) - Chord Mojo - unbalanced MrSpeakers Ether Flow Open 1.0 (EFO)
  • Hiby R5 - UAPP (Tidal & SD Tracks) - ATH-M40x (now balanced), when more hearing than listening
  • Hiby R5 - UAPP (Tidal & SD Tracks) - Etymotic ER4PT or V-MODA Forza Metallo Wireless (aptX), when travelling to avoid extra weight and risk of losing Mojo
The next step is to buy a good cable for the EFO, and after discussing with Matt it's sure the Forza Audio Works Claire Hybrid will be the choice.
And here comes the question for advice (sorry for the above long context):
  1. Do I get the option of 3.5mm unbalanced to get the best from my Mojo?
  2. Do I get the option of 4.4mm balanced to get the best from R5 and maintain the stock cables?
Thanks in advance for your replies. Cheers.
You can find both short cable adapters and plug adapters to go from your 4.4mm cable to anything 3.5mm unbalanced. I use one every day with my Burson Playmate (which permanently has a 6.5mm adapter plugged in). Once I got my R5, I switched over most of my "regular" gear to 4.4 and I haven't looked back. The extra power is the difference for me.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Interceptor69
post-15649684
Post #2,302 of 3,234

katatonicone1

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 24, 2018
Messages
151
Reaction score
123
Location
Poland
Joined
Oct 24, 2018
Location
Poland
Posts
151
Likes
123
I'm experiencing sound artifacts when using USB Dac mode. There are cracks every minute or so, similar to when needle jumps on a vinyl.
Anyone having this issue? It is present when using Tidal windows app.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15649816
Post #2,303 of 3,234

VideoWork

Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 3, 2019
Messages
81
Reaction score
36
Location
Matrix
Joined
Feb 3, 2019
Location
Matrix
Posts
81
Likes
36
I'm experiencing sound artifacts when using USB Dac mode. There are cracks every minute or so, similar to when needle jumps on a vinyl.
Anyone having this issue? It is present when using Tidal windows app.
try another USB cable
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: katatonicone1
post-15650059
Post #2,304 of 3,234

almarti

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 8, 2014
Messages
372
Reaction score
55
Location
Spain
Joined
Aug 8, 2014
Location
Spain
Posts
372
Likes
55
You can find both short cable adapters and plug adapters to go from your 4.4mm cable to anything 3.5mm unbalanced. I use one every day with my Burson Playmate (which permanently has a 6.5mm adapter plugged in). Once I got my R5, I switched over most of my "regular" gear to 4.4 and I haven't looked back. The extra power is the difference for me.
Thanks, I knew it’s not possible from unbalanced to balanced but good to know reverse way it works, so this configuration let me get profit o both worlds and go on with Mojo and same cable.
Could you please me advice of one good 4.4mm balanced to 3.5mm unbalanced adapter?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15650087
Post #2,305 of 3,234

Mouseman

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 18, 2016
Messages
729
Reaction score
583
Location
USA
Joined
Feb 18, 2016
Location
USA
Posts
729
Likes
583
Thanks, I knew it’s not possible from unbalanced to balanced but good to know reverse way it works, so this configuration let me get profit o both worlds and go on with Mojo and same cable.
Could you please me advice of one good 4.4mm balanced to 3.5mm unbalanced adapter?
DD Hi-fi (https://www.ddhifi.com/) has some really cool ones that are plug adapters. Fiio has some short cable ones (LL-4.4M) that's also really nice. I have both, it's really about your preference. I also got one from Ali that's very nice.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15651147
Post #2,306 of 3,234

Facta

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 25, 2020
Messages
451
Reaction score
207
Location
Atlantis
Joined
Apr 25, 2020
Location
Atlantis
Posts
451
Likes
207
Hi. Need some advice:

I'm looking for a mid-fi DAP but purely for enjoying FM radio.

1) Does R5 offers FM?
2) If yes, can the side buttons be used to skip/change FM preset stations without using screen?
3) Any pricier DAPs from HiBy or others that come with FM Radio?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15651170
Post #2,307 of 3,234

noobandroid

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 6, 2012
Messages
1,307
Reaction score
195
Location
Malaysia
Joined
Jan 6, 2012
Location
Malaysia
Posts
1,307
Likes
195
Hi. Need some advice:

I'm looking for a mid-fi DAP but purely for enjoying FM radio.

1) Does R5 offers FM?
2) If yes, can the side buttons be used to skip/change FM preset stations without using screen?
3) Any pricier DAPs from HiBy or others that come with FM Radio?
i dont think any of them carry FM antennas, but you can download the radio station's app and do wifi stream of the station
 
     Share This Post       
post-15651224
Post #2,308 of 3,234

Facta

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 25, 2020
Messages
451
Reaction score
207
Location
Atlantis
Joined
Apr 25, 2020
Location
Atlantis
Posts
451
Likes
207
i dont think any of them carry FM antennas, but you can download the radio station's app and do wifi stream of the station
The earphones/headphones act as the antenna for FM, I am afraid. But thank you for the digital radio option suggestion. Very tempting. Will check it out. As of now, traditional FM radio is important to me where I am living.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15651253
Post #2,309 of 3,234

noobandroid

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 6, 2012
Messages
1,307
Reaction score
195
Location
Malaysia
Joined
Jan 6, 2012
Location
Malaysia
Posts
1,307
Likes
195
The earphones/headphones act as the antenna for FM, I am afraid. But thank you for the digital radio option suggestion. Very tempting. Will check it out. As of now, traditional FM radio is important to me where I am living.
for that to work, it also needs hardware for FM inside the source, that's why modern phones mostly dont have fm ability anymore
 
     Share This Post       
post-15651289
Post #2,310 of 3,234

psikey

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 15, 2008
Messages
2,441
Reaction score
1,183
Joined
Jul 15, 2008
Posts
2,441
Likes
1,183
Hi. Need some advice:

I'm looking for a mid-fi DAP but purely for enjoying FM radio.

1) Does R5 offers FM?
2) If yes, can the side buttons be used to skip/change FM preset stations without using screen?
3) Any pricier DAPs from HiBy or others that come with FM Radio?
I think the Hidizs AP80 & AP80 Pro have FM

https://www.hidizs.net/products/ap80-pro
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Facta

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 1, Guests: 2)

Top