Quality sound cards with USB outputs?
Jun 17, 2009 at 7:49 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 17

kraychik

New Head-Fier
Hey everyone, I'm a relative newbie to this type of stuff but I'm hoping someone can explain something to me. Why is it so rare to find high quality sound cards with USB outputs? I was told on another forum that 3.5/6.5 mm outputs are superior to USB for transmitting audio, and I've since learned that USB 1.1 (not sure about the 2.0 standard) output has audio limitations not shared by its 3.5/6.5 mm output counterpart. Hopefully it isn't too complicated to explain why this is the case? Also, will we ever see high quality audio streamed through USB via a sound card so that high-quality USB-interface audio devices can realize their full potential: i.e. speakers and headsets?

Jun 17, 2009 at 8:55 PM Post #5 of 17
Quote:

Originally Posted by leeperry /img/forum/go_quote.gif
USB outputs? inputs you mean? and do you mean 3.5/6.35 TRS connectors? not clear your question is.

I mean USB outputs. Why do quality soundcards more often than not abandon having a USB output in addition to their 3.5 mm outputs (front, sub, line/mic in, etc)? Is there some sort of limitation on USB with respect to sound cards when transmitting the sound via USB?

Jun 17, 2009 at 8:57 PM Post #6 of 17
Quote:

Originally Posted by iriverdude /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Surely a "soundcard with usb" is the USB controller on your motherboard?

Right, but is there a solution for wanting to use USB audio hardware like speakers or a headset with a high quality soundcard (directly, via a USB output that is a part of the souncard) rather than connecting to the motherboard's USB controller? I'm guessing there's something(s) (or a lot of things!) I don't understand, here...

Jun 17, 2009 at 9:02 PM Post #7 of 17
Quote:

Originally Posted by apatN /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Lol? A computer has USB out, a sound card does not and does not need it.