Post your computer specs!~
Jun 28, 2012 at 8:29 AM Post #1,549 of 2,504

DefQon

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 14, 2011
Posts
7,068
Likes
144
Slight Rig update for me
 
i7 990x @ 4.8ghz
24GB DDR3 Mushkin Ridgebacks
2x120gb OCZ Vertex Plus in Raid 0 (Win 7 Pro OS)
2x2tb Seagate LP's in Raid 0 (Steam/Data)
2x2tb WD Green in Raid 5 (Redundancy to Backup my Data Raid)
2x1tb Seagate Barracuda in Raid 5 (Server 2k8 Data/Backup)
1x1.5tb WD Green (Server 2k8 OS)
Logic Point Raid Controller PCI
Creative x-fi Fatal1ty Pro 
3x EVGA GTX480 in Tri SLi
Enermax 1250Watt PSU
 
 
Upcoming:
 
6x4TB WD Blacks
6x8gb Corsair DDR3 1333 Ram
Enermax Platimax 1500watt PSU
 
Jul 2, 2012 at 6:30 AM Post #1,550 of 2,504

lord_tris

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 16, 2006
Posts
1,159
Likes
73
Location
westerville

[size=1.4em] LIAN LI PC-Q08R [/size]

[size=1.4em] ASUS P8H77-I[/size]

[size=1.4em] 2600k[/size]

[size=1.4em] 16gigs of Giel Black dragon[/size]

[size=1.4em] 2-120g OCZ Vertex 3[/size]

[size=1.4em] 1-40g OCZ agility 2[/size]

[size=1.4em] 1-90g OCZ agility 2[/size]

[size=1.4em] 1-500g WD Black[/size]

[size=1.4em] Corsair h60[/size]

[size=1.4em] Corsair AX850[/size]

[size=1.4em] AMD 6950[/size]

[size=1.4em] TT Meka G1[/size]

[size=1.4em] Logitech G700[/size]

[size=1.4em] Griffin PowerMate[/size]

[size=1.4em] Logitech 5500 system with Cerwin vega book shelves and replaced sub with a sony[/size]

[size=1.4em] I-inc 28 inch lcd[/size]


 
Jul 2, 2012 at 12:50 PM Post #1,551 of 2,504

Wirbel

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 14, 2010
Posts
121
Likes
15
i7 930 @ 4.2
ASUS P6X58D-E
G.Skill PI 12800 6GB
eVGA GTX570
WD Caviar Black 640GB
OCZ Vertex 2 60GB (OS)
ASUS Essence STX
Corsair HW850 Modular
Corsair 800D
27" ASUS Monitor + 46" Sony LCD TV
 
CPU, GPU, and mobo are all on water + custom sleeving.
 
Probably won't upgrade anytime soon, but do plan to add more storage and probably increase my SSD storage.
 
Jul 2, 2012 at 4:39 PM Post #1,553 of 2,504

lobotomizer

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 24, 2012
Posts
25
Likes
10
Antec Three Hundred Two
Intel Core i5 2500K
corespeed: 4.5 GHz
voltage: 1.56 V
 
 
ASUS P8Z77-V Pro
Patriot Viper Xtreme DIV. 2 8GB 2X4GB
Sapphire Radeon HD 7850
memoryclock: 1375 MHz
memory: 2.0 GBytes
coreclock: 1185 MHz

 
Mushkin Chronos 120GB 2.5IN SATA3 Sandforce SF-2281 SSD
Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB 16MB Cache 7200RPM 3.5IN SATA
 
Corsair Professional Series Gold AX850
 
Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo

7-Noctua NF-F12 PWM
1-Noctua NF-F14
 

 
windows 7
Logitech Z-5500
CM Storm Trigger Mechanical
Steelseries Limited Edition Diablo III
 
Samsung S27A950D
 
Jul 2, 2012 at 4:52 PM Post #1,554 of 2,504

Rebel975

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Posts
539
Likes
20
^Is all of that voltage on the CPU necessary? It seems excessive to begin with (wasn't the maximum recommended by Intel 1.52v?), but since it's only at 4.5GHz it seems really bad. When I had a 2600K it hit 4.5GHz (with Hyper Threading enabled) with only 1.32v. It ran Prime95 for 36 hours with those settings. Maybe I got lucky and got a really good chip, or perhaps you were unlucky?
 
How is that monitor? I was considering it, but I took it off my list after my s27a550h developed serious color issues after only 2 days of owning it. I ended up getting a HP ZR2740w, and I love it.
 
Jul 2, 2012 at 5:11 PM Post #1,555 of 2,504

SoupRKnowva

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Aug 4, 2007
Posts
4,660
Likes
120
Location
Seattle, WA
Quote:
^Is all of that voltage on the CPU necessary? It seems excessive to begin with (wasn't the maximum recommended by Intel 1.52v?), but since it's only at 4.5GHz it seems really bad. When I had a 2600K it hit 4.5GHz (with Hyper Threading enabled) with only 1.32v. It ran Prime95 for 36 hours with those settings. Maybe I got lucky and got a really good chip, or perhaps you were unlucky?
 
How is that monitor? I was considering it, but I took it off my list after my s27a550h developed serious color issues after only 2 days of owning it. I ended up getting a HP ZR2740w, and I love it.

 
yeah i hit 4.5 GHz on my 2500k with 1.35v, but then again, that was the most that MSI motherboard would even let me use. it was Prime95 stable for over 12 hours
 
Jul 2, 2012 at 5:47 PM Post #1,556 of 2,504

brunk

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 21, 2012
Posts
3,648
Likes
96
Intel 3960X @ 4.9ghz ~1.35v
32gb RAM @ 1866 (downsized from 64gb, not needed yet) Corsair Vengeance
Asus Rampage IV Extreme mobo
1x AMD 7970 (not a hardcore/performance gamer atm)
LSI MegaRAID SAS9280-16i4e with SSD key (CacheCade/FastPath) and BBU
13x Seagate 2TB HDDs
4x Intel 510 series 250GB SSDs
Enermax MAXREVO 1350w PSU (future proof and has several/long connections)
Enermax GT Fulmo case lined with FatMat noise absorption panels (hint...hint...!)
Corsair H100 watercooler (gets the job done) push/pull Noctua 120mm fans
CyberPower 1350VA / 810W PFC compatible Pure sine wave UPS
BluRay Drive
TV tuner card
3x 27in. 1080p monitors
Corsair Vengeance K90 Mechanical Keyboard (reds are so smooth and not click/clacky)
Razer Naga Epic mouse (macros aren't just for gamers, neither is comfort lol)
2x Razer Goliathus Mouse pads
Razer Nostromo (Diablo III only)
 
Amazingly, my rig only consumes about 275w under normal/idle condition. I use this for many, many things. You name it, I do it. Except for 3D modeling.
 
Jul 2, 2012 at 6:30 PM Post #1,557 of 2,504

Rebel975

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Posts
539
Likes
20
Quote:
Intel 3960X @ 4.9ghz ~1.35v
32gb RAM @ 1866 (downsized from 64gb, not needed yet) Corsair Vengeance
Asus Rampage IV Extreme mobo
1x AMD 7970 (not a hardcore/performance gamer atm)
LSI MegaRAID SAS9280-16i4e with SSD key (CacheCade/FastPath) and BBU
13x Seagate 2TB HDDs
4x Intel 510 series 250GB SSDs
Enermax MAXREVO 1350w PSU (future proof and has several/long connections)
Enermax GT Fulmo case lined with FatMat noise absorption panels (hint...hint...!)
Corsair H100 watercooler (gets the job done) push/pull Noctua 120mm fans
CyberPower 1350VA / 810W PFC compatible Pure sine wave UPS
BluRay Drive
TV tuner card
3x 27in. 1080p monitors
Corsair Vengeance K90 Mechanical Keyboard (reds are so smooth and not click/clacky)
Razer Naga Epic mouse (macros aren't just for gamers, neither is comfort lol)
2x Razer Goliathus Mouse pads
Razer Nostromo (Diablo III only)
 
Amazingly, my rig only consumes about 275w under normal/idle condition. I use this for many, many things. You name it, I do it. Except for 3D modeling.

 
 
 
I bolded the items I'm jealous of. Anyway, what's it like having 3 monitors? Any regrets? I went with a single high res screen instead of 3 low res ones.
 
How much does your PC weigh? lol
 
Jul 2, 2012 at 6:35 PM Post #1,558 of 2,504

Tilpo

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 2, 2011
Posts
11,125
Likes
369
I bolded the items I'm jealous of. Anyway, what's it like having 3 monitors? Any regrets?I went with a single high res screen instead of 3 low res ones.

Well, in my opinion having three monitors is incredibly useful. It's one of those things you never want to lose once you've gotten used to it.

Having one big screen is a lot more convenient with regards to have near fields on your desk, on the other hand. Currently I'm putting my speakers sideways and resting the two outer screens on the speakers, but this is far from practical as you can imagine.
 
Jul 2, 2012 at 6:41 PM Post #1,559 of 2,504

brunk

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 21, 2012
Posts
3,648
Likes
96
Quote:
 
 
 
I bolded the items I'm jealous of. Anyway, what's it like having 3 monitors? Any regrets? I went with a single high res screen instead of 3 low res ones.
 
How much does your PC weigh? lol


My 3x monitors are actually the Samsung 3D ones that have 120hz capability. It was nice when I had 2x 6990's but have long sold off those lava rocks lol and glad i did. Hi-Res is nice, but I found more screen real estate and a non-blurry image higher on my priority list. You can't run all 3 on 3D, just one, but that 120hz is oh so nice.
 
I also have an HDMI splitter that I use, that goes to a 47in. screen for even more viewing options.
 
Good question on the weight lol. I'm certain it's ~50lbs. Maybe more... casters on the bottom are a lifesaver. I bought those HDDs when they were $70 a pop, just before the natural disaster. I'm almost done with my second data rollover.
 
Tilpo is right, once you go 3 monitors, you can never go back. You've been warned! Oh, and that FatMat stuff is a god send, it stinks at first (tar) but goes away in a week. I'm surprised it hasn't been commonplace honestly.
 
Jul 2, 2012 at 7:12 PM Post #1,560 of 2,504

Rebel975

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Posts
539
Likes
20
You need some Nvidia 3D surround action. 2x GTX 690 anyone?
 
I would love to get 3 monitors, but my console gaming doesn't mesh well with the idea. (I game on both my Xbox and my PC) Maybe next gen will let you game with multiple screens? I doubt it.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top