[NOOB] JVC HA-RX900 Questions
May 7, 2013 at 10:54 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 9

lacedcurtains

New Head-Fier
Hello Head-fi,
I am quite new to using headphones and I haven't explored the world of audio that much, so excuse my dumb-ness.

I am going to build a new computer soon for mostly gaming (music when I'm doing homework, youtube, occasional movies), and I decided to pick out a pair of headphones.

The JVC HA-RX900. I was wondering, would I need a sound card or a headphone amplifier to use these headphones to their full potential. Meaning, if I didn't have a sound card/amp, would I still be able to hear people's footsteps and where they are coming from in Counter Strike? Or are these headphones completely useless for gaming. One last thing, if I used the Asus Xonar DG ($30) sound card, would I benefit from them, as I hear they have an included amp in the card.  Any feedback is welcome. Thank you in advance. 

May 8, 2013 at 2:06 AM Post #2 of 9
My friend got the rx700s and that sound card... We installed the unified xonar drivers, and he LOVES it! :D the nice thing about a sound card is that it is a dac/amp together, as a nice budget amp/DAC is $90. Though the external one is a little better sounding, the DG is fine. :wink:

May 8, 2013 at 3:07 AM Post #3 of 9
The Asus DG will do just fine powering them.  The sound card would give you virtual surround sound which may help you in gaming.  I wasn't a huge fan of the RX-700/900 but they were decent phones in their price range.  I'd also suggest looking at the Samson SR-850 or the Creative Aurvana Live! as good alternatives.

May 8, 2013 at 9:37 AM Post #4 of 9
Quote:
The Asus DG will do just fine powering them.  The sound card would give you virtual surround sound which may help you in gaming.  I wasn't a huge fan of the RX-700/900 but they were decent phones in their price range.  I'd also suggest looking at the Samson SR-850 or the Creative Aurvana Live! as good alternatives.