New HD650 Owner.. Portable Amp?
Nov 29, 2006 at 7:02 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 41

ca911

New Head-Fier
New HD650 owner here, just got them today and they sound awesome. Hopefully they will sound even better after the burn in process..

Since I am new to this hobby (and I hope to get into it much more), I don't really understand what I am looking for in an amp. My main computer is an Apple Macbook Pro 17in and the headphones sound pretty good on them but not as crisp as I would have liked. I used them on a Mac Pro when I was at work and it sounded much much better which makes me think I may need a decent amp.

The question is, which one to choose? I don't really know much about them so I figured I would ask you all which the best, most portable, and least expensive amp would be. I had read in a review of the HD650 before I bought them that the Boostaroo Revolution was ok, but I also saw the HeadRoom ones which also look pretty good.

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated for a newbie!

Thanks in advance!

Nov 29, 2006 at 7:12 AM Post #2 of 41
i didnt know they can be driven so well by computers.

did u by any chance mod your comp?

Nov 29, 2006 at 7:19 AM Post #4 of 41
Quote:

Originally Posted by Konig /img/forum/go_quote.gif
i didnt know they can be driven so well by computers.

did u by any chance mod your comp?

Nope, no mods. Just a mac
smily_headphones1.gif

Granted, the MacBook Pro is NOT super great.. The Mac Pro sounded 100 times better but unfortunately I use the MacBook Pro 99% of the time so I am looking for something to work just as well with that and is powerful/hopefully has a battery power option..

I will check out the hornet.. The price I found for it was $350.. are there any cheaper ones out there (I am thinking 150 and less right now)?

Nov 29, 2006 at 7:37 AM Post #5 of 41
Quote:

Originally Posted by ca911 /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Nope, no mods. Just a mac
smily_headphones1.gif