My ear canals are freakishly narrow, and I can't fit ANY IEM tips in them.
Oct 18, 2022 at 3:33 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 6

ProteinFromTheSea

New Head-Fier
I recently got my first pair of IEMs (Truthear Zero), and apparently, my ear canals are incredibly thin. To the point that they fit perfectly fine and don't fall out with no tips at all. I tried them with tips and was legitimately in pain, so I'm not sure how much I'm missing out on. Is wearing no tips on IEMs complete sacrilege and ruining my audio quality or is it fine? They sound perfectly acceptable to my ears, besides a slight "washed out" feeling, which is obviously due to the lack of a seal.
Any ideas?

Oct 18, 2022 at 4:23 PM Post #3 of 6
My own experience is that it‘s really not easy to find the right tips and fit. Took me months or years and I am still learning.

You can get good seal with a shallow fit, i.e. large tips and get a deep fit with small tips. This will also influence the sound, specifically the lower treble resonances.

Experiment! Try different tips and different sizes. Find out what works and what doesn’t, but maybe come back later and try it again! It took me weeks to find a good fit with the UM 3DT, maybe even longer with the Moondrop variations. Now just trying to figure out how to wear the monstrous Sony IER-Z1R…

Oct 19, 2022 at 2:30 AM Post #4 of 6
I recently got my first pair of IEMs (Truthear Zero), and apparently, my ear canals are incredibly thin. To the point that they fit perfectly fine and don't fall out with no tips at all. I tried them with tips and was legitimately in pain, so I'm not sure how much I'm missing out on. Is wearing no tips on IEMs complete sacrilege and ruining my audio quality or is it fine? They sound perfectly acceptable to my ears, besides a slight "washed out" feeling, which is obviously due to the lack of a seal.
Any ideas?

Eartips are a very important part of an IEM.