Looking for Recommendations/Questions: New Balanced Headphones
Aug 20, 2019 at 11:19 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 13

RowBearToe

New Head-Fier
Hey guys,

I'm very new to the headphone game and am looking for recommendations/have some questions. I'm looking for over the ear headphones to be used in two scenarios. First, utilizing the balanced output from my Pioneer XDP-300R DAP. The second being from the 1/4" phones output from my Marantz PM5005 amp which is driven by my Music Hall mmf-2.2 record player. I currently have a set of Bose OE2 headphones. I had standard headphones prior to that, received the Bose set as a gift, and they really made me start to appreciate higher sound quality. I like the Bose, but am looking to take advantage of the improved sound quality the balanced output is said to provide. My budget is preferably in the $150-300 range.

1. Is it even possible to have one set of headphones to use from a balanced output AND a 1/4" headphone output?
2. Do you have any recommendations? Could be specific models or even just brands. I honestly don't even know the tiers of brands available.
3. Is there anywhere in the DC Metro, Northern VA, Annapolis, Baltimore, Fredericksburg, Richmond areas that I could go to test out some different headphone options?

Any help is much appreciated, thanks!

Aug 20, 2019 at 11:34 AM Post #2 of 13
1) a) You can either buy a headphone with a detachable cable and buy two cables, one balanced and one single ended 1/4".
b) You can buy e.g. a headphone with a balanced cable and an balanced to 1/4" adapter. But i don't know a balanced headphone within this price range (<300$). Can it be a used one?
2) What are you hearing preferences? Open or closed ?

Aug 20, 2019 at 11:51 AM Post #3 of 13
1) a) You can either buy a headphone with a detachable cable and buy two cables, one balanced and one single ended 1/4".