Looking for Good Headphones
Feb 26, 2009 at 10:20 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 16

ShadowSS

New Head-Fier
Hi, I'm new to the head-fi forum. I'm quite inexperienced in distinguishing good quality headphones and just last night I developed a sudden urge to research on headphones. I was clicking around through google until I stumbled upon this forum and was surprised by the activeness of this forum. After a while I decided that I should buy a pair of headphones, so I was wondering if anyone can give me some recommendations.

Just to give an idea of what kind of headphones I'm looking for -

- I'm a college student so I'll be wearing it around the dorm, at the library, and maybe on campus so I'm hoping I can find stylish headphones. Preferably, it should not be too bulky and it will be comfortable enough to walk around in.
- Because I'll be using it in my room and at the library, it would be cool if sound didn't leak out from them so it won't bother others.
- I listen mostly to rock but I prefer if it can handle many genres as well.
- I'll be using it on my Creative Zen mp3 player and my laptop.
- Also I prefer to spend less than $100, the less the better. My wallet can't take that big of a hit, but if there's anything slightly above, I wouldn't mind taking a look at it.
-The headphones I own right now is the Koss KSC75 and I have used the Grado SR60 before, both of which I like very much. I don't consider the Grado SR60 to be very stylish and if I purchase a pair of headphones, I'll be using the Koss KSC75 for more active activities.

Are there headphones that meet these?

Feb 26, 2009 at 10:27 PM Post #2 of 16
Check out Shure's IEMs.
I know they're not cans, but they work great in the environments you mentioned.
They're very clear for the price range (IMO) are very sound canceling (not isolating which creates the white noise crap.)

Feb 26, 2009 at 10:34 PM Post #3 of 16
HFI-780 is quite stylish and sounds great, especially after modding and recabling.