Lehmann Rhinelander... Finally Happy...
Feb 12, 2010 at 2:07 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 10

counterpoint

New Head-Fier
I have to start off by saying I have a Recording Arts BA and I know what I am talking about because I studied for 3 years for a piece of paper that gives me that right.

I have been a long time lurker over the last 4 years? and I figured I would jot down my experiences.

Anyways... I have been searching for something to properly power my Beyerdynamic DT880s (250 ohm) 2003s since I bought them in 2006 and realized what most people realize when they get into this "hobby": you need an amp to actually hear what they are capable of.

I started off with these DT800s with an m-audio firewire solo which was "just enough".

I DJ professionally and I spent quite a bit of cash (€450) on a Native Instruments Audio 8 DJ that I use and love. I have searched this forum over and over but could find NOTHING about it here. It boasts a super duper Cirrus Logic DAC. But the headphone out is TERRIBLE! I was hoping that by buying a headphone amp I could unlock its hidden (and expensive) potential with a headphone amp. I have paid my bills using this card and it does what it does incredibly well and I feel sorry for anyone who is stuck with Serato. That said, let me be the first to say that the NI Audio 8 DJ is great at what it does in the club but as an audiophile source its CRAP! I use the RCA outs to the mixer in the club but the headphone out is incredibly underpowered, my ipod sounds better. After comparing it to the Apogee Duet I can honestly say that it is NOT an audiophile grade DAC. Don't fool yourself if you own one.