Lease Over In 10 Months, Best Choice In AWD Performance Car?
Oct 17, 2004 at 4:13 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 83

Nightfall

Headphoneus Supremus
Greetings fellow members of the Head-Fi Brotherhood,

I have an automobile question that I've been pondering for some time, and knowing there is some significant car expertise amongst your masses, I thought I would solicit some of your thoughts and throw the topic out there.
As a number of you know, I've been driving Audi TT's for some time now (six years next August), and have enjoyed the experience. They are also superb for winter driving, when used with good, high performance snow tires. German build quality, design and execution is an easy thing to become accustomed to. Not to mention Audi service, and zero cost repairs and maintenance. They provide completely free warranty service, even including oil changes, and even windshield wiper replacement. Everything, bumber to bumper is covered for 4 years/50k miles. I've been dealing with Audi for almost ten years now, and they have done very well for me in virtually every area. I simply cant lease a third consecutive TT, its gets boring.
As noted, my lease will expire in ten months, and I know its a bit early on, but I virtually ALWAYS know, at this point, what I will be getting. This time around, I no longer have a clear choice, and so, I'm trying to sort out the options I'll have.
I live in an area of Michigan, north of Detroit, at the very end of a snowbelt, that sees significant snow and wintry conditions in the winter. In addition, I have to negotiate a number of medium grade hills, and one lengthy, and very steep hill (that I live on), and then an equally steep, angled driveway, to get to and from my home. This rules out any car that dosent have all wheel drive (trust me on this). I need a vehicle with solid performance, excellent handling, and a certain degree of comfort/luxury. It needs to be priced at or under $40k and I intend to lease the car.