Junior Head-Fi Impression of Little Dot Mk II Amp with DT 880 32 Ohm
Mar 14, 2012 at 3:19 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 1

hirgard

New Head-Fier
Greetings all. 

This is my first review here so I'm sorry if there's anything I missed.

Back to the topic then, I searched a little bit and didn't found any review at all about the pairing of beyer's dt 880 32 Ohm version with the Little Dot MK II tube amp so I guess a little review won't hurt eh? I'm still new to some terms the reviewers here used to describe sound signatures but I'll try my best 
biggrin.gif

To start with, my dt 880 (premium) was bought from Amazon in spring 2011 and the Little Dot MK II amp safely arrived here a few weeks ago. The headphone had gone through some 300+ hours of burn-in while the amp a tad bit over 100 hours. Also, I'm using the stock tubes that came with it (the Mullards, Vokshods, and some Russian power tubes is still in transit though). The sources are my trusty Sansa Clip and a rockboxed Sansa Clip+.

Note: I still prefer the old Clip as the newer Clip+ was a lil bit 'suffocating' to me. Also, you may call me the persistent lurker around here (I found out about the rockbox mod in someone signature too 
biggrin.gif
)

Build:
Now as my first tube amp, the LD Mk II build quality is pretty nice. The black glossy paint really helps a lot with the tube glow during the night and I even thought of putting it somewhere on display as it have that classy feel to it. Now I do understand there are much finer workmanship out there, but at this price, I won't complaint much.

Sound:
Now here's what motivated me to do this impression (straight out of my lurker paradise here). First do note that I really don't buy all the hype surrounding a product. Also I'm a pretty hard-to-please guy when it came to spending my hard-earned money (still a student here).