Installing EMU
post-800316
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 49

cadobhuk

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 15, 2003
Messages
719
Reaction score
0
Joined
Sep 15, 2003
Posts
719
Likes
0
I installed my EMU today.Hooked it up to my Perreaux and cd3ks.The volume is very low,turning the knob on the amp to max,and turning volume slider in card's control panel to the top I hear very quite sound,lower than my normal listening volume.Bass is abcent.Some distortion is also present.The sound is shifted to the left,though its not mono,the sound is much quieter in the right ear.When I go to Sound and Audio Devices Properties -> Speaker Volume... I see only one slider called "Left".Instead of "Left" and "Right" as usual.Anyone expirienced something similar or has any thoughts about what's the problem?
 
     Share This Post       
post-800461
Post #2 of 49

Iron_Dreamer

Member of the Trade: HeadAmp
Landscape-Photo-Fi
Organizer for Can Jam '09
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Messages
9,527
Reaction score
74
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Posts
9,527
Likes
74
In the EMU software, go to load a new session, select the frequency you ant to use (44/48, 96, or 192) and the select the "minimum +4" session. Insert a "Send" on the ASIO channel to the hardware I/O card. Make sure you use the ASIO output plugin for your player, and you should be set up to kick some booty. If that is not working you might be having cable issuses?
 
     Share This Post       
post-800867
Post #3 of 49

cadobhuk

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 15, 2003
Messages
719
Reaction score
0
Joined
Sep 15, 2003
Posts
719
Likes
0
     Share This Post       
post-801003
Post #4 of 49

Iron_Dreamer

Member of the Trade: HeadAmp
Landscape-Photo-Fi
Organizer for Can Jam '09
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Messages
9,527
Reaction score
74
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Posts
9,527
Likes
74
Did you follow the special instructions on that slip of paper included with the EMU on how to properly install it if you have an Audigy in the system? If not, then there's your proble, in all odds.
 
     Share This Post       
post-801122
Post #5 of 49

cadobhuk

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 15, 2003
Messages
719
Reaction score
0
Joined
Sep 15, 2003
Posts
719
Likes
0
In the paper it says "It is CRITICAL that you CANSEL the operation when one of the following dialogs appear:
  1. For Windows XP - A Found New Hardware Wizard dialog will appear.
  2. For Windows 2000 - A Microsoft Digital Signature warning dialog will appear.
"
But I didn't get a chance to cansel the found new hardware (with my win xp),there was no dialog until digital signature warning dialog appeared.I pressed "Stop installation",and then installed EMU drivers from the CD.Oh well,I'm gonna try removing Au2 completely and installing EMU all over.
 
     Share This Post       
post-801218
Post #6 of 49

Ph34rful

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 18, 2002
Messages
665
Reaction score
10
Joined
Dec 18, 2002
Posts
665
Likes
10
I am also having some problems with my new Emu. (I had no problems with RME)
I seem to be having distortion of some kind.
Sounds mostly like pops and clicks.
I didn't realize the Emu was made by Creative. I had these same problems back long ago when I owned a SB Live. (Why is it so hard for Creative to make decent drivers?)
I reformatted last night thinkning that would fix my problems. And it seemed too. For a while. But now they are back.
I have tried all I can think of and am quickly becoming frustrated to no end with this card.
I have tried all the different outputs of foobar and etc.

 
     Share This Post       
post-801276
Post #7 of 49

cadobhuk

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 15, 2003
Messages
719
Reaction score
0
Joined
Sep 15, 2003
Posts
719
Likes
0
Now,I uninstalled Audigy drivers and removed Audigy card from computer.Uninstalled and installed all over again the 1212m.It helped alot - now I just don't hear any sound at all,absolute silence.I tryed unistalling and installing drivers again and again and there's no effect,and no sound.
 
     Share This Post       
post-801284
Post #8 of 49

Iron_Dreamer

Member of the Trade: HeadAmp
Landscape-Photo-Fi
Organizer for Can Jam '09
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Messages
9,527
Reaction score
74
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Posts
9,527
Likes
74
Quote:

Originally Posted by cadobhuk
Now,I uninstalled Audigy drivers and removed Audigy card from computer.Uninstalled and installed all over again the 1212m.It helped alot - now I just don't hear any sound at all,absolute silence.I tryed unistalling and installing drivers again and again and there's no effect,and no sound.


Well you should hear absolute silence, you're sure the lack out output is not due to having something in the software not set up properly? Maybe you put the cables into the input jacks by mistake (I've done this on other cards before)?
 
     Share This Post       
post-801287
Post #9 of 49

Edwood

1/2 hamster, 1/2 Turkish∙ Blueteething
Joined
Nov 11, 2003
Messages
20,230
Reaction score
225
Location
Cage
Joined
Nov 11, 2003
Location
Cage
Posts
20,230
Likes
225
Make sure to completely reinstall the Audigy drivers. Apparently it doesn't play nice with E-MU's regardless of the fact that they come from the same company.

*Edit, oh you already did that.....

Can the Audigy and E-MU exist in the same computer?

-Ed
 
     Share This Post       
post-801290
Post #10 of 49

Iron_Dreamer

Member of the Trade: HeadAmp
Landscape-Photo-Fi
Organizer for Can Jam '09
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Messages
9,527
Reaction score
74
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Posts
9,527
Likes
74
Quote:

Originally Posted by Edwood
Can the Audigy and E-MU exist in the same computer?

-Ed



That is what the EMU's documentation says, however I have yet to hear anyone who has gotten it to work in real life.
 
     Share This Post       
post-801383
Post #11 of 49

cadobhuk

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 15, 2003
Messages
719
Reaction score
0
Joined
Sep 15, 2003
Posts
719
Likes
0
Quote:

Originally Posted by Iron_Dreamer
Well you should hear absolute silence, you're sure the lack out output is not due to having something in the software not set up properly? Maybe you put the cables into the input jacks by mistake (I've done this on other cards before)?


No,the cables are plugged into outputs.I didn't hear anything at all though the color bars in the PatchMix DSP were jumping.I took the card out of its PCI slot,plugged it into another one and no effect.
 
     Share This Post       
post-801438
Post #12 of 49

Iron_Dreamer

Member of the Trade: HeadAmp
Landscape-Photo-Fi
Organizer for Can Jam '09
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Messages
9,527
Reaction score
74
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Posts
9,527
Likes
74
Are you sure that you are directly sending the ASIO signal to the analog output, or have the monitoring enabled (and not muted) for the analog output?
 
     Share This Post       
post-801499
Post #13 of 49

genefid

New Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 16, 2004
Messages
24
Reaction score
0
Joined
Mar 16, 2004
Posts
24
Likes
0
Quote:

Originally Posted by Iron_Dreamer
That is what the EMU's documentation says, however I have yet to hear anyone who has gotten it to work in real life.


I have an Audigy2ZS and EMU 1212m in the same computer.

They get along great.
 
     Share This Post       
post-801596
Post #14 of 49

cadobhuk

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 15, 2003
Messages
719
Reaction score
0
Joined
Sep 15, 2003
Posts
719
Likes
0
I got the cables from one of the guys here on head-fi,cant test them on anything else apart from EMU.So they might be defective,if cables can ever be.Those stereo 1/4-RCA adapters are the right thing,right?May be its a drivers issue,may be the card is phisically screwd up.What happened with your EMU,Iron_Dreamer?
 
     Share This Post       
post-801599
Post #15 of 49

Iron_Dreamer

Member of the Trade: HeadAmp
Landscape-Photo-Fi
Organizer for Can Jam '09
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Messages
9,527
Reaction score
74
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Posts
9,527
Likes
74
Quote:

Originally Posted by cadobhuk
I got the cables from one of the guys here on head-fi,cant test them on anything else apart from EMU.So they might be defective,if cables can ever be.Those stereo 1/4-RCA adapters are the right thing,right?May be its a drivers issue,may be the card is phisically screwd up.What happened with your EMU,Iron_Dreamer?


Mine was working fine for a few days, then it suddenly stopped producing analog output. I tried all the driver and software tweaks I could think of before finally concluding that the DAC chip was dead, and getting a replacement issued.

The adapter you got is technically not right, as what you really want is a mono 1/4" to RCA, but I would think the one you have should work, since it would just take the positive signal and ground to the RCA, leaving behind the inverting signal.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top