IEM for musician
Jan 19, 2008 at 12:37 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 11

oneass

New Head-Fier
Hi everyone,

first post here, and I am already sorry about my wallet
biggrin.gif
!
I'm a semi-professional guitarist, and I've always had the usual monitor wedges on stage, but now I want try in ear monitoring. Can anyone point me in the right direction for IEMs to use on stage? Budget is around 200 euro, but I'm willing to stretch it a bit if it's really worth it...

BTW, I live in Belgium (my native language is Dutch), so off course it has to be available around here...
rolleyes.gif

I've already done some research, and a few contenders seem to be the SE310, SCL4, super.fi 5pro, C700, ... but I haven't found much info related to usage as a musician on stage.

thanks for your time!
Wannes (aka OneAss aka 1s
tongue.gif
)

Jan 19, 2008 at 2:14 AM Post #2 of 11
All of those you listed can be used on stage, but most likely you will want to pair them with a wireless receiver (Check out Shure webite, profesional section). Since you are a musician, I will also recommend a pair LiveWires Custom IEM.

Jan 19, 2008 at 2:53 AM Post #3 of 11
I am an amateur musican and own a set of livewires and I could not be any happier. I did have some fitment issues as you do with any custom iem but I do believe the livewires are a perfect fit for a musician. One of my montiors is actually currently being worked on but the livewire team offers excellent customer service. Being a custom mold they do fit perfectly in your ear and the livewires produce a revealing, detailed, and flat sound which is great for musicians. There are a number of professional musicians who use liveswires and are extremely happy with them. I believe some of them are listed on their website.

Jan 19, 2008 at 4:35 AM Post #4 of 11