Hiby R3 Pro Portable Bluetooth DAP
Apr 4, 2022 at 4:02 PM Post #1,576 of 1,677

CactusPete23

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 5, 2016
Posts
1,103
Likes
1,056
Location
Just North of Philadelphia, PA USA
That was the first thing I did when I had troubles.
Here's something to check, that I sometimes forget to do: Re-scan the card/database in the R3, after you loaded the new music. If the re-scan is not set up as automatic, you need to do it manually. After rescan the music should show up. If you already rescanned, it's something else.
 
Apr 5, 2022 at 5:57 PM Post #1,577 of 1,677

Scars Unseen

New Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 6, 2012
Posts
24
Likes
13
Here's something to check, that I sometimes forget to do: Re-scan the card/database in the R3, after you loaded the new music. If the re-scan is not set up as automatic, you need to do it manually. After rescan the music should show up. If you already rescanned, it's something else.
I had done this multiple times. Paying closer attention, here's what happens each time: it says "updating music database" and counts the files, but when it gets to file 201, the R3 reboots, coming back to a screen saying "no music found."

Without knowledge of how Hiby's OS works, to me that sounds like there might be a file it doesn't like that's causing it to crash when scanned. Unfortunately, there are a lot of files on the microSD already, so that's going to take a while to test unless anyone knows a way to scan for potentially corrupt music files.
 
Apr 5, 2022 at 6:00 PM Post #1,578 of 1,677

Rauschkind

New Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 18, 2021
Posts
35
Likes
11
Location
Lummerland
- prev/next buttons work the opposite way as it would be logical for me. No way to change it in settings.
this indeed is highly annoying. especially as volume up is the upper button, while the upper button on the other side is previous song. very hard to get used to.
i also hate that the player will skip to the previous song if prev is pressed once. i almost never want to play the previous song but restart the current one.
finally, having the buttons on both sides of the player means its very inconvinient to controll the player from within a pocket because you will always have to reach around to the other side so you have to spin it or use the small finger wich just does not work. i have no idea why they build it this way. it makes no sense and there is no advantage.

- reading the database is very, very slow. No incremental update, so even when I change a couple of files, it reads/indexes all 7500 files. I can have my breakfast while it works
i think the update speed itself is decent, but indeed no incremental update is annoying.
- very weird read/display mistakes in tags.
- Some albums and/or songs with diacritic marks (ü, ö, í, ő, ň, etc) in the tag display Chines characters instead. But not always - in some others they display correctly. Retagging helps in some cases, in others no change It seems that the player is very sensitive about how the extended Latin characters are encoded in the tags - carefully re-tagging the culprits solved the problem. No other DAPs I have display this behaviour, though.
its very odd. i have a few german operas i spend a LOT of time on fixing the tags as 1: classical tags come pre-butchered 99% of the time and 2: the player will add some randome chinese letter butchering.
what i learned is that the player itself is capable of displaying tags correctly, it did show umlauts correctly after i used notepad++ to encode the cue to utf-8-bom. of course, re-encoding usually means that any special characters will be replaced by bull so the file then has to be fixed. this also only works for files that use cue sheets (like flac)

speaking about flac, there is another issue which highly annoys me and that is that the palyer will not use embedded cue sheets. which for me was a super big issue because its actually really hard to make cue sheets for compilations with a longer duration then 80 minutes because these nerds that invented flac still believe its 1980 and red book is holy. so their tools will refuse to work with anything that would not fit onto an audio cd even if redbook has no idea what flac is in the first place and no (sane) modern software gives a dry fart about redbook anyhow.
you can find information how to automize foobar2000 to create cue sheets here


aaanyway: yes the player has a few really annoying quirks and i would appriciate a better battery life. i was about to return it, but i simply have not found anything that did not have even bigger flaws.
after all, the player also has a lot of good sides too. the hardware is very sexy, it sounds great, the general feature set is great, the software is snappy and i did not have to sell my kidney to afford it.
 
Last edited:
Apr 5, 2022 at 6:07 PM Post #1,579 of 1,677

Rauschkind

New Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 18, 2021
Posts
35
Likes
11
Location
Lummerland
I had done this multiple times. Paying closer attention, here's what happens each time: it says "updating music database" and counts the files, but when it gets to file 201, the R3 reboots, coming back to a screen saying "no music found."
i had a similar issue, the id tag for title of the song "Antennas To Heaven (Moya Sings ''Baby-O''...; Edgyswingsetacid; [Glockenspiel Duet Recorded On A Campsite In Rhinebeck, N.Y.]; ''Attention...Mon Ami...Fa-Lala-Lala-La-La...''; She Dreamt She Was A Bulldozer, She Dreamt She Was Alone In An Empty Field; Deathkamp Drone; Antennas To Heaven...)" from Godspeed You! Black Emperor was so long it made the player crash (this title already is turncated so the player would eat it...)

likely one of your tags makes your player crash. could be difficult to find out which one without a crash log :/
i suggest to copy half of your collection to the player, then update the database. if it crashes remove half of your files and try again. it does not, add half of whats left and see if it crashes. repeat untill you have found the problem.
 
Apr 5, 2022 at 6:13 PM Post #1,580 of 1,677

CactusPete23

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 5, 2016
Posts
1,103
Likes
1,056
Location
Just North of Philadelphia, PA USA
I had done this multiple times. Paying closer attention, here's what happens each time: it says "updating music database" and counts the files, but when it gets to file 201, the R3 reboots, coming back to a screen saying "no music found."

Without knowledge of how Hiby's OS works, to me that sounds like there might be a file it doesn't like that's causing it to crash when scanned. Unfortunately, there are a lot of files on the microSD already, so that's going to take a while to test unless anyone knows a way to scan for potentially corrupt music files.
Hiby once posted a tool to check files. Here is a copy. I have not used, so if it does not work, I can't help.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1azifp4uBpG4IoLT-RelzbDNyqy1EvgrN/view?usp=sharing

HiByMusic r6620.zip is the file name. The RTF file gives brief instructions. Hope this helps.
 
Apr 6, 2022 at 7:56 PM Post #1,582 of 1,677

theMUKe

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 17, 2015
Posts
209
Likes
114
Location
Berlin, Germany
And right as I went to buy it, it went out of stock :sweat_smile:

Do you think I could tame the treble of the Saber version by playing around with MSEB or should I look into something else if I wanted a slightly more musical sound?

I personally don’t use any Eq or MSEB. But based on what I have seen taming the treble should not be a problem. Hiby OS has both traditional Eq and MSEB. So you could simply give it a try with the Pro Saber.

An alternative would be the Shanling M2x - similar format, similar features, and in terms of sound definitely more musical than the R3 Pro Saber.
 
Apr 9, 2022 at 7:02 AM Post #1,584 of 1,677

gazpl

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 23, 2019
Posts
27
Likes
22
Location
home
this indeed is highly annoying. especially as volume up is the upper button, while the upper button on the other side is previous song. very hard to get used to.

So i'm not alone :relieved:

The audio outs are on the wrong side of the player too i think. I use it in 2 ways.
1) Player lies on my desk.
To operate the screen the ports face away from me which requires the headphone cable to route around the player. If its a straight plug that puts some strain on the relief and requires an extra cable length, plus the cable might get in the way by laying across the screen

2) Player in pant pocket, cable routed under shirt
Obviously the audio out is on top when player resides in pocket. Now if you pull it out the natural position of the player is with audio out pointing towards your wrist. turn your hand to look at it/operate with the other hand, now the screen is upside down. Awkwardly turn it 180° to look at it. realize this puts strain on the relief again and requires extra cable length.

Is there a way to rotate the screen output 180° deg?

config options for screen orientation, and separate vol up/down and prev/next orientations would make all of this go away. So pretty please Hiby? :pray:

edit: found the screen rotation option, thank you for pointing that out WilcoRoger!
 
Last edited:
May 15, 2022 at 5:44 AM Post #1,587 of 1,677

Doudougalak

New Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 13, 2022
Posts
25
Likes
1
Location
France
Hi everybody,
I possess the Hiby R3 Pro Saber which is great for me except for streaming music on my HiFi stereo amplifier. I tried jack to RCA using various cable but the sound is always pretty closed with a complete lack of soundstage. Then I tried USB C to RCA cable containg a basic DAC in the USB C plug. The result was even worst. I ordered a SMSL Sanskrit MKII external DAC and a USB C to micro USB to solve my problem. Well I hope. The purchased cable is not OTG, do you think thus will matter? Which USB settings from the R3 Pro do I have to use to transfer data from it to the external DAC? Many thanks.
 
May 15, 2022 at 6:58 AM Post #1,588 of 1,677

BadgerRivFan

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 9, 2019
Posts
108
Likes
108
Location
Mt. Horeb. WI
Hi everybody,
I possess the Hiby R3 Pro Saber which is great for me except for streaming music on my HiFi stereo amplifier. I tried jack to RCA using various cable but the sound is always pretty closed with a complete lack of soundstage. Then I tried USB C to RCA cable containg a basic DAC in the USB C plug. The result was even worst. I ordered a SMSL Sanskrit MKII external DAC and a USB C to micro USB to solve my problem. Well I hope. The purchased cable is not OTG, do you think thus will matter? Which USB settings from the R3 Pro do I have to use to transfer data from it to the external DAC? Many thanks.
You should not need an external DAC to stream content from your R3 to your stereo amplifier. All you would need is a 3.5mm to 3.5mm auxiliary cable (assuming that your stereo amplifier has an aux in jack) or a 3.5mm to dual RCA cable (if the amp does not have an aux in jack).

It sounds to me that you did not change the R3 settings to “Line Out” mode. First, insert a 3.5mm cable into the R3. Then, go to Settings > Play Settings > Output Selections > OK

Try that and I’ll bet it will sound just fine on your stereo 😉.
 
May 15, 2022 at 7:07 AM Post #1,589 of 1,677

Doudougalak

New Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 13, 2022
Posts
25
Likes
1
Location
France
Thanks but this is exactly what I did and the sound is lacking spacialisation and resolution compared to what my old CD player is managing. The DAC of this latter is old but obviously better. To give you an idea the best sound that I can obtain with the R3 Pro Saber is by using LDAC...
 
Last edited:
May 24, 2022 at 12:22 PM Post #1,590 of 1,677

Doudougalak

New Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 13, 2022
Posts
25
Likes
1
Location
France
Hi, a quick update. Using an external DAC connected to my Hiby R3 Pro Saber through USB C solved my issues. However there is still something annoying that, I am sure, can be fixed but I don't know how. When I plug my DAP to my my DAC through USB C and USB set as audio out on the Hiby the volume is not set to the maximum as for lineout. Is there a way to get the volume at max when plugging to the USB C port?
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top