Help with buying a quality portable headphone amp?
Jan 28, 2011 at 1:39 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 14

JGOelfke

100+ Head-Fier
Hey guys,
I recently bought a pair of the Beyerdynamic DT770 - 32 Ohm version cans, and even though they have such a low impedance rating, the bass and low mids seem subdued when listening, especially at low volumes. I am looking for a good portable amp that will fix this issue.

Also, I have a pair of the 300 ohm MB Quart QP400's, which I need a stationary amp to properly power (obviously). A good friend of mine swears by the FiiO E7/E9 combination, which I have plenty of listening experience with as well. I really like this combo because not only can the E9 power 300 ohms with no problem, but it runs as a DAC when coupled with the E7. I really like the uncolored sound that these give and the very convenient portable use of the E7 (strap to the ipod, etc...).

Would this be the best option for the price (I can get the combo for around $200-220), or is there another option that would give me similar features? Portable use, the ability to easily power 300 ohms, and DAC are all very important to me.

Thanks, and I really appreciate your input!

Jan 28, 2011 at 1:41 AM Post #2 of 14
I have heard a lot of good things about the PA2V2, but from what I have read it doesn't have the capability to fully power the QP400s....

Jan 29, 2011 at 12:24 PM Post #3 of 14
300-ohm, 93 SPL 'phones?  That really looks hard to drive.  If the QP400's were around 106 SPL instead like HD600, Minibox-ES would do very well with them, but that amp doesn't come with a DAC.  You'll love your beyers out of the Minibox at the very least - it's within your budget and comes with a free pair of RE0 earphones to boot.
If you don't want/like the free earphones you can give them to me. 
wink_face.gif

Jan 29, 2011 at 1:00 PM Post #4 of 14