Help with balanced/unbalanced DAP
May 30, 2017 at 6:04 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 18

JonnyB

New Head-Fier
Hello everyone,
I'm new to Head-Fi and also the audiophile community in general. And already I'm lost :sweat_smile:
So, I've owned a Fiio X1 with a pair of RHA T10s for a bunch of Years now and I was very pleased with both, but my lovely DAP is nearing its end(Battery life around 1.5 hours playback) and I just wanted to make a slight upgrade while still not overshooting my budget so I joined the drop of the Aune M1S on Massdrop. This DAP has a 2.5 balanced output and a normal 3.5 unbalanced output and after hours of research I know vaguely how the whole unbalanced versus balanced thing works BUT my questions are:

1.Can I use this balanced out with my current IEMs (somewhere I've read that connecting an unbalanced amp to a balanced Device it'll just fry the amplifier)
2.How
3. Does it benefit the sound at all with my setup

Sorry for bothering you and thanks to anyone helping me with my issue.

Last edited:
May 30, 2017 at 6:14 AM Post #2 of 18
  1. No you can't. Balanced has 4 poles while your IEM likely has 3 poles.
  2. Y̶o̶u̶ ̶c̶a̶n̶ ̶u̶s̶e̶ ̶a̶n̶ ̶a̶d̶a̶p̶t̶e̶r̶ ̶b̶u̶t̶ ̶t̶h̶e̶n̶ ̶y̶o̶u̶ ̶l̶o̶s̶e̶ ̶s̶o̶m̶e̶ ̶o̶f̶ ̶t̶h̶e̶ ̶b̶e̶n̶e̶f̶i̶t̶s̶ ̶o̶f̶ ̶u̶s̶i̶n̶g̶ ̶t̶h̶e̶ ̶b̶a̶l̶a̶n̶c̶e̶d̶ ̶c̶o̶n̶n̶e̶c̶t̶i̶o̶n̶.̶ I'd recommend you just use the single ended output... It's not like IEM really use all that much power anyways.
  3. Balanced is a rather controversial thing. Some people claim it improves the sound while others claim it has no audible benefits. What balanced does from a technical stand point is deliver more power and lowers noise.
Edit: Didn't know you can't do balanced to single ended. Sorry for wrong info.

Last edited:
May 30, 2017 at 8:38 AM Post #4 of 18
1.Can I use this balanced out with my current IEMs (somewhere I've read that connecting an unbalanced amp to a balanced Device it'll just fry the amplifier)
2.How