Help me pick an Amp and DAC (under $1000) for demanding headphones
Feb 26, 2024 at 2:59 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 11

chrisyak

New Head-Fier
Help me pick an Amp and DAC (under $1000) for demanding headphones

I'm new to the audiophile scene but jumped in with some serious headphones: Sennheiser 802S, HIFIMAN Arya Stealth, and Focal Clear. I'm after a desktop amp/DAC setup (separate components) for my home office where I spend hours listening daily.

My Sound Preferences:

• Clarity, detail, soundstage, warm bass (without muddying things up)
  • Music: 90s alt, rock from various decades, Top 40, some rap/hip-hop, occasional classical
  • Not into tweaking EQs
What I Want:

• Power to drive my headphones well, especially at higher volumes
  • Modern tech, easy connectivity (RCA, USB, XLR, Bluetooth, etc.)
  • Simple operation – plug-and-play, minimal fuss
  • US-based manufacturer with good support is a bonus
  • Under $1000 USD, open to buying used for better value
Initial Thoughts:

• Leaning against a basic Schiit stack – seems too plain
  • Like their look, unsure about higher-end Schiit options (service, QC?)
  • Considering JDS, Topping, iFi, etc., but overwhelmed by choices
Help me narrow down my search! What are your top 3 suggestions based on my needs/preferences?

Thanks in advance, excited to explore this new world!

P.S. Edited my post because it was too long before.

Last edited:
Feb 26, 2024 at 7:03 AM Post #2 of 11
Whatever you decide on, make sure it has at least 3.5, 1/4, and XLR out. 4.4 is a bonus.

On a budget, I still like a used THX789 plus DAC of your choice. The 789 can now be had used for about $100, maybe a little more. It's neutral neutral, some might say a little sterile. But its versatility make it an easy choice... enough power to run the HE6SE v2, quiet enough to drive iems.

Budget in cables and something like a used Grace sdac balanced and you can do this setup for under $300.

Feb 26, 2024 at 8:24 AM Post #3 of 11