Headset Help
Oct 11, 2007 at 7:57 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 23

swmaxxx

Head-Fier
I have been searching high and low for a good headset that will take advantage of my expensive sound card. I need the mic for gaming. Right now I own Turtle Beach Ear Force HPA. They suck. I'm wanting more quality but I do still want surround sound. Thanks for the help.

Oct 11, 2007 at 9:06 PM Post #5 of 23
Quote:

Originally Posted by swmaxxx /img/forum/go_quote.gif
It needs to be under $300. I'm new to this so I'm not sure what you mean by open and closed.

open meaning sound leakage. you can hear your surrounds and they can hear your music

closed is the opposite. you get some degree of isolation but people around you can't hear what you're listening to

300 can get you far...and, as overlord said, its best to go good headphones + mic

Oct 11, 2007 at 9:16 PM Post #6 of 23
Well I understand that the headphone + mic is better but thats not what i titled it. i'm looking for a headset. and it can be open or closed. whatever is better. any suggestions?

Oct 12, 2007 at 12:40 AM Post #7 of 23
well, there just aren't that many audiophiles here who use headsets. But sennheiser has some good headset(HMD-25-1(over your price range) and HMD 280 pro) but the cost about 100 more than the base headphones so you're just paying 100 for sennheiser to actach a microphone.

AKG has the HSC 271 a derived from K 271 Studio headphones
again you'll be paying alot for them to attach a mic to a good base model headphone.

AKG HSD200SR is good I think it's a AKG k100 derived model

you'lll be getting alot more quality for your money if you buy the mic and hedphones seperately

Oct 12, 2007 at 3:15 AM Post #9 of 23
Quote:

Well I understand that the headphone + mic is better but thats not what i titled it. i'm looking for a headset. and it can be open or closed. whatever is better. any suggestions?