HD600 WANTS PARTNER FOR LIFE
Jul 24, 2003 at 10:43 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 39

SuperMario

Head-Fier
Hello, everyone!

I am a recent member of this forum, although I have been browsing through it for several months now. And I must say that I am very well impressed by the quality and quantity of the information found in its pages, as well as how helpul you guys can be! Thanks to all your comments and reviews, I became addicted to this site.

I am searching for the best headphone amplifier (at a reasonable price - under $1,000) for the Sennheiser HD600's I bought three years ago. I have been reading a lot about amps that are able to match the excellence of the HD600's. I have read some excellent comments/reviews on MG HEAD DT/OTL, WHEATFIELD AUDIO HA-2, EARMAX PRO and SINGLEPOWER MPX3, as well as CORDAS HA-2 and PREHEAD, SUGDEN HEADMASTER or EMMELINE HR-2, to name a few.

All of them seem to be wonderful(?) partners to my HD600's. Nevertheless, choosing from such a list of candidates (don't forget the more expensive MELOS, BLOCKHEAD and GRACE 901) appears to be a very tough task.

So, I am putting a thread in this forum for the first time in order to get some quality advice from someone far more experienced than me in such matters. WHAT AMP SHOULD I GO FOR? If you have at least listened to or compared two of the aforementioned amps (and I'm sure some of you have), your comments will be most appreciated. I realize that others have been putting this same question to you many times, but, for some reason, they seem not to furnish you with all the necessary inputs.

Please take the following into consideration:

----- my musical preferences are classical, choral, some jazz and some rock (and a little bit of other things);

----- I would prefer tube to solid-state (but only because my choice will always favour the less fatiguing, smooth, liquid sound that is characteristic of tube amps - I can't stand any harshness on the high frequencies, for instance);