HD-600 cable to long
post-208936
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 7

TimS

Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 26, 2002
Messages
69
Reaction score
0
Joined
Sep 26, 2002
Posts
69
Likes
0
My amp sits next to my monitor on the desk, so there's about 1.5m between me and my headphone jack. At the moment I rolled up my stock cable and tied it together so it doesn't always fall on the ground and I trip over it or something. Does this cause some sort of sound quality reduction due to some induction forces or so ? I would also purchase a custom cable, but it would have to be cheap / available in Germany and needs to terminate in a mini jack for my Corda. Sugegstions ?

Thanks,
Tim
 
     Share This Post       
post-208970
Post #2 of 7

JaZZ

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 9, 2002
Messages
9,673
Reaction score
1,636
Location
Zürich, Switzerland
Joined
May 9, 2002
Location
Zürich, Switzerland
Posts
9,673
Likes
1,636
Age
70
Tim...

...you can shorten it to the length you need – you just have to buy a new plug. I've done this too (I can't remember if the sound has improved that way) before I've made my own cable.

If you're interested to do the same: use the Sennheiser earpiece plugs and 3-4 cm of the stock cable on it, then 300 or 400 0.028 mm (diameter) magnet wires (= lacquer isolated copper wires) per conductor (x4), pack the single conductor lines in some (thin) elastic adhesive tape and coat the whole with a heat shrink tubing...

Or simplier: find a suitable (good sounding) existing cable and solder it onto the Sennheiser plugs.
 
     Share This Post       
post-208974
Post #3 of 7

LTUCCI1924

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 22, 2002
Messages
6,240
Reaction score
11
Joined
Mar 22, 2002
Posts
6,240
Likes
11
TimS
HI: I just got new cans with a long cable and used a twist tie to shorten it and it don't mess up the sound. Tie the cable near the plug so it don't fall around.
 
     Share This Post       
post-209197
Post #5 of 7

TimS

Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 26, 2002
Messages
69
Reaction score
0
Joined
Sep 26, 2002
Posts
69
Likes
0
I just tied up my cable near the plug and I couldn't notice any difference in sound, good.

I really don't want to make my own cable. This actually wouldn't be a big issue for be, BUT I can't buy these special Senneheiser headphone connectors and I don't want to destroy my original ones.

I can't order anything from Headroom cause I ain't got a credit card. Also 1m would be a bit short 1.5-2m is required. I think the stock cable is about twice as long.

Is there any european company that ships replacement cables ?

Thanks,
Tim
 
     Share This Post       
post-209206
Post #6 of 7

Old Pa

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 9, 2001
Messages
5,110
Reaction score
15
Joined
Dec 9, 2001
Posts
5,110
Likes
15
I just make a three inch coil of the loose stuff and secure it with a couple of zip ties 180 from each other.

Remember, everybody's got a cable cutter; nobody seems to know where the cable stretcher is later!
 
     Share This Post       
post-209218
Post #7 of 7

HighwayStar

Won't excrete urine on your holiday (unless you do so to his first).
Joined
Jul 23, 2002
Messages
2,168
Reaction score
11
Joined
Jul 23, 2002
Posts
2,168
Likes
11
TimS, sorry, I overlooked the length you stated. And I didn't take into account your location.

Old Pa, cable stretcher, now that's funny
Probably because it's true...
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top