For the "Anti-EQ" audiophile...
Jan 31, 2009 at 3:26 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 30

VoLTaG3

Banned
I've found a very interesting thing someone posted about EQ's.

"As an artist myself I couldn't disagree more with this statement of yours. I really appreciate all your reviews, also this one here (well done as always!), but I wonder if you really know that much about music-production, mixing technology and "mastering" as you obviously pretend to. However, most "artists" know NOTHING about mastering and/or anything about "real" sound quality. Of course there may be some artists (like me btw) who do everything on their own throughout the musical production-chain (creating the music & mastering) but this is a BIG minority in the music industry. And skilled audio engineers will always mix a neutral "flat" sound because they MUST include post-processing (like EQ's) by the consumer etc. Therefore: Responsive/decent EQ's (most DAP-EQ's aren't) are NOT there to compensate bad sounding players/headphones/environments, but to customize the sound for every single pair of ears - simple as that. "Flat" music is just like food without or just very little spice - and as we all know everybody has a different tounge/taste - that's what salt/pepper/spice is for - to customize flavor. And skilled audio engineers always consider this when mastering music - at least they should!
wink.gif
"

SOURCE

I agree with that guy too...

Jan 31, 2009 at 3:47 PM Post #2 of 30
Quote:

Originally Posted by VoLTaG3 /img/forum/go_quote.gif
I've found a very interesting thing someone posted about EQ's.