Entry DAC - Under $200
Sep 27, 2009 at 6:38 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 22

iamthecheese

100+ Head-Fier
My soundcard in my computer started getting a little crackley, outputs on the back of the card intermittently working, so its time for a new source. I was thinking about getting a xonar essence, but I thought it would be nice to able to use an external DAC on any of my computers(through USB or Optical).

I'm pretty clueless when it comes to DACs... I'm pretty new in the hifi scene

I'd like to spend around 150 on it, but if the extra $50 would get me alot better I should be able to put that down.

My main headphones are my k601s driven by my little dot 1+ (on stock tubes).

Sep 27, 2009 at 10:10 PM Post #2 of 22
The problem with many cards in that price range is that the DRIVERS are not acceptable for reasons of instability or inadequate functionality.

What about a driverless solution, a USB interface with a good DAC and line out?

Sep 27, 2009 at 10:40 PM Post #3 of 22
Quote:

Originally Posted by joe_cool /img/forum/go_quote.gif
The problem with many cards in that price range is that the DRIVERS are not acceptable for reasons of instability or inadequate functionality.

What about a driverless solution, a USB interface with a good DAC and line out?

I think I would prefer that with my lack of PCI/PCIe slots(graphics cards taking up too many slotssssssss)

Sep 28, 2009 at 12:14 AM Post #5 of 22
That seems like a good option, pretty nice price too on ebay.

Is there a big difference between USB and Optical(my motherboard has coax and toslink out)

Sep 28, 2009 at 12:44 AM Post #6 of 22
Depends on many factors. Usually "good" optical/coax SPDIF with proper software implementation is considered better than "good" USB.

Many motherboard based optical/coax connections are not "good" though. Many cannot produce the 44.1 hertz for CD native recordings.

You might have "good" optical/coax out of your sound card though.

Sep 28, 2009 at 12:54 AM Post #7 of 22