Electrostat can to contrast with O2
Aug 30, 2008 at 11:28 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 21

bada bing

100+ Head-Fier
I'm coming into a little bit of "free" money next month. My wallet had been on life support since jumping on the BHSE list, but it's on the mend now. I'm thinking about getting something to contrast with my 007 mkI for use on the BHSE and it's also time to decide on plugs for the BHSE.

I'm considering:
Used HE60
Koss ESP950
Stax 4070
HE 1.2b (if it ever materializes)

Anyone have a suggestion (from experience) on a can (doesn't have to be on my list) that has a worthwhile but different presentation from the O2 ? I have no gripes about the O2 so I'm looking for contrast, not replacement. I have no other 'stat experience except an hour with a pair of Lambdas. I'm genuinely interested but don't necessarily "have" to buy anything. My budget is $1500 - or less is always better - so something over the top like a HE90 isn't in the cards.

Can 1500 get me something "worth it" or would I be better off putting the money aside for next years speaker purchase (I know, blasphemy)
Anyone ?

Aug 30, 2008 at 12:33 PM Post #2 of 21
I have experience with the Used HE60 & Koss ESP950, but not the Stax 4070 or HE 1.2b (was VERY tempted but didn't get in in time
rolleyes.gif
)

Based on my experience and what I've read I'd be looking at the HE60 or HE 1.2b. Both scale up well with an amp like the BHSE. Price wise I think that points you towards the HE 1.2b
wink_face.gif

Aug 30, 2008 at 1:12 PM Post #3 of 21
Hi bada bing,

For myself the Stax 4070 gives a fine contrast to the esthetic SR-007(A/II) in terms of punchiness and crispness.
And with its spatiality and accentuated upper range the 4070 complements IME the Ω's somewhat dreaminess and narrow head stage.
I love these heavy humongous closets!
o2smile.gif
<-- twice as big/much
wink.gif

Aug 30, 2008 at 5:47 PM Post #5 of 21