Does a LOD cable need burn in?
Jul 22, 2009 at 5:59 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 25

oldskoolboarder

100+ Head-Fier
Note to moderators: If this thread goes off the deep end into flame war territory, you have my blessing to close and/or delete it.

I have a simple question, does an iPod LOD cable need burn in? It was suggested by a friend that a new LOD cable needed 100 hours for burn in. From my limited knowledge of the iPod dock spec on Wikipedia, personal DIY on a few Minty Boost USB chargers (highly recommended), etc., the only 'components' inside a LOD are resistors to pull up/down some of the signals. These pull ups/downs can change from iPod generation to generation. If my assumptions are correct, then what effect would that burn in create? Or maybe my assumptions are wrong.

For background, I'm an engineer. I've worked with RF identification design and testing. I sell Wifi 802.11 a/b/g/n silicon along w/ high speed CPUs. I'm well aware of circuit design. I know all too well that something as simple as a power filter circuit with an incorrect capacitor value can create enough jitter to generate packet errors and effect a USB eye pattern. I get that. I have tube amps that I know require burn in, and I've heard the difference. I used think headphone/speaker burn in was nonsense, until I realized that yes there's a physical component of a moving diaphragm that may change quality over time. That I can hear as well. I also did a burn in of my iBasso D10 recently and was skeptical but now realize that the caps do have some effect over time.

I should also note that I'm not a big believer in cable burn in. I have access to all kinds of spectrum analyzers, sig gens, scopes, network analyzers etc. I'm sure different cables, over different periods of time, may have different graphs. But more than likely, my old man hearing can't hear those differences. In the end, it only matters to me if I can hear the difference, ignorance be damned.